Your Guide to Middlesborough Kentucky Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit or first Middlesborough Kentucky driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. The first thing you need to know is that Middlesborough Kentucky has a Graduated Driver License Program that is specially geared toward younger drivers like yourself. The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges.
Each stage of the process has its own guidelines, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Middlesborough Kentucky driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Middlesborough Kentucky Instructional Permit or Middlesborough Kentucky Learner's Permit
You can apply for a Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit once you turn 16. You'll have to pass a Middlesborough Kentucky permit test at your local Circuit Court Clerk's office. If you manage to survive that, then congratulations! You just earned your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit.
You'll need to make an appointment at the local Circuit Court Clerk's office and bring the following documents:
- Birth certificate
- Proof of residence
- Also, your parent/guardian must sign a financial responsibility waiver (if under 18)
- A school compliance verification form (if under 18)
- Social security card
Don't forget: with your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit, you can only practice driving with another licensed driver over 21. After you've had your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit for 180 days, you'll be ready to apply for your Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate driver's license.
Your First Middlesborough Kentucky Driver's License
In order to "graduate" to your Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Middlesborough Kentucky State requirements:
- Make sure you've had your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit for at least 180 days
- Complete at least 60 hours of practice time
- 10 hours must be at night
- You'll have to fill out a Practice Driving Log and Verification Form
- If you're under 18, you'll have to complete either a Graduate License Course (4 hours, free), High School Drivers Education Course, or Private Driver Training course
If you have satisfied these conditions, head back to your local Circuit Court Clerk's office where you'll have to pass the hated road exam. Survive? Then congratulations again. You've just earned your Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate driver license!
Middlesborough Kentucky Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Although you've come a long way since you started this process, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you've had your Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate driver's license for another 180 days.
- You must hold your Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate driver's license for 180 days before becoming eligible to receive an unrestricted license
- Make sure to abide by the Middlesborough Kentucky zero tolerance rule, (which is defined as a Blood Alcohol Concentration of .02)
- You can only drive with 1 unrelated person under 20
- If you accumulate more than 6 points on your Middlesborough Kentucky driver's license, it will be suspended
- You cannot drive between 12AM and 6AM unless you have good cause (emergencies, school or work related activities)
If you've driven without incident for 180 days, then give yourself a big pat on the back. You can now apply for your Indiana unrestricted license!
Middlesborough Kentucky Auto Insurance Middlesborough Kentucky Financial Responsibility Laws
Think you're ready to drive once you receive your Middlesborough Kentucky drivers license? Not so fast! Any vehicle registered in Middlesborough Kentucky must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 for property damage, and $50,000 for under insured motorists.
Unfortunately, auto accidents can happen to even the most seasoned drivers. If you are caught driving without Middlesborough Kentucky mandatory liability insurance, your Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit or Middlesborough Kentucky restricted driver license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Middlesborough Kentucky Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Middlesborough Kentucky driver, your safety comes before anything else. Thus, it's vitally important that you know the Middlesborough Kentucky drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. First of all, Middlesborough Kentucky has a zero tolerance law, so if you're under 21 and are caught with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02, you'll face fines as well as Middlesborough Kentucky driver's license suspension.
Upon your first conviction of a Middlesborough Kentucky DUI (0.08), you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of 2-30 days
- Middlesborough Kentucky license suspension 30-120 days
- Alcohol or Drug Treatment Program for 90 days
- $200-$500 fine
- Community service of 48 hours to 30 days
Clearly, driving while drunk--or even under the influence--is not a habit you wish to develop. And of course, further Middlesborough Kentucky DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Middlesborough Kentucky license suspension or even Middlesborough Kentucky license revocation.
Currently, Middlesborough Kentucky prohibits teen drivers who have a Middlesborough Kentucky learner's permit or Middlesborough Kentucky intermediate license from driving while using a cell phone. Even if you have a full license, it's still smart to keep cell phone use while driving to a minimum!
Middlesborough Kentucky Online Driver Education
You can find more information about approved Middlesborough Kentucky online driver education courses here.