Jonesboro Louisiana Online Driver Education and Jonesboro Louisiana Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit or first Jonesboro Louisiana driver license. Jonesboro Louisiana has a Graduated Driver License Program for Jonesboro Louisiana teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Jonesboro Louisiana driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Jonesboro Louisiana Instructional Permit or Jonesboro Louisiana Learner Permit
When you're 15-16, you can apply for a Class E Jonesboro Louisiana Learner's Permit. You'll need to make an appointment at your local Jonesboro Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) and bring the following:
At your local Jonesboro Louisiana OMV, you'll take these materials and then have to pass a Jonesboro Louisiana written exam, a vision screening, and a traffic signs test. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit. Remember that with your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit, you can only practice driving with another licensed driver over 21 or a licensed sibling who is at least 18. After you've had your Jonesboro Louisiana learner permit for 180 days, you'll be ready to apply for your Jonesboro Louisiana intermediate driver's license.
Your Jonesboro Louisiana Intermediate Driver's License
In order to apply for your Jonesboro Louisiana intermediate driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Jonesboro Louisiana State requirements before heading down to your local Jonesboro Louisiana OMV.
- Have your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit in good standing for 180 days
- Bring the proper identification
- Don't forget proof of insurance for your vehicle
- Remember that your vehicle inspection sticker, license plates, and registration need to be up-to-date
- The road test fee (which varies depending on your local OMV)
If you pass the dreaded road exam, then congratulations again. You've just earned your Jonesboro Louisiana intermediate driver license! However, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you've held your Jonesboro Louisiana intermediate driver's license for another 180 days in good standing.
Once you turn 17, you can return to your local Jonesboro Louisiana OMV, bringing all of your documentation, and apply for your Jonesboro Louisiana full license!
Jonesboro Louisiana Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are also several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit:
- You can drive only with a licensed parent/guardian or adult over 21
- You are also allowed to drive with a licensed sibling over 18
- You can only take family members in your car unless your passenger is a driver education teacher
There are also several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Jonesboro Louisiana intermediate driver's license:
- You can't drive from 11PM to 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver over 21 (until 17) or a licensed sibling 18 or older
If you've driven without incident for 180 days, then congratulations. You can now apply for your Indiana full license.
Jonesboro Louisiana Auto Insurance Jonesboro Louisiana Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Jonesboro Louisiana drivers license, you're ready to drive--or are you? Any vehicle registered in Jonesboro Louisiana must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
- $10,000 per person for bodily injury
- $20,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $10,000 for property damage
If you are found to be driving without Jonesboro Louisiana mandatory liability insurance, your Jonesboro Louisiana learner's permit or Jonesboro Louisiana restricted driver license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Jonesboro Louisiana Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Jonesboro Louisiana driver, it's important for you to learn the Jonesboro Louisiana drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. First of all, Jonesboro Louisiana has a zero tolerance law, so if you're under 21 and caught with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02, you'll face stiff fines as well as Jonesboro Louisiana driver's license suspension.
Upon your first conviction of a Jonesboro Louisiana DUI (0.08), you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of up to 6 months
- license suspension of 6 months (if under 21)
And of course, further Jonesboro Louisiana DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Jonesboro Louisiana license suspension or even Jonesboro Louisiana license revocation.
Currently, Jonesboro Louisiana prohibits teen drivers who hold a Class E Jonesboro Louisiana learner's license from using cell phones while driving unless the device is a hands-free device. The fine is $175 for a first offense and $500 for subsequent offenses.
Jonesboro Louisiana Online Driver Education
For information about approved Jonesboro Louisiana online driver education courses, you can find more information here.