Eagan Minnesota Online Driver Education and Eagan Minnesota Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit or first Eagan Minnesota driver's license. Eagan Minnesota has a Graduated Driver License Program for Eagan Minnesota teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Eagan Minnesota driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Eagan Minnesota Instructional Permit and Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit
The minimum age to apply for a Eagan Minnesota Instruction Permit is 15. You'll need to make an appointment at your local Eagan Minnesota Driver Vehicle Service (DVS) office after you complete the following:
- Complete 30 hours of Eagan Minnesota approved driver education classroom instruction
- Be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Be at least 15
- Application with parent/legal guardian signature
- Certificate of completion for driver education
- The required fee
Bring these materials to your local Eagan Minnesota DVS. Then you'll have to pass the required vision and written tests. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Eagan Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
Remember that with your Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit, you can only practice driving with your parent, guardian, or another licensed driver who is 21. Also, Eagan Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Every passenger in your car must have their seatbelt fastened. After you've had your Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit for 6 months, you'll be ready for the next step in the Eagan Minnesota Graduated License Program.
The Eagan Minnesota Provisional License and Eagan Minnesota Full License
In order to apply for your Eagan Minnesota provisional driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Eagan Minnesota State requirements before heading down to your local Eagan Minnesota DVS:
- Be at least 16 and must have held your Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit for at least 6 months without incident
- Driver education completion certificate
- 30 hours of supervised driving
- At least 10 hours must be at night
If you've completed the following requirements, head on down to your local Eagan Minnesota DVS, where you'll pay the required fee and submit your Eagan Minnesota Provisional License application. Then you'll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Eagan Minnesota Intermediate driver license! However, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being. Your Eagan Minnesota Provisional License is valid for 2 years.
Once you've held your Eagan Minnesota Intermediate Driver's license for 12 months, you may apply for the Eagan Minnesota Full License. One more time, head on down to your local Eagan Minnesota DVS office, submit the application and required fee ($24).
Eagan Minnesota Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Eagan Minnesota provisional driver's license:
- All passengers must wear seat belts
- No using a cell phone while driving (with or without a hands-free device)
With your Eagan Minnesota full license, you must abide by the following restrictions for the first 6 months:
- No driving between the hours of 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older
- That is, unless you're driving to/from your job, a school event that did not offer transportation, or for an emergency
- Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted
For the following 6 months, you must follow the following restrictions:
- Only 3 passengers under 20 allowed in your vehicle
- The exception is if your parent/guardian is also in the vehicle
Eagan Minnesota Auto Insurance Eagan Minnesota Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Eagan Minnesota drivers license, you're ready to drive--or are you? Any vehicle registered in Eagan Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection insurance (PIP) as well as liability insurance.
The minimum coverage PIP coverage is:
- $40,000 per person for bodily injury (PIP)
- $20,000 for hospital and medical expenses (PIP)
- $20,000 for non-medical expenses (PIP)
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $30,000 for injury of one person
- $60,000 for injury of two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is:
- $25,000 for injury to one person
- $50,000 for injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for injuries to one person
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people
If you are found to be driving without Eagan Minnesota mandatory liability insurance, your Eagan Minnesota Learner's Permit or Eagan Minnesota Intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Eagan Minnesota Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Eagan Minnesota driver, it's important for you to learn the Eagan Minnesota drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Eagan Minnesota's "Not A Drop" law states that you will lose your Eagan Minnesota Instruction Permit or Eagan Minnesota Intermediate License if a police officer observes you driving without full control of your vehicle and will suspend your license from 30 to 180 days.
Upon your first conviction of a Eagan Minnesota DWI, you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 90 days
- $1,000 fine
- License suspension of 180 days to 1 year
- License Reinstatement fee of $250-430 in addition to an application fee of $24
- Possible Ignition Lock device installation
And of course, further Eagan Minnesota DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Eagan Minnesota license suspension or even Eagan Minnesota license revocation.
Currently, Eagan Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, except to call 911 in an emergency. You also many not compose, read, or send text messages while driving.
Eagan Minnesota Online Driver Education
Eagan Minnesota teen drivers are required to enroll in a driver education program. For information about approved Eagan Minnesota online driver education courses, you can find more information here.