Red Wing Minnesota Online Driver Education and Red Wing Minnesota Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit or first Red Wing Minnesota driver's license. Red Wing Minnesota has a Graduated Driver License Program for Red Wing Minnesota teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Red Wing Minnesota driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So let's get started.
Red Wing Minnesota Instructional Permit and Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit
The minimum age to apply for a Red Wing Minnesota Instruction Permit is 15. You'll need to make an appointment at your local Red Wing Minnesota Driver Vehicle Service (DVS) office after you complete the following:
- Complete 30 hours of Red Wing Minnesota approved driver education classroom instruction
- Be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
- Be at least 15
- Application with parent/legal guardian signature
- Certificate of completion for driver education
- The required fee
Bring these materials to your local Red Wing Minnesota DVS. Then you'll have to pass the required vision and written tests. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Red Wing Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
Remember that with your Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit, you can only practice driving with your parent, guardian, or another licensed driver who is 21. Also, Red Wing Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Every passenger in your car must have their seatbelt fastened. After you've had your Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit for 6 months, you'll be ready for the next step in the Red Wing Minnesota Graduated License Program.
The Red Wing Minnesota Provisional License and Red Wing Minnesota Full License
In order to apply for your Red Wing Minnesota provisional driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few Red Wing Minnesota State requirements before heading down to your local Red Wing Minnesota DVS:
- Be at least 16 and must have held your Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit for at least 6 months without incident
- Driver education completion certificate
- 30 hours of supervised driving
- At least 10 hours must be at night
If you've completed the following requirements, head on down to your local Red Wing Minnesota DVS, where you'll pay the required fee and submit your Red Wing Minnesota Provisional License application. Then you'll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Red Wing Minnesota Intermediate driver license! However, you'll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being. Your Red Wing Minnesota Provisional License is valid for 2 years.
Once you've held your Red Wing Minnesota Intermediate Driver's license for 12 months, you may apply for the Red Wing Minnesota Full License. One more time, head on down to your local Red Wing Minnesota DVS office, submit the application and required fee ($24).
Red Wing Minnesota Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Red Wing Minnesota provisional driver's license:
- All passengers must wear seat belts
- No using a cell phone while driving (with or without a hands-free device)
With your Red Wing Minnesota full license, you must abide by the following restrictions for the first 6 months:
- No driving between the hours of 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older
- That is, unless you're driving to/from your job, a school event that did not offer transportation, or for an emergency
- Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted
For the following 6 months, you must follow the following restrictions:
- Only 3 passengers under 20 allowed in your vehicle
- The exception is if your parent/guardian is also in the vehicle
Red Wing Minnesota Auto Insurance Red Wing Minnesota Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Red Wing Minnesota drivers license, you're ready to drive--or are you? Any vehicle registered in Red Wing Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection insurance (PIP) as well as liability insurance.
The minimum coverage PIP coverage is:
- $40,000 per person for bodily injury (PIP)
- $20,000 for hospital and medical expenses (PIP)
- $20,000 for non-medical expenses (PIP)
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $30,000 for injury of one person
- $60,000 for injury of two or more people
- $10,000 for property damage
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is:
- $25,000 for injury to one person
- $50,000 for injury to two or more people
- $25,000 for injuries to one person
- $50,000 for injuries to two or more people
If you are found to be driving without Red Wing Minnesota mandatory liability insurance, your Red Wing Minnesota Learner's Permit or Red Wing Minnesota Intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Red Wing Minnesota Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Red Wing Minnesota driver, it's important for you to learn the Red Wing Minnesota drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Red Wing Minnesota's "Not A Drop" law states that you will lose your Red Wing Minnesota Instruction Permit or Red Wing Minnesota Intermediate License if a police officer observes you driving without full control of your vehicle and will suspend your license from 30 to 180 days.
Upon your first conviction of a Red Wing Minnesota DWI, you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 90 days
- $1,000 fine
- License suspension of 180 days to 1 year
- License Reinstatement fee of $250-430 in addition to an application fee of $24
- Possible Ignition Lock device installation
And of course, further Red Wing Minnesota DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Red Wing Minnesota license suspension or even Red Wing Minnesota license revocation.
Currently, Red Wing Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, except to call 911 in an emergency. You also many not compose, read, or send text messages while driving.
Red Wing Minnesota Online Driver Education
Red Wing Minnesota teen drivers are required to enroll in a driver education program. For information about approved Red Wing Minnesota online driver education courses, you can find more information here.