Your Guide to Rolla Missouri Driver's Licensing Procedures
On behalf of the State of Rolla Missouri, we're delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Rolla Missouri learner's permit or first Rolla Missouri driver's license. There are a few things you need to know about Rolla Missouri's Graduated Driver license Program for Rolla Missouri teen drivers, to make sure that your experience getting your Rolla Missouri driver's license goes as smoothly as possible. So, what are we waiting for?
The Rolla Missouri Instructional Permit and Rolla Missouri learner's Permit
Beginning the adventure of learning to drive can be both exciting and nerve-racking. The following tips can help you stay on track. When you turn 15, you can apply for a Rolla Missouri learner's Permit. This license allows you to practice driving provided there's a parent, guardian, or driving instructor with you (but when you turn 16, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is 21). It is valid for 12 months, and can be renewed once.
To apply for a Rolla Missouri learner's permit you'll need the following:
- A qualified person must accompany you to sign a permission statement
- $3.50 fee
Bring these materials to your local Rolla Missouri Driver Examination Station. Then you'll have to pass the required road sign, vision, and written tests. Your reward for surviving this far is a Rolla Missouri learner's permit!
A few more things to keep in mind: all passengers must wear seatbelts, and you must carry your Rolla Missouri Instruction Permit with you at all times. After you've had your Rolla Missouri learner's permit for 182 days, you'll be ready for the next step in the Rolla Missouri Graduated License Program.
The Rolla Missouri Provisional License and Rolla Missouri Full License
The next stage is the Rolla Missouri provisional license. In order to apply, you'll need to make sure you've satisfied a few Rolla Missouri State requirements before heading down to the nearest Rolla Missouri Driver Examination Station:
- No traffic convictions within the last 6 months
- Bring the same information as for the Rolla Missouri learner's Permit
- $7.50 fee
- Hold your Rolla Missouri learner's Permit for at least 182 days
- No alcohol-related convictions for the last 12 months
- complete 40 hours of driving instruction
- 10 of these hours must be at night
If you've satisfied these requirements, head to the nearest Rolla Missouri Driver Service Center, where you'll pay the required fee and submit your Rolla Missouri intermediate License application. If it's been more than one year since you took the required vision, road sign, and written tests, you'll have to take them again. Once you get this far, all that's left is the dreaded road test. If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Rolla Missouri intermediate driver license.
Rolla Missouri Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Before you can be granted a full driver's license, you must show that you're able to drive responsibly with certain restrictions. Briefly, these are:
- You may not drive between 1AM and 5AM unless it is to or from a school activity, job, or emergency or you are accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older
- For the first 6 months, you may not drive with more than one passenger who is under 19 (unless they're a member of your family)
- After the first 6 months, you may not drive with more than three passengers under 19 (unless they're family)
Once you've driven without any alcohol-related convictions or traffic violations for 12 months, you can receive your Rolla Missouri under-21 full driver license. You know the drill--just bring $10 to your local Rolla Missouri Driver License Station. And congrats again!
Rolla Missouri Auto Insurance Rolla Missouri Financial Responsibility Laws
Don't think you're ready to drive just because you now have a Rolla Missouri driver's license. You still must obtain liability insurance for your vehicle.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 per person for a single accident
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 for property damage
- $25,000 bodily injury per person for Uninsured Motorists
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident for Uninsured Motorists
Driving without Rolla Missouri mandatory liability insurance carries a risk that your Rolla Missouri learner's permit or Rolla Missouri intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Rolla Missouri Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
Knowing the Rolla Missouri drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws is necessary to ensure the safety of drivers and their passengers. This is especially true for a newer driver like yourself.
DUI Laws. Like most states, Rolla Missouri has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Rolla Missouri DUI or Rolla Missouri DWI, you face penalties in addition to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Rolla Missouri DUI, you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 6 months
- License restriction 60 days
- $45 License Reinstatement fee
- Up to $500 fine
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device installation
- License suspension 30 days
We would hope you'd learn your lesson the first time, but further Rolla Missouri DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Rolla Missouri license suspension or even license revocation.
Cell Phone Use. Studies consistently show that cell phone use and driving are a dangerous combination. Currently, Rolla Missouri teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones to text message while driving.
Rolla Missouri Online Driver Education
Rolla Missouri teen drivers can find more information about approved Rolla Missouri online driver education courses on the Rolla Missouri Department of Revenue Website.