Socorro New Mexico Online Driver Education and Socorro New Mexico Licensing Procedures
The State of Socorro New Mexico congratulates you on starting the process of applying for your Socorro New Mexico learner's permit or first Socorro New Mexico driver's license. The process of learning to drive can be a challenging one, and our job is to try to make it as simple for you as possible.
Socorro New Mexico has a graduated driver license program for Socorro New Mexico drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that you don't hit any snags while applying for your Socorro New Mexico driver's license. So, here we go!
The Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit or Socorro New Mexico Learner’s Permit
When you're 15 you can apply for a Socorro New Mexico instructional permit, otherwise known as a Socorro New Mexico learner's permit. To be eligible, you'll need to enroll in a Socorro New Mexico approved driver training course. Also, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21 and has 3 or more years of driving experience. All passengers must wear seatbelts, and don't forget to carry your Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit with you at all times!
Once you've collected all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Socorro New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) and submit your application. You’ll need your parent/guardian to sign your application, and don’t forget to bring the instructional permit fee of $10. Then, you’ll have to pass a vision test, as well as a written test (unless you already have a certificate of completion from a Socorro New Mexico approved driver education course that includes a 3 hour DWI component). You can study for the Socorro New Mexico written test with the Socorro New Mexico driver handbook.
If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit!
When you’ve held your Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit for 6 months and have met a few requirements, you’ll be ready to advance to the Socorro New Mexico Provisional license.
The Socorro New Mexico Provisional Driver License or Socorro New Mexico Full License
You can apply for your Socorro New Mexico Provisional license once you’ve held your Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice
- 10 hours must be at night
- Your parents must verify the 50 hours of driving practice by signing a driving log
- Be at least 15 and a half
- No drinking or driving (even a .02 blood alcohol content will result in your Socorro New Mexico Instructional Permit being revoked for 6 months
- Complete a Socorro New Mexico approved driver education program
- Maintain a clean driving record for 90 days before you apply
- The $18 license fee.
If you’ve completed these requirements, head on down to your local Socorro New Mexico MVD. Then, unless you’ve already taken a road skills exam as part of your Socorro New Mexico approved driver education course, you’ll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations! You’ve just earned your Socorro New Mexico Provisional License! Despite how far you've come however, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you’ve held your new license for at least 12 months without incident.
Socorro New Mexico Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Driving is a privilege, not a right. As a teen driver, there are several restrictions you need to be aware of regarding your Socorro New Mexico Provisional license:
- No driving between midnight and 5AM unless for emergencies, your job, or a school-related activity
- Everyone in the vehicle must wear a seatbelt
- No cell phones, hand-held videogames, or any electronic devices while driving
- Only 1 non-family passenger allowed
Look on the bright side: you're almost at the finish line. After you’ve held your Socorro New Mexico Provisional License for 12 months without incident, you can return to your local Socorro New Mexico MVD to apply for your Socorro New Mexico Full License. The fee is $18 for 4 years and $34 for 8 years. Best of all, most restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Socorro New Mexico Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new driver, one of your first responsibilities is to learn the Socorro New Mexico drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws and obey them religiously. More than anything else, as a driver you should be committed to keeping yourself and others safe.
Drunk Driving. Like most states, Socorro New Mexico has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Socorro New Mexico DUI or Socorro New Mexico DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Socorro New Mexico DWI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 90 days
- Ignition Interlock 1 year
- DWI school
- Alcohol evaluation
- License suspension up to 1 year
- Community service
And of course, further Socorro New Mexico DWI and DUI convictions will result in stiffer penalties: increased jail time, community service, fines, and Socorro New Mexico license suspension or even Socorro New Mexico license revocation are all possible for repeat offenders!
Cell Phones. Currently, Socorro New Mexico teen drivers are not allowed to use cell phones while driving in only two cities, Santa Fe and Albuquerque. In Santa Fe, it is prohibited to drive while using a cell phone (even with a hands-free device) to talk or text message. The fine is $60. In Albuquerque, you may use a cell phone only with a hands-free device. The fine is $100 for first conviction and $200 for subsequent convictions. As a general rule, cell phone use while driving should be kept to a minimum no matter where you live!
Socorro New Mexico Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Socorro New Mexico drivers license, we know you'll be anxious to get on the road. But there's one more important detail: insurance. Any vehicle registered in Socorro New Mexico must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is: $25,000 per person, per accident; $50,000 bodily injury for 2 or more persons per accident; and $10,000 for property damage.
If you get into an accident and are found to be driving without Socorro New Mexico mandatory liability insurance, your Socorro New Mexico license could be suspended.
Socorro New Mexico Online Driver Education
Don't forget, you'll need to enroll in a driver education course at the very start of the process. Socorro New Mexico teen drivers can find more information on approved Socorro New Mexico online driver education courses on the Socorro New Mexico MVD website.