Cullman Alabama Online Driver Education and Cullman Alabama Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Cullman Alabama learner's permit or first Cullman Alabama driver license. We understand that learning to drive can be both exciting and nerve-racking at the same time. We’ve provided this fact sheet on the Cullman Alabama graduated driver license program for Cullman Alabama drivers ages 15-18 in order to help make sure that applying for your Cullman Alabama driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So why don’t we jump right in?
Cullman Alabama Learner Permit
Everything begins with your Cullman Alabama restricted learner’s permit, which you can apply for once you turn 15. You'll need to bring the following with you to the DMV:
- your birth certificate
- social security card
- proof of school enrollment or graduation
- a $5 testing fee and $23 for your license
- If you're 16, you'll need two forms of identification, one with a picture ID, as well.
Once you pass the written exam (Don’t worry: the Cullman Alabama's driver's manual is the only study guide you’ll need!), you'll receive a "D" Cullman Alabama driver license. This Cullman Alabama driver's license carries a "Y" restriction, which means that you'll be required to have someone 21 years or older in the seat next to you as you practice driving. However, when you turn 16, you can use your Cullman Alabama learner's permit to drive with any other Cullman Alabama licensed driver--just remember that they have to be sitting next to you! Keep in mind that an Cullman Alabama restricted learner's license is valid for up to 4 years and can only be renewed once.
Cullman Alabama Teen Driver's License
You’re ready to take the dreaded road test once you’ve had your Cullman Alabama learner’s permit for 6 months or you turn 18, whichever comes first. If you’re 16 years old, you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian when taking the Cullman Alabama driver's license road test. In order to take the test, you must complete at least 30 driving hours (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor) or an approved Cullman Alabama driver education course. You can find the required form at the Cullman Alabama Department of Public Safety, and you can schedule your Cullman Alabama road test at the Cullman Alabama Department of Motor Safety website.
For the Cullman Alabama road test, you must provide your own vehicle. Before the test, an examiner will inspect your car to make sure it is in safe operating condition with the required equipment. During the test, you will have to make right and left turns, signal properly, use marked and unmarked traffic lanes, back up, make a quick stop, park, and successfully perform the dreaded three point turn.
Cullman Alabama Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Being in possession of an Cullman Alabama driver’s license carries many responsibilities. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Cullman Alabama learner's license or Cullman Alabama driver's license.
If you have your Cullman Alabama learner's permit, you must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or person over 21. The person who is supervising you must sit in the front passenger seat. We know it can be tempting to ride around with friends, but you cannot drive with more than four people in the car (including yourself) while driving with an Cullman Alabama learner's license.
If you are 16 years old, or 17 (with your license for less than six months), you cannot drive a vehicle between midnight and 6AM unless you:
- have a parent, legal guardian with you
- are accompanied by someone 21 or older who has the consent of your parent
- are going to or from your workplace, a school sponsored or religious event.
- are driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement related emergency.
In addition, you are limited to just 4 people in the vehicle excluding your parent or legal guardian. If you are convicted of any of the above violations, your Cullman Alabama learner's permit or Cullman Alabama driver's license will be fined accordingly. If you are convicted of a second moving violation, you will face suspension of your Cullman Alabama driver’s license suspended for 60 days.
Cullman Alabama Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a younger driver, we care about your safety above all. Thus, it's important for you to learn the Cullman Alabama drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Upon your first conviction of an Cullman Alabama DUI, you face:
- imprisonment up to 1 year
- a fine of $600-$2,100
- your license will also be suspended up to 90 days.
Further Cullman Alabama DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Cullman Alabama license suspension or even Cullman Alabama license revocation.
Currently, there are no Cullman Alabama laws that prohibit driving while texting or talking on cell phones. Still, we strongly suggest you keep cell phone use to a minimum. Studies repeatedly show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver!
Cullman Alabama Auto Insurance Cullman Alabama Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Cullman Alabama drivers license, there’s one more crucial ingredient for safe, responsible driving: insurance. Any vehicle registered in Cullman Alabama must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is $20,000 for personal injury and $40,000 for two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage. If you are ever caught driving without Cullman Alabama mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined up to $500 plus court costs.
Cullman Alabama Online Driver Education
We’ve already said that any 16 year old applicants who wish to apply for an Cullman Alabama driver license must have completed at least 30 driving hours (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor). However, you also have the option of taking an approved Cullman Alabama online driver education course. A list of approved online Cullman Alabama driver education courses can be found at the Cullman Alabama Department of Public Safety.
If you are required to attend an Cullman Alabama driver education classroom, you can find more information on the Cullman Alabama Department of Public Safety website.