CUSTOMER REVIEWS

Maryland Licensing Procedures and Maryland Online Driver Education

Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Maryland learner’s permit or first Maryland driver’s license. The process of applying for your Maryland learner’s permit or first Maryland driver’s license can be daunting, but it doesn’t need to be if you have the right information. This short guide will give you all the necessary facts to ensure that your experience applying for your first Maryland driver’s license is as smooth as can be.

The first thing you need to know is that Maryland has a “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/ that is specially geared toward younger drivers like yourself. The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges. So let’s get started.

Maryland Instructional Permit and Maryland Learner’s Permit

As soon as you’re 15 years and 9 months of age you can apply for a Maryland learner’s permit. With this permit, you can practice driving with another licensed driver who has held a valid license for at least 3 years, and the permit is valid for 2 years.

You should make an appointment at your local Maryland Vehicle Administration (MVA) and take the following with you:

  • If under 18, your parent or guardian must co-sign your permit application
  • If under 16, you must complete a “Learner’s Permit School Attendance Certification()”:http://www.mva.maryland.gov/Resources/DL-300.pdf
  • “Valid Identification and proof of residence()”:http://www.mva.maryland.gov/DriverServ/Apply/proof.htm

At your local Maryland MVA, you manage to pass the required tests, then congratulations! You just earned your Maryland learner’s permit. Although we know it’s tempting, don’t forget that when driving with your Maryland learner’s permit, you are prohibited from using a cell phone, and violations of this law will result in Maryland teen license suspension.

After you’ve had your Maryland learner’s permit in good standing for 9 months, you’ll be ready for the next phase in the Maryland Graduated License Program.

Your Maryland Provisional Driver’s License

In order to apply for your Maryland provisional driver’s license, a few “Maryland State requirements()”:http://www.mva.maryland.gov/DriverServ/ROOKIEDRIVER/bgenerallearners.htm will have to be followed before heading down to your local Maryland MVA.

  • Complete a Maryland-approved driver training course
  • Be at least 16 years and 180 days old
  • Have a parent or guardian fill out a Practice Skills Log
  • Have your Maryland learner’s permit for at least 9 months in good standing
  • Be sure to have practiced at least 60 hours of driving while supervised (10 of these practice hours must be at night)

If you’ve completed the following requirements, the only obstacle that remains is the dreaded road exam. If you pass, then congratulations! You’ve just earned your Maryland provisional driver license!

Maryland Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties

You’ve come a long way since you began this process, and we’re sure you’re eager to get on the road. However, you’ll still have to live with a few restrictions until you’ve held your Maryland provisional driver’s license for 18 months in good standing. But don’t worry: once you turn 18, you’ll finally be eligible for your Maryland unrestricted driver’s license.

  • No passengers under 18 for the first 5 months (unless they’re family members), unless you’re driving with proper supervision
  • No driving from 12AM to 5AM unless going to or from your job, a school sanctioned activity, a volunteer program, or an athletic event you’re participating in.

If you can manage all of this for 180 days, then congratulations, you can now be issued a full Indiana full license!

Maryland Auto Insurance Maryland Financial Responsibility Laws

You may think you’re ready to drive once you have your license, but getting your Maryland full driver’s license is only the beginning. Any vehicle registered in Maryland must be covered by “liability insurance()”:http://maine.gov/pfr/insurance/consumer/auto.htm. If you are found to be driving without Maryland mandatory liability insurance, your Maryland learner’s permit or Maryland intermediate driver license could be suspended and you could face a stiff fine. Needless to say, do not get on Maryland roads in an uninsured vehicle!

The minimum coverage is:

$20,000 per person for bodily injury
$40,000 per accident for bodily injury
$25,000 for property damage

Maryland Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws

As a new Maryland driver, keeping yourself and others safe should be your top priority. We consider it vitally important that you learn the Maryland drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.

Drunk Driving

First of all, Maryland has a zero tolerance law, which means that if you’re under 21, with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02 you’ll face fines and Maryland driver’s license suspension just like an adult with a BAC of .08 would.

Upon your first conviction of a Maryland DUI (0.08), you’ll face the following penalties:

  • Jail sentence up to 2 years (if transporting a minor)
  • $1,000 fine
  • Jail sentence up to 1 year
  • license suspension of 6 months minimum

Naturally, additional Maryland DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, fines, community service, and Maryland license suspension or even Maryland license revocation.

Cell Phone Use

Currently, Maryland prohibits teen drivers who hold a Maryland instruction license, Maryland learner’s license, or Maryland provisional license from using cell phones while driving. Even if you have a full license, however, we strongly discourage frequent cell phone use while driving.

Maryland Online Driver Education

You’ll need to complete a Maryland-approved driver training course as part of your application for a Maryland learner’s permit. You can find all the information you need about approved Maryland online driver education courses,on the “Maryland Vehicle Association website()”:http://www.mva.maryland.gov/DriverServ/ROOKIEDRIVER/dschool.htm.

Maryland Frequently Asked Questions

  • How do I pay for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland internet drivers ed course, and when do you need payment?
    The TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers ed course will accept payment in the form of credit card or online check, or you may mail a check or money order. Payment must be received prior to taking the final examination.
  • Can I select the shipping method that I need when I register for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers ed course, or do I need to wait until I complete the Maryland internet drivers education course?
    At registration, you can select your shipping method! TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Maryland certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Maryland traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Maryland traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
  • I’d like to pay by check for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers education course. Is the website very secure for payments?
    Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several other payment methods for our Maryland internet driver education course, including credit card and online check.
  • I’m looking to take an online driver education course in Maryland. What is the cost of your Maryland internet drivers education course?
    The TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.

Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.

  • Do I need to ask the Maryland DMV/DVS if I am eligible to take the Maryland online drivers ed course?
    We do recommend that you check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)—or whichever state agency that handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Maryland—to make sure that you are eligible to take Maryland driver education.

In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit.

Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

  • May I start the Maryland internet drivers ed course as soon as I sign up?
    Yes! Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Maryland learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Maryland drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule!
  • Do my parents qualify for any Maryland insurance discount after I successfully complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland drivers’ education online course?
    In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to families with teens who take a Maryland online drivers ed course. If you are not sure if your Maryland insurance provider offers discounts for Maryland teen drivers, then your parents should ask before you enroll in this Maryland online drivers ed course.
  • If I want to take the Maryland online driver education course from multiple computers, is that possible?
    Yes. Multiple computers can be used to take the Maryland online drivers ed course. If necessary, you can take part of the Maryland online drivers ed course at school and part of the Maryland learners permit course from home. It’s totally up to you!
  • How often can I start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland internet drivers ed course?
    You can take as many breaks as you need in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers ed course. TeenDrivingCourse.com is easy, fun and — most importantly — convenient!
  • I am taking the Maryland internet drivers ed course, but can I get the Maryland certificate of completion within 2 days?
    It is possible. We recommend that you select a preferred method of shipping at registration for your Maryland internet drivers ed course. We do offer expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Maryland certificate of completion in as little as 24 hours.
  • Will the Maryland online drivers ed course provide me with all the classroom hours that I need?
    Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com will be sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
    Is it too late for me to request a refund on my Maryland online drivers ed course now that I am part of the way through the Maryland online drivers ed course?
    Nope! As long as your Maryland certificate of completion has not been shipped, it is not too late to request a refund on your Maryland online drivers ed course. Compare this with our competitors, who will typically deny you the right to a refund after a certain point in the Maryland online learners permit course.
  • What if I am unable to read large amounts of online text? Does the Maryland online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com offer any solutions that will make it easier?
    Yes. We have made it easier for you by including a “Read Along” feature in all of our Maryland online learners permit courses. By reading the Maryland online driver education course text aloud as you follow along with the online text, it saves you from eye strain. All of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online drivers ed courses fully comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act, which means accessibility for all.
  • How can I be sure that the Maryland TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers education course meets all Maryland DMV/DVS approved class requirements?
    The Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
  • I have my Maryland driver education certificate of completion. What else do I need in order to take the Maryland learners permit test?
    It depends on the specific rules of Maryland. We recommend that you call a Maryland DMV office near you to inquire exactly what paperwork you will be required to show when you go to apply for your Maryland learner’s permit.
  • How many Maryland online drivers ed course quizzes are there in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maryland online driver education course?
    There will be a Maryland online drivers ed course quiz after each Maryland online drivers ed course chapter.
  • Will taking the Maryland driver education course online instead of in a classroom lead to an inferior learning experience?
    You should take our Maryland online drivers ed course if you find the idea of sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher unappealing. With our Maryland online drivers ed course, you have the freedom to learn at your own pace. If online driver education is not approved by your state, then you may be required to attend a Maryland driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Maryland driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
  • Will you ask me to provide proof of identity while I’m taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com online driver education course?
    It depends on what your state’s laws require. Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
  • Save $20!

    Play our ONLINE game and save!

  • Refer a friend

    Tell your friends about our course!

Maryland Online Drivers Education – Earn Your Driver’s License With TeenDrivingCourse.com

Our award winning Texas drivers ed course is designed to meet all Texas requirements to earn your driving permit and license. Our courses are delivered in the best learning environments for teens and adults thanks to the expertise of our driving education professionals.

TeenDrivingCourse.com features a drivers ed curriculum that covers everything you need to know to successfully pass your driving test and ultimately become the knowledgeable, confident, and safe driver you are meant to be.

100% Online - No Classrooms, Flexible Schedules

TeenDrivingCourse.com is a 100% online drivers ed course. Our course is available 24/7 so you can study from the comfort of home, in between classes, or anywhere else you have a computer or mobile device on hand.

Our drivers ed course is perfect for anyone who wants to study at their own pace or doesn’t want to adjust their schedule. There are no set hours because we understand that everyone learns at a different speed. Therefore, we want you to take advantage of our course by pausing it and starting it again at your own convenience.

Award-Winning Interactive 3D Learning Simulations

Our Texas drivers ed course includes everything you need to successfully pass the DPS permit test and get behind the driver’s wheel. Most importantly, our course helps you learn through interactive 3D simulations that get you prepared for real life scenarios.

Software Features:
  • 3D interactive, engaging, animations and video supplements
  • Case studies, fun activities, lessons, and rich multimedia options
  • Audio read along feature to study on-the-go
  • Essential quizzes and test bank for real-world application

24/7 Online Support

TeenDrivingCourse.com strives to make your drivers education experience as easy and fun as possible. That’s why we provide 24/7 customer service support through live chat, email, and phone.

We also offer same day processing for certificates. If you need to have your Certificate of Completion in a hurry, we’ve got you covered with expedited shipping options including overnight, 2-day and 3-day delivery.