Ohio Online Driver Education and Ohio Licensing Procedures
We’re very happy that you’re starting the process of applying for your Ohio learner’s permit or first Ohio driver license! Ohio has a graduated driver license program for Ohio drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things we would like you to know to make sure that applying for your Ohio driving license is as trouble-free an experience as possible. So let’s jump right in.
Ohio Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for an Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit, otherwise known as an Ohio Learner’s Permit. With this license, the following restrictions apply:
- For the first 6 months you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor
- After 6 months, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is at least 21
- All passengers must wear seatbelts
- Be sure to carry your Ohio Temporary Permit with you at all times!
When you’re ready to apply, you’ll need to bring proof of age and identity; your social security number; and a parent/guardian to sign the permit application.
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a “knowledge test():http://bmv.ohio.gov/dl_new_driver.stm%22%20%5Cl%20%22tog..) If you pass, then congratulations—you’ve just earned your Ohio Temporary Permit!
Once you’ve held your Ohio Temporary Permit for 6 months and have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Ohio Graduated License Program, the Ohio Driver License.
The Ohio Provisional Driver License or Ohio Full Driver License
You can apply for your Ohio Probationary Driver License once you’ve held your Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 8 hours of driving instruction
- Complete 24 hours of class instruction in an approved Ohio driver education course
- Practice driving for 50 hours total – 10 of these hours must be at night
- Your parent/guardian will have to certify your “documented practice hours()”:http://publicsafety.ohio.gov/links/bmv5791.pdf
As soon as you satisfy these requirements, head on down to your local Ohio BMV. You’ll have to overcome one final obstacle: the dreaded Ohio road skills test! If you pass, then reward yourself for making it to this point. You’ve just earned your Ohio Probationary Driver License!
Ohio Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You still have just a little father to go to earn your full Ohio driver’s license. Until then, there are a few restrictions for your Ohio Probationary Driver License, depending on your age:
- Ohio teen drivers under 17 can’t carry more than 1 passenger that is not family (unless accompanied by a parent/guardian of course)
- All passengers between the ages of 4 and 15 must be properly restrained
- If you’re 16, you may not drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM
- If you’re 17, you may not drive between the hours of 1AM and 5AM
- The exception for the driving curfew is in case of: (1) an emergency, (2) driving to/from a school sanctioned activity, and (3) driving to/from your place of employment (must have written documentation from your employer)
On the bright side, once you turn 18, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Ohio Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As an Ohio teen driver, there’s no bigger threat you’ll face than drunk drivers. It’s important for you to learn the Ohio drunk driving laws (and obey them religiously). Like most states, Ohio has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of an Ohio DUI or Ohio DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of an Ohio DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- License suspension from 6 months to 3 years
- Or Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
- Ohio License reinstatement fee $450
- Jail 3 days to 6 months
- Fine from $250 to $1,000
And of course, further Ohio DWI and DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties, up and including jail time, Ohio license suspension or even Ohio license revocation. As you can see, it’s something we take very seriously – don’t do it!
Ohio Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you finally get your coveted Ohio Learner’s Permit or Ohio Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive—or so you may think. Because accidents happen to even experienced drivers, Ohio drivers are required by law to be covered by “liability insurance()”:http://bmv.ohio.gov/fr_laws.stm. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
$12,500 bodily injury for one person
$7,500 for property damage per accident
$25,000 bodily injury two or more people
It’s no joke. If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Ohio mandatory liability insurance, your Ohio license could be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, and you may face Ohio license plate reinstatement fees, as well as other penalties.
Ohio Cell Phone Laws
We acknowledge how important it is for young people to stay in touch with friends, but studies show that cell phone use, especially text messaging, contributes to accidents. Currently, it is illegal for Ohio teen drivers to use cell phones while driving only in Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t be careful elsewhere as well!
Ohio Online Driver Education
Ohio teen drivers are required to take an Ohio approved driver education course. You can find more information on “approved Ohio online driver education courses()”:http://bmv.ohio.gov/county_lst.stm at the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles search page.
- Are all credit cards accepted for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers education course?
Yes, all major credit cards are acceptable forms of payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed course.
- How can I be sure that I receive the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed certificate of completion on time?
You can choose your preferred method of shipping at registration! TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Ohio certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. When you register for the online defensive driving course you will be asked to select your certificate of completion. If you select regular US Mail, your online Ohio traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Ohio traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- Is the website secure if I pay by check over the internet?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure.
- If I sign up to take the Ohio online drivers education course for new drivers, what will it cost me?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
Can I take the Ohio TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course if I am 14 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Ohio) to make sure that you are eligible to take Ohio driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Ohio Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- If I do not do well on the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio drivers education online course’s final exam, how many times will I be able to retake it?
Once you finish the Ohio drivers ed internet course, you must take your Ohio final exam. If you don’t pass the Ohio test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- If I take the Ohio internet driver education course that TeenDrivingCourse.com offers, is there any Ohio insurance discount?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Ohio drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Ohio to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Ohio online drivers education course.
- If I want to take the Ohio online driver education course from more than one computer, can I do that?
Yes. At TeenDrivingCourse.com we care about your convenience. You’re free to take the Ohio online driver education course anywhere you want, from any computer you want. For example, if circumstances require you to take part of the Ohio online drivers ed course at school and part of the Ohio learners permit course from home, that’s perfectly okay! Any computer with internet access will work.
- If I take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed course, is it required that I sit through it all at once, or can I have the option to start and stop after each chapter?
You do have the option to take frequent interval breaks if you need to do so in order to complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed course.
- If I complete the Ohio internet drivers ed course today, when can I receive my Ohio certificate of completion?
How quickly you get your Ohio online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Ohio certificate in as little as 24 hours.
- How much time can I expect to devote to the Ohio online driver education course?
You can expect to devote about 30 hours during the Ohio online driver education course that we offer at TeenDrivingCourse.com. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend the entire 30 hours taking the course.
- How much time do I have to request a refund on my Ohio online drivers ed course?
You have until your Ohio certificate of completion has been shipped to request a refund. Unlike our competitors, who do not allow requests for refunds after a certain point in the Ohio online driver education course, with us you can request a refund anytime you see fit, as long as it’s before your certificate of completion has been shipped.
- Reading large amounts of online text has always been a problem for me. Does your Ohio online drivers ed course have any options that will assist me?
Yes. All of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online drivers ed courses fully comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). The “Read Along” option is available in all of our Ohio online driver education courses to ease the burden on those who have difficulty reading large amounts of printed text. It works by reading the Ohio online learners permit course material aloud as you follow along with the online text.
- How can I find out if the Ohio internet drivers ed course is Ohio DMV/DVS approved?
The Ohio Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- I plan to take the Ohio learners permit test. What Ohio driver education paperwork will I need in order to do that?
Typically, before you can begin learning to drive, you need to provide a certificate of completion for a state-approved driver education course. However, this is a general rule and the specific laws in Ohio may be different from other states. Please contact your local Ohio DMV office to find out exactly what paperwork is required in order for you to be issued a Ohio learner’s permit and begin learning how to drive a car in Ohio.
- How are the Ohio online drivers ed course quizzes structured for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio online driver education course?
There is a Ohio online drivers ed course quiz at the end of each Ohio online drivers ed course chapter, and it consists of about five questions.
- What are the benefits of taking the Ohio driver education course online instead of in a classroom?
The main benefit is flexibility. With Ohio online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you have the freedom to learn at your own pace, without sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. Even if you live in a state where online driver education is not allowed, the Ohio driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will I have to submit to an ID verification procedure before I can take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Ohio drivers education course over the internet?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do. If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.