Utah Online Driver Education and Utah Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Utah Learner’s Permit or first Utah driver’s license. Utah has a “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/minor_learner_permits.html for Utah teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Utah driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Utah Learner Permit or Utah Instruction Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for a Utah Learner Permit, otherwise known as a Utah Instruction Permit. In order to apply, you’ll need:
- “Valid identification documents()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/acceptable_id.html
- Social Security card or SSN proof (W-2 form, for example)
- Utah Residency Verification
- Proof of Driving Experience
- Nonrefundable fee of $15
Once you’re ready, head on down to your local Utah Driver License Office with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a medical and eye exam, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Utah Learner Permit. Remember, you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21. Of course, all passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your Utah Learner Permit with you at all times.
Once you’ve held your Utah Learner Permit for 6 months have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Utah Graduated License Program, the “Utah Minor License()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/minor_driver_license.html.
The Utah Minor License or Utah Intermediate License
You can apply for your Utah Minor License once you’ve held your Utah Learner Permit for 6 months and are at least 16 years of age. However, you’ll also need to make sure you meet these requirements:
- Hold a Utah Learner Permit for 6 months
- Be at least 16 years of age
- Complete a “Utah approved driving education course()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/driving_schools.html
- Practice driving for 40 hours with a parent/guardian, or supervising driver
- At least 10 hours must be at night (and must be signed!)
Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Utah Driver License Office. Be sure to bring the “valid identification documents()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/acceptable_id.html, including your Utah Learner Permit. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded Utah road test! If you pass, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Utah Minor License, otherwise known as the Utah Provisional License. However, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being.
Utah Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are still a few restrictions you’ll have to keep in mind now that you have your Utah Minor License:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- If you’re 16, no passengers under 21 for 6 months or until you reach 18 years of age
- The exception is if your passengers are family members
- No driving between midnight and 5AM unless you’re going to/from your job, a school sanctioned activity, for a medical emergency, or on assignment for a farmer or rancher
Once you turn 18, these restrictions will no longer be valid. Freedom!
Utah Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Utah Provisional Driver license, you’re ready to drive—or are you? Not quite yet, because Utah drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Utah mandatory liability insurance, your Utah Learner Permit or Utah Provisional license could be suspended.
Utah Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Utah teen driver, it’s important for you to learn the Utah drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most state, Utah has a “Zero Tolerance Law()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/alcohol_restricted_driver.html for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Utah DUI, your Utah Learner Permit or Utah Provisional License will be suspended for 90 days to 120 days (or until you are 21), whichever is longer. Upon your second conviction, your Utah license will be revoked for 1-2 years. For a complete list of convictions and penalties, go to the “Utah Public Safety webpage()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/alcohol_restricted_driver.html.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Utah DUI, you’ll also face the following penalties:
- Jail 48 hours minimum or
- Work Service Program 48 hours minimum
- Home confinement
- $700 fine
- License Suspension of 120 days
- Also, possible alcohol/drug screening, assessment, education and treatment
And of course, further Utah DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Utah license suspension or even Utah license revocation.
Currently, Utah teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving.
Utah Online Driver Education
Utah teen drivers can find more information about approved Utah online driver education on the “Utah Department of Public Safety website()”:http://publicsafety.utah.gov/dld/driving_schools.html.
- I do not have a bank account, so how can I pay for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah online drivers education course?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah online drivers ed course allows you to pay by a credit card, or you can also mail in a money order (which you can purchase at almost any major grocery store).
- Do you offer several Federal Express options for shipping the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah internet drivers ed certificate of completion?
Yes! At registration, you can select your preferred method of your Utah certificate of completion. TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several different options for shipping, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Utah traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have several options! You can select Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or Saturday delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday) if you complete your online Utah traffic school course on a Friday.
- If I take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah internet drivers ed course, can you assure me that the payment information is secure over the website?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several payment methods for our Utah internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
- What do I need to pay for the Utah online drivers ed course for new drivers?
The cost of TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Utah online drivers ed course for new drivers is $30.00. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- How old do I have to be to take my required Utah driver education?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. We recommend that you check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency oversees the issuing of drivers’ licenses in Utah) to make sure that you are old enough to take Utah driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Utah DMV/DVS.
- I want to take a Utah internet drivers ed course, but if I do not pass the Utah final exam, can I take it again?
Yes! Once you finish the Utah drivers ed internet course, you must take a Utah final exam. If you don’t pass the Utah test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- I plan to take a Utah driver education course soon. I’d like to know if I’d get any discount by taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Utah online teen driver education course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Utah drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Utah to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Utah online drivers education course.
- Can I access the Utah online drivers ed course from a different computer than the one I used to register for the Utah online drivers ed course?
Yes, you can do that. You can access the Utah online learners permit course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that may be used. For example, you can take part of the Utah online driver education course at work and another part of the Utah online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
- Am I allowed some breaks while taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah internet drivers ed course?
Yes. TeenDrivingCourse.com is designed to work around your schedule, and you may take as many breaks as needed during the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah online drivers ed course.
- If I complete the Utah internet drivers ed course today, when can I receive my Utah certificate of completion?
How quickly you get your Utah online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Utah certificate in as little as 24 hours.
- How much time can I expect to devote to the Utah online driver education course?
You can expect to devote about 30 hours during the Utah online driver education course that we offer at TeenDrivingCourse.com. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend the entire 30 hours taking the course.
- Am I able to request a refund on my Utah online driver ed course at any time?
Yes, you are able to request a refund on your Utah online driver education course at any time, as long as it’s before your Utah certificate of completion has been shipped. This policy makes us different from our competitors, who will not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Utah online learners permit course.
- Does the Utah online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com have any options that will make it accessible for people who have trouble reading large amounts of text?
Yes it does. For those with vision problems, our “Read Along” option will ease the strain on your eyes during the Utah online driver education course. It reads the Utah online learners permit course material aloud as you follow along with the online text.
- How can I be sure that the Utah TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers education course meets all Utah DMV/DVS approved class requirements?
The Utah Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- Do I need Utah driver education paperwork before I can learn to drive a car?
Most likely, yes. Nearly every state requires learner’s permit applicants to successfully complete a state-approved driver education program to become eligible to obtain a learner’s permit. Although this is a general rule and may not apply in every state, we strongly recommend that you have your TeenDrivingCourse.com certificate of completion in hand when you go to the Utah DMV office to take your Utah learner’s permit test.
- Will I be able to review each section of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah internet drivers ed course while I am taking the Utah online drivers ed course quiz?
You will not have access to any of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah online drivers ed course materials during each Utah online drivers ed course quiz, but if you fail the Utah online drivers ed course quiz you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Utah online drivers ed course chapter.
- What are the benefits of taking the Utah driver education course online instead of in a classroom?
The main benefit is flexibility. With Utah online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you have the freedom to learn at your own pace, without sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. Even if you live in a state where online driver education is not allowed, the Utah driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will I have to verify my ID before I’m allowed to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Utah online drivers education for new drivers course?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do. If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.