Centex Driving School FAQ’s
Are all the driving schools listed on your website fully-licensed by the Texas DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in Texas?
The driving school directory on our website is for your convenience only, and we cannot absolutely guarantee that every driving school listed is currently accredited to offer driving training courses in Texas. We suggest you contact the Texas DMV to make sure a particular driver training school is certified before you sign up to take their driving course.
Somebody told me that I can skip out of attending a driver training school if my parents give me behind-the-wheel training instead. Is that permissible in Texas?
Each state has its own laws regarding driver training. Some states will allow parentally-supervised driver training as a substitute for enrolling in a behind-the-wheel training course which is taught by a professional driving instructor. However, not all states allow this. You should contact the Texas DMV to find out for sure.
I have no clue how to drive a stick-shift vehicle. What happens if Centex Driving School makes me train on a stick-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....manual OR automatic! If you prefer to do your hands-on driver training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call Centex Driving School and let them know before you sign up to take their driver training course. That way you'll know for sure whether Centex Driving School can accommodate you before you pay them any money.
I live in a remote area, that has a lot of dirt roads and bumpy terrain. Will Centex Driving School teach me how to drive in BOTH city AND rural environments?
If you live in a remote area, chances are very good that a local driving school like Centex Driving School will want you to be trained in driving specific to the local area's terrain.
Can 14-year-olds get learner's permits to drive in Texas?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for an instruction permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to obtain an instruction permit. You may want to contact the Texas DMV or a Texas-approved driver training school like Centex Driving School to find out what the minimum age to drive is in Texas.
Do I have to take a Killeen Texas classroom or online drivers education course before I can enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course through Centex Driving School?
This requirement varies from state to state but most states do mandate new teen-aged drivers to take BOTH a classroom-based driver education course (generally 30 hours in length) AND a behind-the-wheel training course. You should ask Centex Driving School if they offer one or both programs.
Texas's DMV has told me that I need to take a driver training course. Do you know if Centex Driving School offers this course or not?
Centex Driving School does offer the driver training course that Texas requires all new teen-aged drivers to take. For more information about the courses Centex Driving School offers, we recommend that you contact Centex Driving School directly.
Exactly what type of driver training do I need in Killeen Texas before I can get my Texas driver's license?
The prerequisites for getting a driver's licenses vary from state to state, however most states now require teen-agers who are looking to get their first driver's license to enroll in a safe driving classroom course as well as a behind-the-wheel training course. We suggest that you contact a local driver training company such as Centex Driving School and ask if they offer a Texas-approved driver training course which would meet Texas's driver's education requirements.
I live in Killeen Texas and would like to apply for my first driver's license. Do I need to take a behind-the-wheel training course before I can be licensed?
Texas law requires that all first-time drivers sign up for an approved behind-the-wheel training program before receiving their Texas driver's license. Centex Driving School may offer a behind-the-wheel training course that you are looking for. Please contact Centex Driving School directly for complete information as to what types of driver training courses they offer.
Will Texas allow me to enroll in a driver training course before I actually get my learner's permit?
You will need to contact your state's DMV office to find out. However, most states require that you receive your learner's permit before you enroll in a driver training course.
Centex Driving School
Centex Driving School
1002 E. Elms Road, Suite 107
Killeen, TX 76542
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.