At The Wheel Driving Academy FAQ’s
Are all the driving schools listed on your website fully-certified by the North Carolina DMV to offer behind-the-wheel training courses in North Carolina?
The driving school directory on our website is for your convenience only, and we cannot absolutely guarantee that every driving school listed is currently accredited to offer driving training courses in North Carolina. We suggest you contact the North Carolina DMV to make sure a particular driving school is accredited before you register for their driver training course.
Do you know if I can complete my behind-the-wheel training with my mother or father instead of attending a behind-the-wheel training course like the ones offered by At The Wheel Driving Academy?
Some states allow teen-agers to do their behind-the-wheel training with their parents instead of attending a professional driver training school. We recommend that you contact the North Carolina DMV or At The Wheel Driving Academy directly to find out if North Carolina allows parent-taught driver training.
I have no clue how to drive a stick-shift vehicle. What happens if At The Wheel Driving Academy makes me train on a stick-shift vehicle?
Considering the fact you are a brand new driver, you probably don't know much about operating ANY type of vehicle....manual OR automatic! If you prefer to do your hands-on driver training with an automatic-shift vehicle, you may want to call At The Wheel Driving Academy and let them know before you enroll in their behind-the-wheel training course. That way you'll know for certain whether At The Wheel Driving Academy will be able to accommodate you before you pay them any money.
I live in a small mountain community, where there are a lot of small, unpaved roads. Will my driver training with At The Wheel Driving Academy include learning how to drive in remote areas? Or do they just offer training for city driving?
Most local driving schools will likely want their students to be taught how to drive safely in the local area. Therefore, chances are good that the behind-the-wheel training you receive from At The Wheel Driving Academy will include handling unpaved roads and mountain driving.
Can 14-year-olds obtain instruction permits to drive in North Carolina?
Most states have set the minimum age for applying for an instruction permit at 15 or 15 1/2. However, some states do allow 14-year-olds to get a learner's permit. You may want to contact the North Carolina DMV or a North Carolina-approved driver training school like At The Wheel Driving Academy to find out what the minimum age to drive is in North Carolina.
Can I take At The Wheel Driving Academy's driver training course before taking a Concord North Carolina defensive driving classroom course or online course?
It depends on what North Carolina's laws prescribe. However, you should know that most states will require teen-aged, first-time drivers to complete both a drivers education classroom course (which are approximately 30 hours in length, depending on North Carolina's laws) or an approved online course, plus a state-approved behind-the-wheel training course. We recommend that you contact At The Wheel Driving Academy directly to see if they offer either (or both) of these courses.
North Carolina law says that I must successfully complete a behind-the-wheel training course in order to get licensed to drive in Concord North Carolina. Is this something that At The Wheel Driving Academy can help me with?
Yes, At The Wheel Driving Academy offers the North Carolina-approved hands-on driver training course. For more information about their classes and instruction schedule, please contact At The Wheel Driving Academy directly.
Do I have to take drivers education to get a North Carolina driver's license?
Drivers education requirements vary depending on which state you live in, but you should be aware that most states require new, teen-aged drivers to enroll in both a driver training course in addition to a safe driving classroom or online course. You may wish to contact the North Carolina DMV to find out exactly what requirements you will need to meet in order to obtain your first driver's license.
Is hands-on driver training required in North Carolina in order to be licensed to drive a car?
Absolutely. All new drivers in North Carolina must take an approved hands-on driver training course before they can get a license to independently drive a motor vehicle.
Is it all right if I register with a behind-the-wheel training school like At The Wheel Driving Academy prior to my receiving my learner's permit?
In most states, you are required to have already gotten your learner's permit before you enroll in your driver training course like the one offered by At The Wheel Driving Academy. We suggest you contact either At The Wheel Driving Academy to find out more information.
At The Wheel Driving Academy
At The Wheel Driving Academy
1-211 Buffalo Ave NW
Concord, NC 28025
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.