address:

1441 Franklin Street 203
Oakland, CA 94612
800-482-6593

William Driving School FAQ's

How do I know if William Driving School is licensed by California's DMV to offer driver training courses?
While we do include William Driving School's contact information in our driving school directory, we cannot say with certainty as to whether William Driving School is certified by the State of California.  We recommend that you either contact William Driving School directly or possibly the California DMV to find out if William Driving School is a licensed driver training school.
Do I have to take a driver training course? Can't my parents just give me my driver training?
There are some states that do permit parents or guardians to provide their teen-aged kids' required driver training in order to obtain a driver's license.  However many states do not allow any type of substitution for attending a professionally-taught behind-the-wheel training course.  We suggest you contact your state's DMV to find out what the laws are in your state regarding hands-on driving instruction.
What if I don't know how to operate a stick-shift automobile? Does William Driving School have automatic-shift vehicles that I can drive when I do my behind-the-wheel training?
If you're taking a Oakland California driver training class, chances are you don't know how to drive ANY vehicle yet-- manual or automatic.  However, if you prefer an automatic vehicle then you should tell William Driving School that prior to signing up to take the course in order to make sure they can accommodate you. 
I live out in the middle of nowhere. There are rural and mountain roads everywhere. Will William Driving School teach me how to drive in BOTH rural AND city areas?
If you live in a rural or mountain town, chances are that a local driving school like William Driving School will include driving lessons specifically tailored to that terrain. 
I just turned 14 years old. Can I apply for my instruction permit in California?
Probably not.  The minimum age requirement for holding an instruction permit in most states is 15 1/2.  You should contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or a licensed driving school such as William Driving School to find out more information about the minimum age requirement in California. 
Do I have to complete a Oakland California drivers education classroom course or online course before signing up to take one of William Driving School's driver training courses?
Each state has its own laws, but most states will require first-time drivers to take both a behind-the-wheel training course plus either a defensive driving classroom course (which are about 30 hours in length) or an approved online drivers education course.  You may want to ask William Driving School if they offer one or both programs.
I am looking to sign up to take a Oakland California behind-the-wheel training course. Can William Driving School assist me with this?
Yes.  Drivers education courses are available in Oakland California through William Driving School.  Please contact William Driving School directly with questions regarding their schedule of classes and registration information.
What do I need to do to obtain a driver's license in Oakland California?
It depends on California's laws, but most states require new, teen-aged drivers to complete a drivers education classroom course as well as a driver training course.  You may want to call William Driving School to see if they offer the driver training course that would fulfill the regulations set forth by the California DMV.
Is it necessary for me to complete a behind-the-wheel training course in order to get my first California driver's license?
Yes, it is.  All teen-aged drivers applying for their first driver's license in California are required to take a state-approved driver training course.
Do I have to receive my instruction permit in California before I am permitted to enroll in a behind-the-wheel training course like the one William Driving School gives its students?
Laws vary from state to state, however most states do require that you receive a learner's permit before you can register for a driver training course like the one that William Driving School gives its students.