Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed $89.95

This online Parent Taught Driver Education (TDLR License# 111) course is fully approved in Texas and satisfies Texas' minimum permit and licensing requirements.  In this program, your parent or guardian fills the role of driving instructor.

  • Texas Driver Education $74.00
  • DPS Knowledge Test $10.00
  • Read-Along Upgrade $5.00
  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00
  • Driver Ed DVD $29.95
  • Texas Driver & Parent Manuals $25.00
  • Same Day Processing Upgrade $10.00

SELECT SELECT

Texas Online Drivers Ed (Block) $89.95

This online driver's ed course is fully approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR). This course uses the block method, which means you must complete the entire 32 hour course online before applying for your learner's permit and enrolling with a licensed driving school.

  • Texas Driver Education $74.00
  • Read-Along Upgrade $5.00
  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00
  • DPS Knowledge Test $10.00
  • Driver Ed To Go DVD $29.95
  • Same Day Processing Upgrade $10.00

SELECT SELECT

DPS Practice Tests TX $15.00

Prep Wizard helps you pass the DMV written exam on your first try! Our diagnostic testing software is designed to help you master every section of the written exam with over 1,000 real DMV questions!

  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00

Streaming DVD $30.95

New! Our wildly popular DVD is now available in streaming video format! This supplemental learning video makes the perfect compliment to a state approved driver education program.

  • Driver Ed To Go Streaming Video $24.99

SELECT SELECT

Driver Ed To Go DVD $29.95

Driver Education just got a whole lot easier! This driver training DVD teaches you everything you need to learn to pass the DMV driving test!

  • Driver Ed DVD $29.95

SELECT SELECT
Driver License Requirements at-a-glance:
  • Texas Driver Education Requirement Texas law requires any person under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved driver education course to be eligible for a driver’s license. This requirement may be satisfied by completing a licensed driver education school course, a public school driver education course or a parent-taught driver education course.
  • Learner Permit Holding Period You must be 15 to apply for a learner permit, you must have held your learner (instruction) permit for at least six (6) months in good standing before you can apply for a provisional driver's license.
  • Minimum amount of supervised driving In-car training consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving – of which 10 hours must be done at night. The additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving will be monitored by the parent or guardian and are not required to be provided by a licensed driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupies the seat next to the driver.
  • Minimum Age for Driver License 16 years old; additionally, you must also have held your instruction permit for at least 6 months before you may apply for a license.
  • Road Test Yes. Starting on September 1, 2009 any student submitting an application to DPS for a permit or a driver’s license must take a road test.
  • Unsupervised driving rules Licensed minor may not drive from midnight to 5 a.m. unless necessary to participate to a school or work activity, or because of a medical emergency, for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
  • Passenger rules Licensed minor may not carry more than one (1) non-relative under 21 for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
How to get your Driver License step-by-step:
  • 1Complete chapter 1 of the online course. We will send you form DE964, which you must bring to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
  • 2Pass the written test at the DPS and obtain your instruction permit.
  • 3Once you have obtained your permit, you may start chapter 2 of the online course and begin your in-car training.
  • 4After you have completed both the online course and your in-car training, and have held your permit for at least 6 months and are at least 16 years of age, you may apply for a provisional license at the DPS.
  • 5After you pass your driving skills test at the DPS, you will get your provisional license!

Texas Frequently Ask Questions

How old do I have to be to get a learners permit in Texas?
You need to be at least 15 years old to get a learners permit in Texas. However you may enroll in an approved online drivers education course when you are 14 years old.


How old do I have to be to get my Texas drivers license?
Texas law requires that you be at least 16 years old to receive your drivers license, and you must have had your learners permit for at least six (6) months.

What paperwork or documents do I need to bring with me when I go to take my drivers test?
You will need to take the following items with you when you go to take your drivers test:

  • Your online drivers education class completion certificate (Form DE-964)
  • Proof of Identity
  • Social Security Number
  • Verification of enrollment and attendance in school
  • Proof of auto registration
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Parental authorization signature
  • A personal photograph
  • Thumbprints
Complete instructions as well as access to these forms will be provided to you as during this online drivers education class.  We strongly recommend that you double-check this instruction form to ensure you have everything with you need to take with you before you head down to your local drivers license office to get your learners permit.




In Texas, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass the Teen Driving Course Texas online drivers education course final exam at no additional cost!
How many questions are on Teen Driving Course's online class' final exam?
There are 90 questions on the Teen Driving Course final exam.  While it sounds like a lot, the material covered on it will help ensure that you're ready to take and pass your drivers license test. 

To pass Teen Driving Course's online class, you will need to score at least a 75% on the final exam.  If you do not pass the final the first time, don't stress--you can retake it as many times as you need to in order to pass it, and there's no extra charge for doing so.
Does Teen Driving Course's online class fulfill all of Texas' drivers education requirements?
Yes, it does!  Teen Driving Course's online driver education class is fully- approved by the State of Texas and satisfies all drivers ed requirements.

Upon completing this course, and provided that you meet the minimum age requirements to drive in Texas, you will be ready to take your driving test!

How long will it take for me to receive my completion certificate from Teen Driving Course?
As soon as you pass your final exam, Teen Driving Course will mail your certificate of completion to you.  Delivery time is approximately 3 to 5 business days.

However, if you're in a hurry to get your certificate, you can opt to have it sent to you by FedEx 3rd Day, 2nd Day, or Overnight Delivery.  There is an additional fee if you choose this expedited service.


I have my Texas learners permit. Can I start driving now?
You can start driving as soon as you've completed Module 1 of Teen Driving Course's Texas online driver education class, and have received your Texas learners permit.  However, you can never drive alone with only a learners permit.  Texas law requires that you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old seated in the front passenger seat whenever you drive.  There are no exceptions to this law!



How long am I required to have my Texas learners permit before I can get my graduated drivers license?
If you're under 18, you have to have had your learners permit for at least six (6) months and you also will need to have completed all of the state's driving education requirements before getting prior to getting a Texas drivers license.  If you're 18 or older you still need to complete some driver training, but the six (6)-month waiting period for holding a learners permit won't apply to you.  Please contact the Texas DPS for complete details.


Do I need to have behind-the-wheel training before taking my drivers license exams?
Yes.  In Texas, you must complete both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel driving training to qualify to receive your Texas drivers license.  

The good news is that Teen Driving Course's Texas online driver education class covers both the classroom and driving portions of your Texas drivers education, all from the comfort of your own home!  
How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my drivers license?
Texas law requires that, in addition to the classroom training, you complete 44 hours of supervised driving, seven (7) of which must be behind-the-wheel.  The other seven (7) hours can be satisfied by taking Teen Driving Course's Texas online drivers education class.



Can my friends ride with me after I get my Texas learners permit or drivers license?
If you hold a Texas learners permit, no passengers are permitted to ride with you except the required supervising driver who's at least 21 years of age sitting in the passengers seat.  (WARNING:  if you are caught driving without a licensed driver, don't expect to be driving again any time soon).  Family members may be allowed to ride with you, however you will need to check with the Texas DPS for complete details.


If you are under 18 and hold a restricted or provisional Texas driver's license, you must wait for twelve (12) months before driving with more than one (1) non-family passenger in the car who's under 21.  After this time period has passed, you will be eligible for a graduated Texas drivers license, and you may drive with passengers in the car.
Can I drive alone with my Texas learners permit? What about when I first get my Texas drivers license?
Learners Permit Holders--you may never drive alone--PERIOD.  You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old seated in the front passenger seat who is actively supervising your driving the entire time (if you violate this law and drive unsupervised, you may be kissing your driving privileges good-bye).

Drivers License Holders--if you're under 18, there are still some restrictions (though not as extensive).  During the first twelve (12) months after you receive your provisional drivers license, you may not drive at all between the hours of 12 midnight and 5am unless you are commuting to work, school, or are handling a medical emergency.  After this twelve (12)-month probationary period has passed, these restrictions are lifted.


How much does the Teen Driving Course online Texas drivers education class cost?
Teen Driving Course's prices vary from season to season.  Please click on our "Course Options" tab to see a complete listing of our current prices.


Does Teen Driving Course give refunds?
You bet!  Teen Driving Course stands behind its product 100%.  If you decide for whatever reason that our online drivers education class isn't for you, simply let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll give you a full refund, with no questions asked.

Course selection

Texas Parent Taught Drivers Ed $89.95

This online Parent Taught Driver Education (TDLR License# 111) course is fully approved in Texas and satisfies Texas' minimum permit and licensing requirements.  In this program, your parent or guardian fills the role of driving instructor.

  • Texas Driver Education $74.00
  • DPS Knowledge Test $10.00
  • Read-Along Upgrade $5.00
  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00
  • Driver Ed DVD $29.95
  • Texas Driver & Parent Manuals $25.00
  • Same Day Processing Upgrade $10.00

SELECT SELECT

Texas Online Drivers Ed (Block) $89.95

This online driver's ed course is fully approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (TDLR). This course uses the block method, which means you must complete the entire 32 hour course online before applying for your learner's permit and enrolling with a licensed driving school.

  • Texas Driver Education $74.00
  • Read-Along Upgrade $5.00
  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00
  • DPS Knowledge Test $10.00
  • Driver Ed To Go DVD $29.95
  • Same Day Processing Upgrade $10.00

SELECT SELECT

DPS Practice Tests TX $15.00

Prep Wizard helps you pass the DMV written exam on your first try! Our diagnostic testing software is designed to help you master every section of the written exam with over 1,000 real DMV questions!

  • Texas Practice Tests $15.00

Streaming DVD $30.95

New! Our wildly popular DVD is now available in streaming video format! This supplemental learning video makes the perfect compliment to a state approved driver education program.

  • Driver Ed To Go Streaming Video $24.99

SELECT SELECT

Driver Ed To Go DVD $29.95

Driver Education just got a whole lot easier! This driver training DVD teaches you everything you need to learn to pass the DMV driving test!

  • Driver Ed DVD $29.95

SELECT SELECT
Driver License Requirements at-a-glance:
  • Texas Driver Education Requirement Texas law requires any person under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved driver education course to be eligible for a driver’s license. This requirement may be satisfied by completing a licensed driver education school course, a public school driver education course or a parent-taught driver education course.
  • Learner Permit Holding Period You must be 15 to apply for a learner permit, you must have held your learner (instruction) permit for at least six (6) months in good standing before you can apply for a provisional driver's license.
  • Minimum amount of supervised driving In-car training consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving – of which 10 hours must be done at night. The additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving will be monitored by the parent or guardian and are not required to be provided by a licensed driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupies the seat next to the driver.
  • Minimum Age for Driver License 16 years old; additionally, you must also have held your instruction permit for at least 6 months before you may apply for a license.
  • Road Test Yes. Starting on September 1, 2009 any student submitting an application to DPS for a permit or a driver’s license must take a road test.
  • Unsupervised driving rules Licensed minor may not drive from midnight to 5 a.m. unless necessary to participate to a school or work activity, or because of a medical emergency, for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
  • Passenger rules Licensed minor may not carry more than one (1) non-relative under 21 for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
How to get your Driver License step-by-step:
  • 1Complete chapter 1 of the online course. We will send you form DE964, which you must bring to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).
  • 2Pass the written test at the DPS and obtain your instruction permit.
  • 3Once you have obtained your permit, you may start chapter 2 of the online course and begin your in-car training.
  • 4After you have completed both the online course and your in-car training, and have held your permit for at least 6 months and are at least 16 years of age, you may apply for a provisional license at the DPS.
  • 5After you pass your driving skills test at the DPS, you will get your provisional license!

Texas Frequently Ask Questions

How old do I have to be to get a learners permit in Texas?
You need to be at least 15 years old to get a learners permit in Texas. However you may enroll in an approved online drivers education course when you are 14 years old.


How old do I have to be to get my Texas drivers license?
Texas law requires that you be at least 16 years old to receive your drivers license, and you must have had your learners permit for at least six (6) months.

What paperwork or documents do I need to bring with me when I go to take my drivers test?
You will need to take the following items with you when you go to take your drivers test:

  • Your online drivers education class completion certificate (Form DE-964)
  • Proof of Identity
  • Social Security Number
  • Verification of enrollment and attendance in school
  • Proof of auto registration
  • Proof of liability insurance
  • Parental authorization signature
  • A personal photograph
  • Thumbprints
Complete instructions as well as access to these forms will be provided to you as during this online drivers education class.  We strongly recommend that you double-check this instruction form to ensure you have everything with you need to take with you before you head down to your local drivers license office to get your learners permit.




In Texas, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass the Teen Driving Course Texas online drivers education course final exam at no additional cost!
How many questions are on Teen Driving Course's online class' final exam?
There are 90 questions on the Teen Driving Course final exam.  While it sounds like a lot, the material covered on it will help ensure that you're ready to take and pass your drivers license test. 

To pass Teen Driving Course's online class, you will need to score at least a 75% on the final exam.  If you do not pass the final the first time, don't stress--you can retake it as many times as you need to in order to pass it, and there's no extra charge for doing so.
Does Teen Driving Course's online class fulfill all of Texas' drivers education requirements?
Yes, it does!  Teen Driving Course's online driver education class is fully- approved by the State of Texas and satisfies all drivers ed requirements.

Upon completing this course, and provided that you meet the minimum age requirements to drive in Texas, you will be ready to take your driving test!

How long will it take for me to receive my completion certificate from Teen Driving Course?
As soon as you pass your final exam, Teen Driving Course will mail your certificate of completion to you.  Delivery time is approximately 3 to 5 business days.

However, if you're in a hurry to get your certificate, you can opt to have it sent to you by FedEx 3rd Day, 2nd Day, or Overnight Delivery.  There is an additional fee if you choose this expedited service.


I have my Texas learners permit. Can I start driving now?
You can start driving as soon as you've completed Module 1 of Teen Driving Course's Texas online driver education class, and have received your Texas learners permit.  However, you can never drive alone with only a learners permit.  Texas law requires that you must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old seated in the front passenger seat whenever you drive.  There are no exceptions to this law!



How long am I required to have my Texas learners permit before I can get my graduated drivers license?
If you're under 18, you have to have had your learners permit for at least six (6) months and you also will need to have completed all of the state's driving education requirements before getting prior to getting a Texas drivers license.  If you're 18 or older you still need to complete some driver training, but the six (6)-month waiting period for holding a learners permit won't apply to you.  Please contact the Texas DPS for complete details.


Do I need to have behind-the-wheel training before taking my drivers license exams?
Yes.  In Texas, you must complete both classroom instruction and behind-the-wheel driving training to qualify to receive your Texas drivers license.  

The good news is that Teen Driving Course's Texas online driver education class covers both the classroom and driving portions of your Texas drivers education, all from the comfort of your own home!  
How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my drivers license?
Texas law requires that, in addition to the classroom training, you complete 44 hours of supervised driving, seven (7) of which must be behind-the-wheel.  The other seven (7) hours can be satisfied by taking Teen Driving Course's Texas online drivers education class.



Can my friends ride with me after I get my Texas learners permit or drivers license?
If you hold a Texas learners permit, no passengers are permitted to ride with you except the required supervising driver who's at least 21 years of age sitting in the passengers seat.  (WARNING:  if you are caught driving without a licensed driver, don't expect to be driving again any time soon).  Family members may be allowed to ride with you, however you will need to check with the Texas DPS for complete details.


If you are under 18 and hold a restricted or provisional Texas driver's license, you must wait for twelve (12) months before driving with more than one (1) non-family passenger in the car who's under 21.  After this time period has passed, you will be eligible for a graduated Texas drivers license, and you may drive with passengers in the car.
Can I drive alone with my Texas learners permit? What about when I first get my Texas drivers license?
Learners Permit Holders--you may never drive alone--PERIOD.  You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old seated in the front passenger seat who is actively supervising your driving the entire time (if you violate this law and drive unsupervised, you may be kissing your driving privileges good-bye).

Drivers License Holders--if you're under 18, there are still some restrictions (though not as extensive).  During the first twelve (12) months after you receive your provisional drivers license, you may not drive at all between the hours of 12 midnight and 5am unless you are commuting to work, school, or are handling a medical emergency.  After this twelve (12)-month probationary period has passed, these restrictions are lifted.


How much does the Teen Driving Course online Texas drivers education class cost?
Teen Driving Course's prices vary from season to season.  Please click on our "Course Options" tab to see a complete listing of our current prices.


Does Teen Driving Course give refunds?
You bet!  Teen Driving Course stands behind its product 100%.  If you decide for whatever reason that our online drivers education class isn't for you, simply let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll give you a full refund, with no questions asked.

  • Connect With Us