THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Alabama!
- Online Driver Ed approved by AL DMV
- Qualify for your Alabama Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
Alabama Online Driver Education and Alabama Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Alabama learner’s permit or first Alabama driver license. We understand that learning to drive can be both exciting and nerve-racking at the same time. We’ve provided this fact sheet on the Alabama graduated driver license program for Alabama drivers ages 15-18 in order to help make sure that applying for your Alabama driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So why don’t we jump right in?
Alabama Learner Permit
Everything begins with your Alabama restricted learner’s permit, which you can apply for once you turn 15. You’ll need to bring the following with you to the DMV:
- your birth certificate
- social security card
- proof of school enrollment or graduation
- a $5 testing fee and $23 for your license
If you’re 16, you’ll need two forms of identification, one with a picture ID, as well.
Once you pass the written exam (Don’t worry: the Alabama’s driver’s manual is the only study guide you’ll need!), you’ll receive a “D” Alabama driver license. This Alabama driver’s license carries a “Y” restriction, which means that you’ll be required to have someone 21 years or older in the seat next to you as you practice driving. However, when you turn 16, you can use your Alabama learner’s permit to drive with any other Alabama licensed driver—just remember that they have to be sitting next to you! Keep in mind that an Alabama restricted learner’s license is valid for up to 4 years and can only be renewed once.
Alabama Teen Driver’s License
You’re ready to take the dreaded road test once you’ve had your Alabama learner’s permit for 6 months or you turn 18, whichever comes first. If you’re 16 years old, you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian when taking the Alabama driver’s license road test. In order to take the test, you must complete at least 30 driving hours (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor) or an approved Alabama driver education course. You can find the required form at the Alabama Department of Public Safety, and you can schedule your Alabama road test at the Alabama Department of Motor Safety website.
For the Alabama road test, you must provide your own vehicle. Before the test, an examiner will inspect your car to make sure it is in safe operating condition with the required equipment. During the test, you will have to make right and left turns, signal properly, use marked and unmarked traffic lanes, back up, make a quick stop, park, and successfully perform the dreaded three point turn.
Alabama Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Being in possession of an Alabama driver’s license carries many responsibilities. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Alabama learner’s license or Alabama driver’s license.
If you have your Alabama learner’s permit, you must be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or person over 21. The person who is supervising you must sit in the front passenger seat. We know it can be tempting to ride around with friends, but you cannot drive with more than four people in the car (including yourself) while driving with an Alabama learner’s license.
If you are 16 years old, or 17 (with your license for less than six months), you cannot drive a vehicle between midnight and 6AM unless you:
- Have a parent, legal guardian with you
- Are accompanied by someone 21 or older who has the consent of your parent
- Are going to or from your workplace, a school sponsored or religious event.
- Are driving due to a medical, fire, or law enforcement related emergency.
In addition, you are limited to just 4 people in the vehicle excluding your parent or legal guardian. If you are convicted of any of the above violations, your Alabama learner’s permit or Alabama driver’s license will be fined accordingly. If you are convicted of a second moving violation, you will face suspension of your Alabama driver’s license suspended for 60 days.
Alabama Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a younger driver, we care about your safety above all. Thus, it’s important for you to learn the Alabama drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Upon your first conviction of an Alabama DUI, you face:
- Imprisonment up to 1 year
- A fine of $600-$2,100
- Your license will also be suspended up to 90 days.
Further Alabama DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Alabama license suspension or even Alabama license revocation.
Currently, there are no Alabama laws that prohibit driving while texting or talking on cell phones. Still, we strongly suggest you keep cell phone use to a minimum. Studies repeatedly show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver!
Alabama Auto Insurance Alabama Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Alabama drivers license, there’s one more crucial ingredient for safe, responsible driving: insurance. Any vehicle registered in Alabama must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is $20,000 for personal injury and $40,000 for two or more people, and $10,000 for property damage. If you are ever caught driving without Alabama mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined up to $500 plus court costs.
Alabama Online Driver Education
We’ve already said that any 16 year old applicants who wish to apply for an Alabama driver license must have completed at least 30 driving hours (signed by a parent, legal guardian, or certified driving instructor). However, you also have the option of taking an approved Alabama online driver education course. A list of approved online Alabama driver education courses can be found at the Alabama Department of Public Safety.
If you are required to attend an Alabama driver education classroom, you can find more information on the Alabama Department of Public Safety website.
- Can I mail in a check or money order for payment of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online drivers ed course?
Yes, you can mail in a check or money order for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online drivers education course.
- How can I get overnight shipment of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama internet drivers ed certificate of completion?
You will need to select your preferred method of shipping at registration. TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Alabama certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Alabama traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Alabama traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- If I want to sign up for the Alabama internet drivers education course, how can I be sure that the website is secure for credit card payments?
TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. In addition, we also offer several other payment methods for our Alabama internet drivers ed course, including check and online check.
I have a discount code. May I use it when I take the Alabama internet drivers ed course?
Yes. The regular price of TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Alabama online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. However, if you have a “refer a friend” discount code, a discount may be available.
- May I enroll in a Alabama drivers education course if I am 16 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. We recommend that you should check with the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Alabama Department of Education, or Alabama Department of Driver License Services to make sure that you are old enough to take Alabama driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- How often can I retake the Alabama final exam if I sign up for the Alabama online drivers education course?
Once you finish the Alabama drivers ed internet course, you must take your Alabama final exam. If you don’t pass the Alabama test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- Will my parents be offered a Alabama insurance discount if I pass the Alabama online drivers ed course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Alabama drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Alabama to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Alabama online drivers education course.
- Does the entire Alabama drivers ed course have to be taken on a single computer, or can multiple computers be used?
At TeenDrivingCourse.com we care about your convenience. You’re free to take the Alabama online driver education course from any computer you want, anywhere you want. If you want to take part of the Alabama Online driver ed course at school and part of the Alabama Learners permit course from home, that’s perfectly okay! Any computer with internet access will work.
- Can I take a break in the middle of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online drivers ed course?
Definitely. You may take a break anywhere in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online drivers ed course. When you log back online, you can then pick up the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama internet drivers ed course exactly where you left off.
When will I be able to get my Alabama online drivers ed certificate of completion?
This depends upon the shipping method that you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express. Depending upon how quickly you need your Alabama certificate, you receive it in as little as 24 hours.
- What is the total amount of time it will take me to finish the Alabama online drivers education course?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Alabama online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
- Is it too late for me to request a refund on my Alabama online drivers ed course now that I am part of the way through the Alabama online drivers ed course?
Nope! As long as your Alabama certificate of completion has not been shipped, it is not too late to request a refund on your Alabama online drivers ed course. Compare this with our competitors, who will typically deny you the right to a refund after a certain point in the Alabama online learners permit course.
- What if I am unable to read large amounts of online text? Does the Alabama online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com offer any solutions that will make it easier?
Yes. We have made it easier for you by including a “Read Along” feature in all of our Alabama online learners permit courses. By reading the Alabama online driver education course text aloud as you follow along with the online text, it saves you from eye strain. All of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online drivers ed courses fully comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act, which means accessibility for all.
- How can I verify that the TeenDrivingCourse.com’s online Alabama drivers ed course for new drivers meets all the Alabama DMV/DVS’s class requirements?
The Alabama Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) – or your state’s respective driver safety department – will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- I want to take the Alabama learners permit test. What Alabama driver training documents do I need?
You’re free to go to the Alabama licensing office and take the test for the Alabama learners permit as soon as you receive your Alabama TeenDrivingCourse.com driver education certificate of completion. Depending on where you live, you may be required to provide additional documentation, such as parental consent forms, medical records, your birth certificate, etc.
We strongly recommend that you contact your local Alabama driver’s license office to find out exactly what paperwork is needed when you go in to take your Alabama learner’s permit test.
- How many Alabama online drivers ed course quizzes are there in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online driver education course?
There will be a Alabama online drivers ed course quiz after each Alabama online drivers ed course chapter.
- What makes the online Alabama driver education course unique? Why shouldn’t I just take the Alabama driver education course in a classroom?
What makes the TeenDrivingCourse.com Alabama online driver education course unique is the freedom that it gives you compared to a classroom course. Instead of sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher, you can learn what you want, where you want, and how you want! Even if your state where does not allow online driver education, the Alabama driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will enhance the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will you need me to show that I am who I claim to be while I’m taking the Alabama online drivers ed course?
Only if your state requires us to. If your state requires us to verify your identity for the online drivers ed course (not every state does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course. Some states do this to make sure that each student is taking a state online driver education course without the help of anyone else.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.