ONLINE DRIVER EDUCATION COURSE

TAKE COURSE ON ANY DEVICE

PREPARE FOR DMV EXAM

PREPARE FOR WRITTEN EXAM

DRIVER EDUCATION DVD

LEARN THE BASIC F DRIVING WITH OUR EXCLUSIVE DVD

Procedures For Connecticut Driver Licensing and Online Driver Education

The State of Connecticut is delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Connecticut learner’s permit or first Connecticut driver license. Connecticut has a graduated driver license program that is especially designed for younger Connecticut drivers (16-18 years of age), and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that you don’t run into any problems while striving for your Connecticut driver’s license. So what are we waiting for?

  • Connecticut Instructional Permit or Connecticut Learner Permit

When you turn 16, you can finally apply for a Connecticut instructional permit, otherwise known as a Connecticut learner permit. You’ll need to gather these documents in order to apply for your Connecticut learner’s permit:

  • A birth certificate
  • A valid passport-sized photo
  • A piece of mail or ID to verify your address
  • Two forms, the “learner’s “permit application()”:http://www.dmvct.state.ct.us/b307.HTM and a “parental consent form()”:http://www.ct.gov/dmv/LIB/dmv/20/29/2-D.pdf
  • One other form of “”proper identification()”:http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=805&Q=244772&dmvPNavCtr=%7C28089%7C%22%20%5Cl%20%2228090”
  • Social Security card
  • $40 test fee as well as the $18 permit fee, payable by check or money order.

After you have had your Connecticut learner permit for 6 months (or 4 months if you’ve taken a Connecticut approved driver education course), you’ll have the green light to apply for the Connecticut license exam.

  • Your First Connecticut Driver’s License

In order to apply for your first Connecticut provisional driver license, you’ll need to do the following:

  • Complete 40 hours of on-road practice as well as a driver education course (see last paragraph, “Connecticut Online Driver Education”)
  • Bring a birth certificate
  • Provide a piece of mail or identification to verify your address
  • Bring one other form of “proper identification()”:http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=805&Q=244772&dmvPNavCtr=%7C28089%7C%22%20%5Cl%20%2228090
  • Provide proof of car insurance
  • Complete a two hour teen driving course with your parent or guardian
  • Bring the license fee of $66 to $77, depending on how many years the license is valid for
  • Bring your learner’s permit (to be surrendered)
  • Provide a valid passport-sized photo

Then, if you can survive the following tests:

  • Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
  • Written test, in which you must score at least an 80%
  • The dreaded road test!

Congratulations, you’ve just earned your first Connecticut driver license!

Restrictions and Penalties Connecticut Teen Driver License

Unfortunately, as a newer driver, not every kind of driving will be open to you just yet. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Connecticut learner’s license or Connecticut driver’s license.

Connecticut Permit Restrictions: With a Connecticut learner’s permit, you cannot drive unless accompanied by:

  • a parent or guardian (who must have a driver’s license)
  • a licensed instructor
  • someone 20 or older with a valid license for at least four years (holding no suspensions).

Connecticut Provisional License Restrictions:

  • first six months: you must drive with parents/guardians or licensed driver * second six months: you may drive with members of your immediate family
  • you may not drive a bus or any vehicle that requires a public passenger permit
  • you may not drive between midnight and 5AM unless going to an approved school or church activity, or for emergencies
  • you may not drive while talking on a cell phone (no exception for hands-free)

If you have your Connecticut provisional license and you’re 16 or older you cannot drive a vehicle between 1:00AM and 5AM unless the following conditions are met:

  • You’re accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or person over 21 who has at least 1 year of driving experience
  • You are driving because of an emergency
  • You are an emancipated minor
  • You’re going to or from your workplace, a school sponsored or religious event

The whole point of driver education is to give you the tools to acquire good driving habits. If you abuse the privilege of driving, you may not have your license for very long! Each time your license is suspended, there is a restoration fee of $125. Your Connecticut driver license may be suspended under the following circumstances:

  • you use your cell phone while driving (texting or talking) – 30 day suspension
  • you speed – 60 day suspension
  • you drive recklessly – 6 month suspension
  • you street race – 6 month suspension

Connecticut Auto Insurance Connecticut Financial Responsibility Laws

So you finally have your Connecticut drivers license. Think you’re ready for the road? Hold your horses, your vehicle must be covered by liability insurance. If you ever get caught driving without proof of Connecticut mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. Worse, if you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Connecticut learner’s permit or Connecticut provisional license will be suspended.

  • The minimum required coverage is $20,000 for personal injury and $40,000 for total injury, and $10,000 for property damage.

Connecticut Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws

As a new Connecticut driver, nothing is more important than for you to understand the Connecticut drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. In Connecticut, the standard of DUI is lower for teens, and you only need to have a BAC of 0.02 (instead of 0.08) to be convicted. Upon your first conviction of a Connecticut DUI, you face the following penalties:

  • your Connecticut license will be suspended for 3 months
  • a $500 to $1000 fine
  • 100 hours of community service
  • mandatory alcohol education programs that adults face for DUI convictions

And of course, further Connecticut DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Connecticut license suspension or even Connecticut license revocation.

A distracted driver is a dangerous driver. Thus, Connecticut bans teen drivers from using a cell phone or text messaging while driving. As tempting as it may be to call or text friends and family, driving while using a cell phone carries a 30 day license suspension and a $125 license restoration fee plus court fines. A second conviction carries a 6 month suspension.

Connecticut Online Driver Education

Anyone younger than 18 must provide proof of completion for a Connecticut approved driver’s education course including at least 40 hours of behind the wheel training and 22 hours of home-based classroom training. If you take a Connecticut approved driver’s education course, you will be able to take your license road test 2 months earlier. The Connecticut DMV maintains a list of the many Connecticut “approved driver education courses()”:http://www.ct.gov/dmv/cwp/view.asp?a=805&Q=289746&PM=1&dmvPNavCtr=%7C41797%7C42553%7C%22%20%5Cl%20%2242645 .

LIVE CHAT
Connecticut Frequently Asked Questions
Connecticut Frequently Asked Questions
  • What is the best way to pay for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut online drivers education course?
    You may choose to pay with either credit card, check, online check, or money order for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut internet drivers ed course. Or, you can select the “pay later” option, but payment must be received prior to taking the final examination.
  • Do you offer a two day Federal Express shipment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut internet drivers education certificate of completion?
    Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com does offer two day shipment and we offer several convenient options, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. You can select your Connecticut certificate of completion when you register for the online defensive driving course. If you select regular US Mail, your online Connecticut traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have several options! You can select Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or Saturday Federal Express delivery if you complete your online Connecticut traffic school course on a Friday.

I’d like to pay by check over the internet for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut online drivers ed course. Is the website secure?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We offer several payment methods for our Connecticut internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.

  • What is the total cost of the Connecticut internet drivers ed course for new drivers?
    The TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
  • Can I take the Connecticut TeenDrivingCourse.com internet driver education course if I am 16 years old?
    In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. Please check with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Connecticut Department of Education, or Connecticut Department of Driver License Services to be sure that you are old enough to take Connecticut driver education.

Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).

  • If I take the Connecticut internet drivers ed course and do not pass the Connecticut final exam, can I take the final exam over?
    Yes! Once you finish the Connecticut drivers ed internet course, you must take the Connecticut final exam. If you don’t pass the Connecticut test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
  • If I pass a Connecticut internet driver education course, do I qualify for a Connecticut insurance discount?
    It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Connecticut drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Connecticut to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Connecticut online drivers education course.
  • Can I access the Connecticut online driver education course from a different computer than the one I registered on?
    Yes, you can do that. You’re free to access the Connecticut online drivers ed course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that you can use. For example, you can take part of the Connecticut online learners permit course at work and another part of the Connecticut online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
  • Is there any requirement that I complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut internet drivers education course all at once?
    No. It is not required that you complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut online drivers education course all at one time. You are allowed to start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut internet drivers ed course as often as necessary.
  • I really need to receive my Connecticut online drivers ed certificate overnight. Is this possible?
    Yes it is possible. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, and you can select a shipping method at registration. Depending upon how quickly you need your Connecticut certificate, you receive it in as little as 24 hours.
  • How long will it take to complete the Connecticut online drivers education course?
    You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Connecticut online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.

Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.

  • Can I get a refund on my Connecticut online drivers ed course if I do not complete it?
    Yes. Unlike our competitors, who do not allow you to request a refund after a certain point in the Connecticut drivers ed course, TeenDrivingCourse.com allows you to request a refund for the Connecticut online driver education course at any point during the Connecticut online drivers ed course, before your Connecticut certificate of completion is shipped. Once your certificate of completion has been shipped, you may not request a refund.
  • I often struggle to read large amounts of online text. What options does the Connecticut online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com offer that may help?
    The “Read Along” option offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com is designed to help those who struggle with reading large amounts of text. It reads the material aloud while you follow along with online text. You can order this feature when you register for the Connecticut online learners permit course.
  • I need to take driver’s ed as soon as possible. Is the Connecticut TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers education program or new drivers program considered sufficient in Connecticut?
    Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
  • What Connecticut driver education paperwork do I need in order to learn to drive a car?
    Generally, you can get your Connecticut learners permit once you have received a Connecticut driver education certificate of completion. Once you have this document you may go to the licensing office in Connecticut and take the Connecticut learners permit test. Again, this is a general rule and may not apply in Connecticut.
  • Is it required that I receive a passing grade on the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut online drivers ed course quizzes?
    No, the Connecticut online drivers ed course quizzes are designed to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Connecticut internet drivers ed course final exam. If you do not pass a Connecticut online drivers ed course quiz, you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Connecticut internet drivers ed course chapter.
  • I don’t normally do well in a classroom environment. Can you tell me what the differences are between Connecticut classroom driver education and Connecticut online driver education?
    If you’re not keen on being stuck sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher, the Connecticut online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com is the choice for you. TeenDrivingCourse.com gives you the advantage of flexibility, allowing you to learn how you want, where you want and you they want! Even in states that do not authorize online driver education, the Connecticut driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable tool that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
  • What information will I need to provide in order to prove I am who I say I am while taking the Connecticut online driver education course?
    Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
COURSE FEATURES
Outstanding Quality
24/7 Support
Multiple Languages
Start the Course for Free
  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube