Delaware Online Driver Education and Delaware Licensing Procedures
Delaware has a Graduated Driver License Program for Delaware drivers ages 16-18 that will enable you to safely gain driving experience before being given full driving privileges. Learning to drive can be as daunting as it is exciting, so there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Delaware driving license goes as smoothly as possible. Congratulations on beginning the adventure of applying for your Delaware learner’s permit or first Delaware driver license!
- Delaware Instructional Permit or Delaware Learner Permit
When you turn 16, you can finally apply for a Delaware instructional permit, otherwise known as a Delaware level one learner’s permit. In order to apply for your Delaware learner’s permit, the following requirements must be met:
- 16 years of age
- Pass a Delaware approved driver education course
- “proper identification()”:http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/drivers_license/dr_lic_doc_table.shtml to prove Delaware residency
- A valid passport-sized photo
- Social Security card or number
- $12.50 application fee—which will cover you throughout the graduated driver license program
This may sound like a lot, but the Delaware DMV maintains a “Teen Driver website()”:http://www.dmv.de.gov/services/driver_services/teen/index.shtml with loads of useful information!
Delaware uses a sponsor program in which you will need your parents, or another adult you trust, to partner with you in order to learn how to drive. Your Delaware driver license sponsor must sign your original driver’s license application. For the first 6 months upon obtaining your Delaware driver permit, you must be supervised. In the end, you will have to complete 50 hours of driving time, 10 of which must take place at night. Your sponsor will certify that you have completed the required driving time and turn your form into the Department of Education.With our program, you’ll be a well-rounded driver by the time you finally get that license!
After you have had your Delaware learner permit for 1 year, you’re ready to apply for your Delaware license exam.
- Your First Delaware Driver’s License
In order to apply for your first Delaware provisional driver license, you’ll need to do the following:
- complete 50 hours of on-road practice, including 10 hours of night driving
- complete a driver education course (more on that below)
- You must have your Delaware learner’s permit for at least 1 year
- Your sponsor (a parent or other trusted adult) must certify that you have completed the above requirements
After you make an appointment at your local Delaware DMV, you’ll have to pass the following tests:
- Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
- Written test, in which you must score at least an 80% (study with the Delaware Drivers manual)
- And finally, the dreaded road test (but at this point you should have enough study and practice under your belt that it really is no big deal!)
If you have been driving without incident for 1 year, your Delaware learner’s permit will automatically convert into a Delaware Class D driver’s license. Your hard work has paid off: you’ve just earned your very first Delaware driver license!
Delaware Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
As we said above, the Graduated Driver License Program is designed to withhold certain driving privileges until you’ve had some time to develop your skills. Thus, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Delaware learner’s license or Delaware driver’s license. Violating any of these restrictions will result in a 2 month suspension (first offense) and 4 month suspension (second offense onward).
Delaware Level One Permit Restrictions. With a Delaware learner’s permit, you must adhere to the following restrictions:
- You must be accompanied by a licensed instructor for your first year of driving
- Safety belts must be worn at all times
- You may only drive with your supervisor and 1 passenger
- You cannot use a cell phone or text messaging device while driving
- Only after 6 months of driving may you drive without supervision at night (but with only one passenger)
- You are prohibited from driving between 10PM and 6AM unless driving to/from a school or church activity
- These restrictions do not apply to family members.
We know your eager to begin riding around with friends, but those first several months of licensed driving is NOT going to be a party on wheels!
Delaware Auto Insurance Delaware Financial Responsibility Laws
It’s a fact of life that accidents happen, even to the most careful drivers. Any vehicle registered in Delaware must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Delaware mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. If you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Delaware learner’s permit or Delaware provisional license will be suspended.
The minimum coverage includes:
$15,000 for personal injury
$30,000 for total injury
$10,000 for property damage.
Delaware Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Delaware driver, it’s important for you to learn the Delaware drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. In Delaware, if you’re convicted of a DUI, your license will be suspended based on your blood alcohol content as follows:
BAC .08 to 15 – 12 month suspension
BAC .15 to .19 – 18 month suspension
BAC .20 or greater – 24 month suspension
Also, you could be fined from $500 to $1500 and be imprisoned for 60 days to 6 months. And of course, further Delaware DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Delaware license suspension or even Delaware license revocation.
Delaware law prohibits teen drivers from using a cell phone or text messaging while driving. If caught driving while using a cell phone, you will receive a one month suspension. For subsequent offenses, you could have your Delaware driver license suspended for three months or more. Also, there is a $25 fee for license reinstatement.This may seem strict, but studies consistently show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver.
Delaware Online Driver Education
In order to be eligible for a Delaware drivers permit, you must enroll in an approved Delaware course. The Delaware DMV maintains a list of the many Delaware “approved driver education courses()”:http://www.dmv.de.gov/default.shtml. You shouldn’t have much trouble finding one that suits your needs.
Graduated Driver License Program for Delaware drivers ages 16-18 that will enable you to safely gain driving experience before being given full driving privileges. Learning to drive can be as daunting as it is exciting, so there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Delaware driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
- Does it matter what type of credit card I use to pay for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers education program?
No, you can use any major credit card for payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers ed course.
- How long do I need to wait before receiving the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware internet drivers ed certificate of completion?
It depends on your selected method of shipping at registration. You can choose TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Delaware certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Delaware traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Delaware traffic school course on a Friday, we offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
I’m really in a hurry to pay. Is the website secure for an internet check payment?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. In addition to internet check payments, we also offer other payment methods for our Delaware internet driver education course, including credit card and check.
- What’s the out-of-pocket cost for taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware internet drivers ed course?
The standard price for taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers education course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- Can I take a Delaware online driver education course that TeenDrivingCourse.com offers if I am only 15 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Delaware) to make sure that you are eligible to take Delaware driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- If I take the Delaware internet drivers ed course and do not pass the Delaware final exam, can I take the final exam over?
Yes! Once you finish the Delaware drivers ed internet course, you must take the Delaware final exam. If you don’t pass the Delaware test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
If I pass the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers education course, do my parents automatically qualify for a discount on their Delaware auto insurance?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Delaware drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Delaware to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Delaware online drivers education course.
- Can I access the Delaware online driver education course from a different computer than the one I registered on?
Yes, you can do that. You’re free to access the Delaware online drivers ed course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that you can use. For example, you can take part of the Delaware online learners permit course at work and another part of the Delaware online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
- How flexible is the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware internet drivers ed course, and can I take any breaks?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers ed course is very flexible! You may choose to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers ed course all at one time, or you can take frequent breaks. Either way, TeenDrivingCourse.com is easy, fun and — most importantly — convenient!
- How many days do I need to wait for my Delaware online drivers education certificate of completion?
How quickly you get your Delaware online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express. Depending upon how quickly you need your Delaware certificate, you receive it in as little as 24 hours.
- What is the total amount of time it will take me to finish the Delaware online drivers education course?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Delaware online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
- Is there a way I can get my money back if I haven’t finished the Delaware online drivers ed course?
If your Delaware certificate of completion for the Delaware online driver education course has not been shipped, then you may request a refund. Unlike our competitors, who deny customers the ability to request a refund after a certain point in the Delaware learners permit course, TeenDrivingCourse.com allows you to request a refund for the Delaware online driver education course at any point, as long as your Delaware certificate of completion has not been shipped.
- Does TeenDrivingCourse.com offer any alternatives to reading large amounts of text while taking the Delaware online driver education course for people like me who have difficulty reading large amounts of text?
For those who struggle with reading large amounts of text, the “Read Along” option offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com should prove extremely helpful. It works by reading the material aloud while you follow along with online text. You can order this feature when you register for the Delaware online learners permit course.
- Where can I find out whether the Delaware TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers ed course is a state-approved program?
The Delaware Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- Can you please tell me what Delaware driver education documents I need in order to learn to drive a car?
In order to be able to learn to drive in most states, you must be able to present a certificate of completion showing you have successfully completed a DMV-approved driver education online course. However, this is a general rule and the rules may be different in Delaware. We recommend that you contact a Delaware driver’s license center in your area to find out precisely what paperwork they will need from you when you go down to take your Delaware learner’s permit test.
- Is it required that I receive a passing grade on the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online drivers ed course quizzes?
No, the Delaware online drivers ed course quizzes are designed to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware internet drivers ed course final exam. If you do not pass a Delaware online drivers ed course quiz, you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Delaware internet drivers ed course chapter.
- What makes the online Delaware driver education course unique? Why shouldn’t I just take the Delaware driver education course in a classroom?
What makes the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online driver education course unique is the freedom that it gives you compared to a classroom course. Instead of sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher, you can learn what you want, where you want, and how you want! Even if your state where does not allow online driver education, the Delaware driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will enhance the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will I need to prove that I am who I say I am while taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Delaware online driver’s ed course?
Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.