THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Georgia!
- Online Driver Ed approved by GA DMV
- Qualify for your Georgia Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
Georgia Online Driver Education and Georgia Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Georgia learner’s permit or first Georgia driver license. Georgia has a “graduated driver license program()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/index.aspx for Georgia drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Georgia driving license goes as smoothly as possible. The amount of information isn’t overwhelming, but there are a few pitfalls you’ll want to avoid. That’s where this short guide comes in.
Georgia Instructional Permit or Georgia Learner Permit
You can finally apply for a Georgia instructional permit, otherwise known as a Georgia learner’s permit, once you turn 15. In order to apply for your Georgia learner’s permit, you’ll need to make an appointment (walk-in only at any customer service center) and then bring the following:
- A consent form signed by a parent or guardian
- Any out-of-state license
- The necessary “identification()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/DLdata.aspx?con=1740477406&ty=dl
- And don’t forget, “proof of residential address()”:http://www.flhsmv.gov/ddl/address.html
- Proof of social security card
- The $10 permit fee
- And finally, a Georgia DDS “Certificate of attendance()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/DLdata.aspx?con=1740477406&ty=dl
At the DMV, you’ll present all of these materials and then take a few tests. Two of these will test your knowledge of traffic laws and road signs, respectively. The third will be a vision test.
Make sense? If you manage to get through all of this, then congratulations! You just earned your Georgia learner permit, which is valid for 24 months. However, you may only drive with a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age in the front passenger seat. But, after you’ve had your Georgia learner’s permit for one year, you’re ready to graduate to a Georgia intermediate license!
Your First Georgia Driver’s License
In order to apply for your first Georgia driver’s license (class D), you must be 16, and you’ll need to make sure you follow a number of state requirements:
- A Georgia learner’s license held for one year and one day (surrendered at the time of testing)
- You’ll need to schedule the dreaded road test by calling 678-413-8400
- Bring your social security card
- A signed affidavit that you’ve completed 40 hours of driving experience (which must include at least 6 hours of night driving)
- Proof of a completed Georgia approved driver education course
- Though you’ll receive an electronic certificate, bring a paper copy to your road test
- If you took a Georgia approved online driver education course, you’ll also need your parent/guardian to complete the “Parent Teen Driving Guide()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/docs/forms/40Hour_ParentTeen_DrivingGuide.pdf
- Don’t forget to bring your “Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program card()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/adap/
- A license fee of $10
- And finally, a Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance notarized from your “school()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/DLdata.aspx?con=1745986181&ty=dl
At the Georgia DMV, you’ll present your Georgia learner’s license and the required materials. Make sure your parent or guardian is accompanying you! Then you’ll take the following tests:
- Vision test, in which you must have 20/40 vision (with or without glasses)
- The dreaded road test! But if you’ve gotten plenty of driving practice and studied your Georgia driving manual thoroughly, it should be a piece of cake—right?
Don’t forget that the vehicle you use for your Georgia road test must be properly insured, and car registration must be presented. If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your first Georgia driver license!
Restrictions and Penalties
As you surely know, driving is a privilege, not a right. There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Georgia learner’s license or Georgia driver’s license.
Georgia Learner’s Permit Restrictions:
- You must always be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 and in the front passenger seat.
Georgia Intermediate License Restrictions:
- For the first 6 months, you can’t carry any passengers other than family
- After 6 months has passed, you can carry one non-family passenger under the age of 21
- No driving between 12Am and 6AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat
- After 1 year, you can drive with up to 3 non-family passengers under the age of 21
This may sound like a lot, but cheer up: when you turn 18, all of these restrictions are removed and you will receive your Class C Georgia driver’s license, provided you haven’t had any major traffic violations in the last year. Congratulations!
Georgia Auto Insurance Georgia Financial Responsibility Laws
Traffic accidents are an unhappy fact of life for young and experienced drivers alike. Thus, any vehicle registered in Georgia must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Georgia mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. If you are involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Georgia learner’s permit or Georgia intermediate license will be suspended.
Georgia Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
An intoxicated or distracted driver is a dangerous one. As a new Georgia driver, it’s crucial that you learn the Georgia drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Upon your first conviction of a Georgia DUI (with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater), you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence from 10 days to 1 year
- $500 to $1000 fine
- Your Georgia license will be suspended up to 1 year
- 100 hour of community service
- A license reinstatement fee of $210
And of course, further Georgia DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Georgia license suspension or even Georgia license revocation.You’ve probably heard this your entire life, but it still applies: DON’T DRIVE DRUNK!
Currently, there is no law banning cell phone use in Georgia.That doesn’t mean, however, that it’s a good idea to constantly use your cell phone while driving. Exercise proper judgment!
Georgia Online Driver Education
If you are 16-18 and would like to opt out of the road test, you may do so upon completion of a Georgia “approved driver education course()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/DTschools.aspx. The Georgia DMV has a comprehensive list of the many Georgia approved driver education courses.
- Will I be able to pay by check for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers education course?
Yes, you may pay by online check or you may mail in a check for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers education course.
- Can I select a special method of shipping for my TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers ed certificate of completion?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Georgia certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. When you register for the online defensive driving course you will be asked to select your certificate of completion. If you select regular US Mail, your online Georgia traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Georgia traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- I want to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers ed course. Do you have a secure website for either an online check or a credit card payment?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We offer several payment methods for our Georgia internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
- Can I get any discount price for taking the Georgia online drivers education course?
Yes. Although the cost of TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Georgia online drivers ed course for new drivers is $18.95, a discount may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- May I take the Georgia internet drivers ed course if I am almost 16 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Georgia) to make sure that you are eligible to take Georgia driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- If I sign up for your Georgia internet drivers ed course, do I need to take the whole Georgia online drivers ed course right away?
No. You can start-and-stop the Georgia drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule! Once you finish the Georgia drivers ed internet course, you must take a Georgia final exam. If you don’t pass the Georgia test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- I am going to take TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Georgia internet driver education course. After I’m done, will my parents qualify for the Georgia insurance discount?
In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to families with teens who take a Georgia internet drivers ed course. If you are not sure if your Georgia insurance provider offers discounts for Georgia teen drivers, then your parents should ask before you enroll in this Georgia online drivers ed course.
- Can I access the Georgia online driver education course from a different computer than the one I registered on?
Yes, you can do that. You’re free to access the Georgia online drivers ed course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that you can use. For example, you can take part of the Georgia online learners permit course at work and another part of the Georgia online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
- I will need frequent breaks within the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers ed course. Will I be able to start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia internet drivers ed course?
You may take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia internet drivers ed course in more than one sitting. If you stop during one part of the course the computer will track where you left off, and then you will be able to pick up your Georgia online drivers ed course exactly where you left off.
- If I complete your Georgia online drivers ed course, how quickly can get my Georgia certificate of completion for the online course?
We recommend that you select a preferred shipping method at registration for the Georgia online drivers ed course. We do offer expedited shipping through Federal Express, and you can receive your Georgia certificate in as little as 24 hours.
- How many classroom hours can I really expect to receive once I start the Georgia online driver education course?
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Georgia online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
- How long do you allow requests for refunds for your Georgia online driver education course?
TeenDrivingCourse.com allows requests for refunds at any time prior to your Georgia certificate of completion being shipped. This policy sets us apart from our competitors, who will not grant a refund request after a certain point in the Georgia online learners permit course.
- I worry about having trouble reading the large amounts of text in the Georgia online driver education course. Does TeenDrivingCourse.com offer any options that may help me?
Yes we do. We offer our special “Read Along” feature, which reads the material aloud while you follow along with the Georgia online driver education class text.
- How can I be sure that the Georgia online drivers ed course is approved in my state?
The Georgia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- What Georgia driver education paperwork should I hold onto so that I can learn to drive a car?
Once you’re ready to start learning to drive you will need to be able to present a Georgia driver education certificate of completion to the local Georgia DMV office when you go to take your Georgia learner’s permit exam. To find out what other documents you are required to bring, please contact the Georgia DMV or visit their website.
- Will I be able to pass the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online drivers ed course if I do not answer all the questions correctly on the Georgia internet drivers ed course quizzes?
You do not need to be concerned if you do not answer all questions correctly on the Georgia online drivers ed course quizzes. The Georgia online drivers ed course quizzes are meant to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Georgia online driver education course final exam, and they do not count toward your final grade.
- My older brother took the Georgia driver education course in a classroom setting. What are the advantages of taking the Georgia driver education course online? What advantages are there to taking the Georgia drivers ed course online instead of a classroom?
Here’s the difference: with Georgia online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you’re not stuck sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. TeenDrivingCourse.com gives you the advantage of flexibility, allowing you to learn how you want, where you want and when you want! If online driver education is not approved by your state, then you may be required to attend a Georgia driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Georgia driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com makes an excellent supplementary learning tool that will further enhance the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will you need me to show that I am who I claim to be while I’m taking the Georgia online drivers ed course?
Only if your state requires us to. If your state requires us to verify your identity for the online drivers ed course (not every state does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course. Some states do this to make sure that each student is taking a state online driver education course without the help of anyone else.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.