THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Hawaii!
- Online Driver Ed approved by HI DMV
- Qualify for your Hawaii Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
What You Need to Know About Hawaii Licensing Procedures
So, you’re now ready to begin the adventure of applying for your Hawaii learner’s permit or first Hawaii driver license. Hawaii has a a three-stage graduated licensing program for drivers under the age of 18. The program allows beginning drivers to develop their driving skills over time as they gain experience and maturity. There are a several things you’ll want to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Hawaii driving license is as stress-free a process as possible. So let’s get started.
Hawaii Instructional Permit or Hawaii Learner Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you will finally be able to acquire a Hawaii instructional permit, otherwise known as an Hawaii learner’s permit. A Hawaii instructional permit is good for one year and can be renewed once. You’ll need to have the following when you go to apply for your Hawaii learner’s permit:
- A consent form signed by a parent or guardian
- Proper identification
- Original birth certificate and social security card
- And don’t forget, proof of residential address
- The $5 instructional permit fee
Got all that? Then head to your local Department of Transportation office, apply, and take the required tests. If you survived, then congratulate yourself—you just earned your Hawaii learner’s permit. But don’t forget that you must carry your Hawaii learner’s license at all times and be accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21, sitting in the front passenger seat.
The Hawaii Provisional Driver’s License or Hawaii Intermediate License
After you’ve had your Hawaii learner’s permit for 6 months, you’ll be able to apply for an Hawaii intermediate license. In order to apply for your first Hawaii provisional driver license, you’ll need the following:
- Complete a “30 hour classroom course()”:http://www.state.hi.us/dot/publicaffairs/drivered/findinstructor.htm with either
- Six hours of behind-the-wheel trainer with a DOT-certified instructor or
- DOT-certificate simulator driver education course and two hours of behind-the-wheel training with a DOT-certified instructor.
- A valid Hawaii learner’s license
- No traffic violations within the past six months
At the Hawaii Department of Transportation, you’ll present your Hawaii learner’s license and the required materials. Then comes the most dreaded part: the road test! If you survive, then congratulate yourself once again: you’ve just earned your Hawaii provisional driver license! Once you turn 17 and have held your Hawaii provisional license for 6 months without any traffic violations, you can then be issued a Hawaii full driver’s license.
Hawaii Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Hawaii learner’s permit restrictions:
- You can only drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age in the front passenger seat
- All occupants must wear seat belts
- No driving between 11PM and 5PM unless a parent or guardian is seated next to you
Hawaii Intermediate License Restrictions:
- Always have your Hawaii provisional license on hand
- All occupants must wear seat belts
- You must not have more than one person below the age of 18 unless a parent or guardian is also in the car
- No driving between 11PM and 5AM unless: (1) your parent or guardian is with you, (2) you’re driving from your job (you must have your employer’s information and job hour verification on hand), or (3) you’re traveling from a school activity (and have verifiable information on hand)
For your first violation of the above requirements, your Hawaii license will be suspended for 3 months. All subsequent violations will result in 6 month revocation. It may seem like a pain, but it’s worth it to obey the restrictions. As soon as you turn 18, all of these restrictions are removed!
Hawaii Auto Insurance Hawaii Financial Responsibility Laws
It’s sad to say, but traffic accidents—minor and major—can happen to even the most experienced drivers. For this reason, any vehicle registered in Hawaii must be covered by liability insurance. If you are caught driving without Hawaii mandatory liability insurance, you could be fined. And, if you’re involved in an accident and cannot provide proof of insurance, your Hawaii learner’s permit or Hawaii provisional license will be suspended.
The minimum coverage is:
$10,000 for personal injury
$20,000 per person
$40,000 for property damage.
Hawaii Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Hawaii driver, it’s important for you to learn about Hawaii drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Cell phone and text messaging. Currently, in Hawaii you must use a hands-free device if driving while using a cell phone. The maximum fine for violating this law is $150. If you’re like most young people, chances are you’re pretty attached to your cell phone, so please take this law seriously!
Drunk driving. Upon your first conviction of an Hawaii DUI (with a blood alcohol level of 0.08), you will face the following penalties:
- Your Hawaii license will be suspended for 90 days
- $150 to $1000 fine
- Mandatory substance abuse or alcohol education program
- 72 hours of community service
- An additional $500 fine if a child under 15 was in your vehicle
- Jail sentence of 48 hours to 5 days
And of course, further Hawaii DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Hawaii license suspension or even Hawaii license revocation.
Hawaii Online Driver Education
When applying for an Hawaii provisional license you must take an Hawaii “approved driver education course()”:http://www.state.hi.us/dot/publicaffairs/drivered/findinstructor.htm. The Hawaii DOT maintains a list of the many Hawaii approved driver education courses.
- May I start the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii internet drivers ed course now, but pay later?
Yes, you may start the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers education course now, and you can select the “pay later” option. However, you will need to pay either by credit card, online check, check, or money order prior to taking the final exam.
- How quickly can I get my TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers education certificate of completion?
TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Hawaii certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. When you register for the Hawaii online defensive driving course, you can select regular US Mail, and your online Hawaii traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express Delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), and if you complete your online Hawaii traffic school course on a Friday we also offer Saturday Federal Express Delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- If I want to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers ed course, how can I be sure that the website is secure for a credit card payment?
You can be assured that TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several other payment methods for our Hawaii online drivers education course, including check and online check.
- I’d like to take TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Hawaii internet drivers ed course, but what is the cost?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- I want to take the Hawaii TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course. Can you tell me if I am old enough to do so?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Hawaii) to make sure that you are eligible to take Hawaii driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Hawaii Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- I want to take a Hawaii internet drivers ed course, but if I do not pass the Hawaii final exam, can I take it again?
Yes! Once you finish the Hawaii drivers ed internet course, you must take a Hawaii final exam. If you don’t pass the Hawaii test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- Is it possible for my parents to receive an insurance discount on their Hawaii policy if I pass TeenDrivingCourse.com’s online new drivers’ course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Hawaii drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Hawaii to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Hawaii online drivers education course.
- It would be a big help if I could take the Hawaii online drivers ed course from more than one computer. Can I do that?
Yes, you can do that. There is no limit to the number of computers you’re allowed to use for taking the Hawaii online learners permit course. For example, you can take part of the Hawaii online driver education course at work and another part of the Hawaii online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you! All that’s needed is a computer with internet access.
- Are there any restrictions regarding taking breaks in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii internet drivers ed course?
No. You may start and stop your TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers education course as often as necessary. TeenDrivingCourse.com is easy, fun and — most importantly — convenient!
- Can I receive the Hawaii certificate within 3 business days of completing your Hawaii internet drivers ed course?
It is possible. How quickly you get your Hawaii online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express.
- Will I have to spend the entire 30 hours taking the Hawaii online driver education course?
You might not have to spend the full 30 hours taking the Hawaii online drivers ed course if you reside in a state that does not require timers. Otherwise, you can expect to spend about 30 hours taking the Hawaii online driver education course.
- Can I get a refund if I don’t complete my Hawaii online drivers ed course?
Yes you can! TeenDrivingCourse.com allows you to request a refund anytime you see fit, as long as it’s before your certificate of completion for the Hawaii online drivers ed course has been shipped. At that point you may no longer request a refund.
- What if I have trouble reading large amounts of text? Does the Hawaii driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com have any options that will help me?
Yes. Once you begin the Hawaii driver education online course, we will give you the option of ordering our “Read Along” feature which reads the material aloud as you follow along with the Hawaii online drivers ed class text.
- Can I check with the Hawaii drivers license office to find out if your Hawaii online drivers ed course is state approved?
Yes, in fact we recommend that you do so. Although TeenDrivingCourse.com meets the minimum driver education requirements in some states, there are other states in which TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- Can you please tell me what Hawaii driver education documents I need in order to learn to drive a car?
In order to be able to learn to drive in most states, you must be able to present a certificate of completion showing you have successfully completed a DMV-approved driver education online course. However, this is a general rule and the rules may be different in Hawaii. We recommend that you contact a Hawaii driver’s license center in your area to find out precisely what paperwork they will need from you when you go down to take your Hawaii learner’s permit test.
- Will I be able to review each section of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii internet drivers ed course while I am taking the Hawaii online drivers ed course quiz?
You will not have access to any of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Hawaii online drivers ed course materials during each Hawaii online drivers ed course quiz, but if you fail the Hawaii online drivers ed course quiz you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Hawaii online drivers ed course chapter.
- Will taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com online Hawaii driver education course be less tedious for me than a classroom Hawaii driver education course?
For sure! If you value learning what you want, where you want, how you want—instead of spending hours sitting in a classroom—the TeenDrivingCourse.com online Hawaii driver education course is just what you need. Even in states that do not allow online driver education, our Hawaii online driver ed course can still help you by reinforcing the things you learn in the classroom.
- Will I be expected to submit proof of ID as I’m taking the Hawaii online driver education course?
Only if you live in a state that requires it. If TeenDrivingCourse.com needs to verify your ID, it will probably take the form of personal questions we ask you during the registration process and at different points during the Hawaii online drivers ed course. Most states do not require ID verification, however, and we’ll inform you if yours does.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.