THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Kentucky!
- Online Driver Ed approved by KY DMV
- Qualify for your Kentucky Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
Your Guide to Kentucky Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Kentucky learner’s permit or first Kentucky driver’s license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn’t have to be if you have the right information. The first thing you need to know is that Kentucky has a “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/ that is specially geared toward younger drivers like yourself. The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges.
Each stage of the process has its own guidelines, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Kentucky driving license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
Kentucky Instructional Permit or Kentucky Learner’s Permit
You can apply for a Kentucky learner’s permit once you turn 16. You’ll have to pass a Kentucky permit test at your local Circuit Court Clerk’s office. If you manage to survive that, then congratulations! You just earned your Kentucky learner’s permit.
You’ll need to make an appointment at the local Circuit Court Clerk’s office and bring the following documents:
- Birth certificate
- Proof of residence
- Also, your parent/guardian must sign a financial responsibility waiver (if under 18)
- A school compliance verification form (if under 18)
- Social security card
Don’t forget: with your Kentucky learner’s permit, you can only practice driving with another licensed driver over 21. After you’ve had your Kentucky learner’s permit for 180 days, you’ll be ready to apply for your Kentucky intermediate driver’s license.
Your First Kentucky Driver’s License
In order to “graduate” to your Kentucky intermediate driver’s license, you’ll need to make sure you follow a few “Kentucky State requirements()”:http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/Step1PassAfter.htm:
- Make sure you’ve had your Kentucky learner’s permit for at least 180 days
- Complete at least 60 hours of practice time
- 10 hours must be at night
- You’ll have to fill out a Practice Driving Log and Verification Form
- If you’re under 18, you’ll have to complete either a Graduate License Course (4 hours, free), High School Drivers Education Course, or Private Driver Training course
If you have satisfied these conditions, head back to your local Circuit Court Clerk’s office where you’ll have to pass the hated road exam. Survive? Then congratulations again. You’ve just earned your Kentucky intermediate driver license!
Kentucky Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Although you’ve come a long way since you started this process, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions until you’ve had your Kentucky intermediate driver’s license for another 180 days.
- You must hold your Kentucky intermediate driver’s license for 180 days before becoming eligible to receive an unrestricted license
- Make sure to abide by the Kentucky zero tolerance rule, (which is defined as a Blood Alcohol Concentration of .02)
- You can only drive with 1 unrelated person under 20
- If you accumulate more than 6 points on your Kentucky driver’s license, it will be suspended
- You cannot drive between 12AM and 6AM unless you have good cause (emergencies, school or work related activities)
If you’ve driven without incident for 180 days, then give yourself a big pat on the back. You can now apply for your Indiana unrestricted license!
Kentucky Auto Insurance Kentucky Financial Responsibility Laws
Think you’re ready to drive once you receive your Kentucky drivers license? Not so fast! Any vehicle registered in Kentucky must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury
$50,000 per accident for bodily injury
$10,000 for property damage, and $50,000 for under insured motorists.
Unfortunately, auto accidents can happen to even the most seasoned drivers. If you are caught driving without Kentucky mandatory liability insurance, your Kentucky learner’s permit or Kentucky restricted driver license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Kentucky Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Kentucky driver, your safety comes before anything else. Thus, it’s vitally important that you know the Kentucky drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. First of all, Kentucky has a zero tolerance law, so if you’re under 21 and are caught with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02, you’ll face fines as well as Kentucky driver’s license suspension.
Upon your first conviction of a Kentucky DUI (0.08), you’ll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence of 2-30 days
- Kentucky license suspension 30-120 days
- Alcohol or Drug Treatment Program for 90 days
- $200-$500 fine
- Community service of 48 hours to 30 days
Clearly, driving while drunk—or even under the influence—is not a habit you wish to develop. And of course, further Kentucky DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Kentucky license suspension or even Kentucky license revocation.
Currently, Kentucky prohibits teen drivers who have a Kentucky learner’s permit or Kentucky intermediate license from driving while using a cell phone. Even if you have a full license, it’s still smart to keep cell phone use while driving to a minimum!
Kentucky Online Driver Education
You can find more information about approved Kentucky online driver education courses “here()”:http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/DriverEd.htm.
- Do you need payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online drivers ed course when I sign up, and what methods of payment do you accept?
No, you do not need to pay before taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online drivers ed course. You may select the “pay later” option, but you must pay by credit card, online check, check, or money order prior to taking the final exam.
- Can I select a Federal Express shipment method for receiving the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online drivers ed certificate of completion?
Yes! When you register for the online defensive driving course you will be asked to select your Kentucky certificate of completion. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Kentucky traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- If I sign up for the Kentucky internet drivers ed course, is my payment secure on the website?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several payment methods for our Kentucky internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
- How much money will it cost me to take the Kentucky internet drivers education course?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- Can I take the Kentucky TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course if I am 14 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Kentucky) to make sure that you are eligible to take Kentucky driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- Is the Kentucky online drivers ed course very fast-paced, or can I work at my own pace?
Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Kentucky learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Kentucky drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule! Once you finish the Kentucky drivers ed internet course, you must take a Kentucky final exam. If you don’t pass the Kentucky test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- How can I find out if my parents would receive any Kentucky insurance discount if I pass the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online new drivers’ course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Kentucky drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Kentucky to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Kentucky online drivers education course.
- It would be a big help if I could take the Kentucky online drivers ed course from more than one computer. Can I do that?
Yes, you can do that. There is no limit to the number of computers you’re allowed to use for taking the Kentucky online learners permit course. For example, you can take part of the Kentucky online driver education course at work and another part of the Kentucky online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you! All that’s needed is a computer with internet access.
- It is not possible for me to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky internet drivers ed course in one sitting. Do you allow interval breaks?
Definitely. You may log on and off as often as needed. The TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky internet drivers ed course is — most importantly – convenient to you!
- I am completing the Kentucky online drivers education course. Do you have any type of express mail shipping for my Kentucky certificate of completion?
Yes, we do! We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Kentucky certificate in as little as 24 hours.
How many hours of instruction does the Kentucky online driver education course equal?
The total amount of time you will spend taking the Kentucky online driver education course will equal about 30 hours of classroom instruction time. There’s a chance you won’t have to spend the full 30 hours taking the Kentucky online drivers ed course if you live in a state that does not require timers.
- Can I get a refund on my Kentucky online drivers ed course if I do not complete it?
Yes. Unlike our competitors, who do not allow you to request a refund after a certain point in the Kentucky drivers ed course, TeenDrivingCourse.com allows you to request a refund for the Kentucky online driver education course at any point during the Kentucky online drivers ed course, before your Kentucky certificate of completion is shipped. Once your certificate of completion has been shipped, you may not request a refund.
- I often struggle to read large amounts of online text. What options does the Kentucky online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com offer that may help?
The “Read Along” option offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com is designed to help those who struggle with reading large amounts of text. It reads the material aloud while you follow along with online text. You can order this feature when you register for the Kentucky online learners permit course.
- Does the Kentucky Department of Education and Kentucky Department of Motor Vehicles know if your Kentucky internet drivers education course is approved by the state?
Yes, the Kentucky DMV will be able to tell you if TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s minimum driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com can be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- What documents should I take with me to my Kentucky learners permit test?
Generally, states require you to provide at least a certificate of completion showing that you’ve passed a state-approved driver education online or classroom course. However, Kentucky may require you to provide additional paperwork such as a birth certificate, social security number, proof of residency, parental consent forms, etc.. Therefore, we recommend that you contact the Kentucky DMV (or visit its website) to learn exactly what documents you are required to have prior to heading down to your local driver’s license office to take your Kentucky learner’s permit test.
- Is it required that I receive a passing grade on the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky online drivers ed course quizzes?
No, the Kentucky online drivers ed course quizzes are designed to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Kentucky internet drivers ed course final exam. If you do not pass a Kentucky online drivers ed course quiz, you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Kentucky internet drivers ed course chapter.
- What do I get by taking the Kentucky driver education course online that I wouldn’t get by taking the same course in a classroom?
What you would get is the advantage of flexibility, allowing you to learn how you want, where you want and you they want! With Kentucky online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you’re not stuck sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. If online driver education is not approved by your state, then you may be required to attend a Kentucky driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Kentucky driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
- At some point will I be expected to provide proof of identity while taking the Kentucky online driver’s ed course?
Only if your state requires us to. If your state requires us to verify your identity for the online drivers ed course (not every state does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course. Some states do this to make sure that each student is taking a state online driver education course without the help of anyone else.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.