THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Minnesota!
- Online Driver Ed approved by MN DMV
- Qualify for your Minnesota Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
Minnesota Online Driver Education and Minnesota Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Minnesota Learner’s Permit or first Minnesota driver’s license. Minnesota has a Graduated Driver License Program for Minnesota teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Minnesota driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
Minnesota Instructional Permit and Minnesota Learner’s Permit
The minimum age to apply for a Minnesota Instruction Permit is 15. You’ll need to make an appointment at your local Minnesota Driver Vehicle Service (DVS) office after you complete the following:
Complete 30 hours of Minnesota approved driver education classroom instruction
Be enrolled in behind-the-wheel instruction
Be at least 15
Application with parent/legal guardian signature
Certificate of completion for driver education
The required fee
Bring these materials to your local Minnesota DVS. Then you’ll have to pass the required vision and written tests. If you survived, then congratulations! You just earned your Minnesota Instruction Permit, which is valid for 2 years.
Remember that with your Minnesota Learner’s Permit, you can only practice driving with your parent, guardian, or another licensed driver who is 21. Also, Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone while driving. Every passenger in your car must have their seatbelt fastened. After you’ve had your Minnesota Learner’s Permit for 6 months, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Minnesota Graduated License Program.
The Minnesota Provisional License and Minnesota Full License
In order to apply for your Minnesota provisional driver’s license, you’ll need to make sure you follow a few Minnesota State requirements before heading down to your local Minnesota DVS:
Be at least 16 and must have held your Minnesota Learner’s Permit for at least 6 months without incident
Driver education completion certificate
30 hours of supervised driving
At least 10 hours must be at night
If you’ve completed the following requirements, head on down to your local Minnesota DVS, where you’ll pay the required fee and submit your Minnesota Provisional License application. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded road test! If you pass, then congratulations! You’ve just earned your Minnesota Intermediate driver license! However, you’ll still have to drive with a few restrictions for the time being. Your Minnesota Provisional License is valid for 2 years.
Once you’ve held your Minnesota Intermediate Driver’s license for 12 months, you may apply for the Minnesota Full License. One more time, head on down to your local Minnesota DVS office, submit the application and required fee ($24).
Minnesota Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
There are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Minnesota provisional driver’s license:
All passengers must wear seat belts
No using a cell phone while driving (with or without a hands-free device)
With your Minnesota full license, you must abide by the following restrictions for the first 6 months:
No driving between the hours of 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a licensed driver 25 or older
That is, unless you’re driving to/from your job, a school event that did not offer transportation, or for an emergency
Only one passenger under the age of 20 is permitted
For the following 6 months, you must follow the following restrictions:
Only 3 passengers under 20 allowed in your vehicle
The exception is if your parent/guardian is also in the vehicle
Minnesota Auto Insurance Minnesota Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your Minnesota drivers license, you’re ready to drive—or are you? Any vehicle registered in Minnesota must be covered by Personal Injury Protection insurance (PIP) as well as liability insurance.
The minimum coverage PIP coverage is:
$40,000 per person for bodily injury (PIP)
$20,000 for hospital and medical expenses (PIP)
$20,000 for non-medical expenses (PIP)
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
$30,000 for injury of one person
$60,000 for injury of two or more people
$10,000 for property damage
The minimum uninsured/underinsured coverage is:
$25,000 for injury to one person
$50,000 for injury to two or more people
$25,000 for injuries to one person
$50,000 for injuries to two or more people
If you are found to be driving without Minnesota mandatory liability insurance, your Minnesota Learner’s Permit or Minnesota Intermediate license could be suspended and you could be fined.
Minnesota Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Minnesota driver, it’s important for you to learn the Minnesota drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Minnesota’s “Not A Drop” law states that you will lose your Minnesota Instruction Permit or Minnesota Intermediate License if a police officer observes you driving without full control of your vehicle and will suspend your license from 30 to 180 days.
Upon your first conviction of a Minnesota DWI, you’ll face the following penalties:
Jail sentence up to 90 days
License suspension of 180 days to 1 year
License Reinstatement fee of $250-430 in addition to an application fee of $24
Possible Ignition Lock device installation
And of course, further Minnesota DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Minnesota license suspension or even Minnesota license revocation.
Currently, Minnesota teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, except to call 911 in an emergency. You also many not compose, read, or send text messages while driving.
Minnesota Online Driver Education
Minnesota teen drivers are required to enroll in a driver education program. For information about approved Minnesota online driver education courses, you can find more information “here()”:http://www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs/DLTraining/DRIVEREDU/DriverEduPub.htm.
Minnesota Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best method of payment for TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Minnesota online drivers ed course?
You may choose to pay with either credit card, check, online check, or money order for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota internet drivers ed course. Or, you can select the “pay later” option, but payment must be received prior to taking the final examination.
After I complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota online drivers ed course, when can I expect to receive my Minnesota online drivers ed certificate of completion?
It depends on whether you select regular US Mail or the Federal Express option when you register for the Minnesota online defensive driving course. TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Minnesota certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. When you register for the online defensive driving course you will be asked to select your certificate of completion. If you select regular US Mail, your online Minnesota traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), and if you complete your Minnesota online traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer delivery by or before 12PM on Saturday).
Is TeenDrivingCourse.com’s website secure if I want to either give out a credit card number or pay by check?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We offer payment by either credit card, check or online check, and all of these methods are 100% secure on our website.
How much do I need to pay for your Minnesota internet drivers ed course, and do you have any discounts?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $40.00. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
Can I take the Minnesota TeenDrivingCourse.com internet driver education course if I am 16 years old?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. Please check with the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Minnesota Department of Education, or Minnesota Department of Driver License Services to be sure that you are old enough to take Minnesota driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
I want to take your Minnesota internet drivers ed course. How many times will I be allowed to retake your Minnesota final exam if I don’t pass it the first time?
Once you finish the Minnesota drivers ed internet course, you must take a Minnesota final exam. If you don’t pass the Minnesota test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
When I pass the Minnesota online drivers ed course, will my parents get a Minnesota insurance discount from the Minnesota insurance provider?
In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to families with teens who take a Minnesota online driver education course. If you are not sure if your Minnesota insurance provider offers discounts for Minnesota teen drivers, then your parents should ask before you enroll in this Minnesota internet drivers education course.
Am I free to take the Minnesota drivers ed course from several computers, or does the entire course have to be taken on a single computer?
For your convenience, you’re free to take the Minnesota online driver education course from any computer you want. For example, it’s perfectly okay to take part of the Minnesota online drivers ed course at school and part of the Minnesota Learners permit course from home! Any computer with internet access will work.
I may need to take breaks while taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota internet drivers ed course. Can I start and stop the Minnesota online drivers education course, or do I have to take it all at once?
Yes, you can start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota online drivers education course as often as needed. Simply come back later, log back in, and you can pick up right from where you left off! TeenDrivingCourse.com is easy, fun and — most importantly — convenient!
What is the best way to ensure that I receive my Minnesota certificate within 2 business days of completing your Minnesota online drivers ed course?
How quickly you receive your Minnesota online drivers education certificate depends upon the shipping method that you select at registration. We do offer expedited shipping through Federal Express, and with this service you can receive your Minnesota certificate in as little as 24 hours.
Will the Minnesota online drivers education course take very much time to finish?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Minnesota online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV/DVS office.
Is there any way that TeenDrivingCourse.com will give me my money back for the Minnesota online drivers ed course?
Yes. All you have to do is submit your refund request at any time prior to your Minnesota certificate of completion being shipped. Refund requests for the Minnesota online learners permit course are not allowed after that point. This is a more generous policy than offered by our competitors, who do not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Minnesota internet drivers ed course.
Due to my poor eyesight, I have a hard time reading large amounts of online text. What options does the Minnesota online driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com offer to help me?
If you have trouble reading large amounts of text, we strongly recommend that you order the “Read Along” feature that is specially designed for people in your situation. “Read Along” reads the material aloud while you follow along with the online class text. This feature can be ordering during registration for the Minnesota online learners permit class.
How can I be sure that the Minnesota online drivers ed course is approved in my state?
The Minnesota Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
I plan to take the Minnesota learners permit test. Is there any Minnesota paperwork that I’ll need in order to do that?
In general, you need to have received a certificate of completion for a Minnesota driver’s education class before you can be issued a learner’s permit in Minnesota.
Again, this is a general rule and may not apply in Minnesota, so we suggest you contact your local Minnesota driver’s license office and ask exactly what documentation you will be required to provide when you go to take your Minnesota learner’s permit exam.
Do the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota online drivers ed course quizzes count toward a percentage of my overall score for the course?
No, the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota internet drivers ed course quizzes do not count toward the final exam grade. However, they are meant to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Minnesota online drivers ed course. You will be able to go back and review the previous Minnesota internet drivers ed course chapter if you feel that you need to do so.
My older sister took her Minnesota driver education course in a classroom setting. Will taking driver education over the internet give me advantages that she didn’t have?
Yes it will! With Minnesota online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, there is no need to listen to dull lectures for hours at a time. Our Minnesota online courses allow students the freedom to learn how they want, where they want and when they want! If your state does not approve online driver education, then you may be required to attend a Minnesota driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Minnesota driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com still makes an excellent learning tool by enhancing the things you learn in the classroom.
Is there any ID verification procedure when I take TeenDrivingCourse.com’s new drivers’ course?
Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.