Nebraska Online Driver Education and Nebraska Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Nebraska learner’s permit or first Nebraska driver license. Nebraska has a “graduated driver license program()”:http://www.dds.ga.gov/teens/index.aspx for Nebraska drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Nebraska driving license goes as smoothly as possible. The amount of information isn’t overwhelming, but there are a few pitfalls you’ll want to avoid. That’s where this short guide comes in.
Nebraska Instructional Permit or Nebraska Learner Permit
You can finally apply for a Nebraska instructional permit, otherwise known as a Nebraska School Learner’s Permit (LPE), when you turn 14. This license will allow you to practice driving provided you are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21. The permit lasts 3 months and can be renewed. The only test you’ll need to take is a vision screening.
Once you’ve had your Nebraska School Learner’s Permit for just 2 months, you’ll be eligible to apply for a Nebraska School Permit (SCP), provided you meet the following Nebraska requirements:
- You pass the written exam and driving test given by your driver safety course instructor
- You provide a 50 hour certification form signed by your parent or guardian
- You’ve held your Nebraska LPE in good standing for 2 months
- You’ve completed a Nebraska approved driver safety course (more on this later)
- You provide the necessary personal information
At 15, you can also apply for the Nebraska Learner’s Permit (LPD). However, if you already have a Nebraska School Learner Permit or Nebraska School Permit, you’re exempt from taking the required written exams. The Nebraska Learner’s Permit is valid for 1 year and may be renewed.
Don’t forget: with your Nebraska Learner’s Permit, you can practice driving only with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or a licensed driver who is 21. Be sure to carry your Nebraska Learner’s Permit with you at all times, and insist that all passengers wear seatbelts. After 6 months with your Nebraska Learner’s Permit in good standing (no more than 3 points on your Nebraska driving record), you’ll be ready for the next step in the Nebraska Graduated License Program, the Nebraska Provisional Operator Permit (POP).
The Nebraska Provisional Driver License and Nebraska Full License
In order to apply for your Nebraska Provisional Operator Permit (POP), you’ll need to make sure you’ve satisfied a few “Nebraska State requirements()”:http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/examining/overview.html before heading down to your local Nebraska Driver Service Center:
- Complete a Nebraska approved driver safety course
- Pass the written and driving tests given by your instructor (we hope you’ve been studying your Nebraska driving manual!)
- Hold your Nebraska learner’s permit for at least 6 months without incident
- Provide the 50 hour certification form
- 10 of the 50 driving hours must be at night
If you’ve completed these requirements, hurry down to your local Nebraska Driver Service Center again, where you’ll pay the required fee and submit your Nebraska Provisional License application. The final obstacle, unless you’ve completed a driver safety course, is the dreaded road test! If you pass, then give yourself a pat on the back—you’ve just earned your Nebraska Provisional License!
Nebraska Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
With driving as with everything else, practice makes perfect. Although you may be eager for full driving freedom, there are still a few restrictions you’ll have to live with for a little bit longer:
- Everyone passenger must wear a seatbelt
- During the first 6 months, you may have only one passenger under 19 unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older
- No driving between midnight and 6AM unless for emergencies, your job, or a school-related activity
- You may not use cell phones while driving (this includes personal digital assistants, text messaging, laptop computers and audio/video devices that send/receive messages)
After you turn 18 and have driven with your Nebraska Provisional Operator Permit for at least 12 months (without receiving more than 3 points on your Nebraska license), you’ve reached the finish line: you can now apply for the Nebraska Operator License. Congrats!
Nebraska Auto Insurance Nebraska Financial Responsibility Laws
Think you’re ready to drive now? Not so fast—receiving your Nebraska Learner’s Permit or Nebraska Intermediate driver’s license is only the first step. Any vehicle registered in Nebraska must be covered by “liability insurance()”:http://www.dmv.state.ne.us/dvr/mvreg/insurance.html. In fact, failure to do so can result in the suspension of your Nebraska license should you get caught.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
$25,000 per person for 1 person per accident
$50,000 bodily injury for 2 or more persons per accident
$25,000 for property damage
Nebraska Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Nebraska driver, you’re expected to know the Nebraska drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most states, Nebraska has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Nebraska DUI or Nebraska DWI, you face penalties in addition to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Nebraska DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence 7 days to 60 days
- License suspension up to 6 months
- Alcohol Assessment/Treatment Possible
- Up to $500 fine
And of course, further Nebraska DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, fines, community service and Nebraska license suspension or even Nebraska license revocation.
Nebraska teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving. Needless to say, cell phones can be a distraction at any age, so even those who are allowed to use cell phones are strongly encourage to keep their use to a minimum!
Nebraska Online Driver Education
As we said earlier, Nebraska teen drivers must take a Nebraska-approved driver education course. You can find more information on approved Nebraska online driver education courses on “Nebraska DMV website()”:http://www.dmv.ne.gov/examining/trngtest/pop.html.
- Can I delay payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska internet drivers ed course until after I start the program?
Yes, you can delay payment until you complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers ed course by selecting the “pay later” option, but you must pay prior to taking the final exam.
- How long do I need to wait before I receive the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers ed certificate of completion?
It depends on your selected shipping method for your Nebraska certificate of completion. At registration, TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Nebraska traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have several options! You can select Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Nebraska traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday Federal Express (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- How can I be sure that my personal and payment information is protected over the internet if I take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska internet drivers education course?
TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We offer several payment methods for our Nebraska internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
- How much cash do I need to shell out to pay for TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Nebraska internet drivers education course?
The standard price for taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers education course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- I would like to take the Nebraska TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers education course. What is the required age?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Nebraska) to make sure that you are eligible to take Nebraska driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- I need to take a Nebraska education course as soon as possible. How fast-paced is the Nebraska internet drivers education course that TeenDrivingCourse.com offers?
You can set your own pace! Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Nebraska learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Nebraska drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule! Once you finish the Nebraska drivers ed internet course, you must take a Nebraska final exam. If you don’t pass the Nebraska test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- IMPORTANT: Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), or whichever state agency oversees the licensing of drivers in Nebraska.
- Is it possible for my parents to receive a Nebraska insurance discount if I take the Nebraska online drivers ed course?
It depends. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to families with teens who take a Nebraska online drivers education course. If you are not sure whether your Nebraska insurance provider offers discounts for Nebraska teen drivers, then your parents should ask before you enroll in this Nebraska online drivers ed course.
- Does the entire Nebraska drivers ed course have to be taken on a single computer, or can multiple computers be used?
At TeenDrivingCourse.com we care about your convenience. You’re free to take the Nebraska online driver education course from any computer you want, anywhere you want. If you want to take part of the Nebraska Online driver ed course at school and part of the Nebraska Learners permit course from home, that’s perfectly okay! Any computer with internet access will work.
- Is it mandatory that I complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers ed course all at one time?
No. You may choose to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska internet drivers education course all at once, or you have the option to start and stop the Nebraska internet drivers ed course as often as necessary.
- I am completing the Nebraska online drivers education course. Do you have any type of express mail shipping for my Nebraska certificate of completion?
Yes, we do! We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, so you can receive your Nebraska certificate in as little as 24 hours.
How many hours of instruction does the Nebraska online driver education course equal?
The total amount of time you will spend taking the Nebraska online driver education course will equal about 30 hours of classroom instruction time. There’s a chance you won’t have to spend the full 30 hours taking the Nebraska online drivers ed course if you live in a state that does not require timers.
- I am part of the way through my Nebraska online drivers’ ed course. Is it too late for me to request a refund?
Nope! TeenDrivingCourse.com is unique in the Nebraska online driver education industry because we allow you to request a refund for the Nebraska online driver education course at ANY point during the course, as long as your Nebraska certificate of completion has not been shipped. Once your certificate of completion has been shipped, you may not request a refund.
- Does TeenDrivingCourse.com offer any features that will make it easier to take the Nebraska online driver education course for people like me who have difficulty reading large amounts of text?
For those who have trouble reading large amounts of online text, TeenDrivingCourse.com has made it easier by offering a “Read Along” option. It works by reading the material aloud while you follow along with the online text. Simply order the feature when you register for the Nebraska online drivers ed class.
- What is the easiest way to find out if the Nebraska TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers ed course is approved in Nebraska?
The state agency which oversees the issuance of drivers’ licenses in your state (often the Department of Motor Vehicles [DMV], but varies between states) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
- What Nebraska driver education documents do I need before I can learn to drive a car?
Generally, most states require that you have a certificate of completion for an approved Nebraska driver education course in order to take the Nebraska learners permit test. Again, this is a general rule and may not apply in Nebraska.
- Do you have any specific recommendations when I am taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers ed course quizzes?
It is recommended that you review and study the TeenDrivingCourse.com Nebraska online drivers ed course material, so that you will be fully prepared for a Nebraska internet drivers ed course quiz at the end of each Nebraska online drivers ed course chapter.
- What do I get by taking the Nebraska driver education course online that I wouldn’t get by taking the same course in a classroom?
What you would get is the advantage of flexibility, allowing you to learn how you want, where you want and you they want! With Nebraska online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you’re not stuck sitting in a classroom for hours listening to a teacher. If online driver education is not approved by your state, then you may be required to attend a Nebraska driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Nebraska driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
- What ID verification procedures can I expect while taking the Nebraska online driver’s ed course?
Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.