Tennessee Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Tennessee learner’s permit or first Tennessee driver’s license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn’t have to be if you have the right information. The first thing you need to know is that Tennessee has a “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/driverlicense/license.htm for Tennessee teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Tennessee driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. Our goal is to help you get the most out of this process as possible, so let’s get started!
The Tennessee Learner Permit or Tennessee Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for a Tennessee Learner Permit, otherwise known as a Tennessee Instruction Permit. In order to apply, you need:
- A “Minor/Teenage Affidavit and Cancellation form()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/forms/minor.pdf signed by your parent/guardian
- “Proof of Social Security Number()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/driverlicense/license.htm
- “Proof of U.S. Citizen()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/driverlicense/license.htm or Lawful Permanent Resident Status
- “Proof of Enrollment()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/driverlicense/minor.htm%22%20%5Cl%20%22proof , otherwise known as a Certificate of Compulsory School Attendance Form. This must be signed by a school official and is valid for 30 days
- “Proof of Identity()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/driverlicense/license.htm
Once you’re ready, head on down to your local Tennessee Driver Services Center with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations: you’ve just earned your Tennessee Learner Permit! The permit is valid for 1 year.
Tennessee Instruction Permit Restrictions
Here’s a list of what you can and can’t do with your learner’s permit:
- You can only practice driving with a parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21.
- You may not drive between the hours of 10PM and 6AM.
- You must carry your Tennessee Learner Permit with you at all times.
If you can manage this for 180 days and meet a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Tennessee Graduated License Program, the Tennessee Intermediate License.
The Tennessee Provisional License or Tennessee Intermediate License
You can apply for your Tennessee Restricted Intermediate License once you’ve held your Tennessee Learner Permit for 180 days. You’ll need to make sure you follow these requirements:
- Be at least 16
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice – at least 10 hours must be at night
- Hold a Tennessee Learner Permit for 180 days without incident
- No Tennessee traffic violations that add up to more than 6 points on your Tennessee driving record
- Your parents/guardian, or driving instructor must sign a “verification form()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/forms/gdl50hrcertificate.pdf
Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Tennessee Driver Services Center. Be sure to bring your identification documents, including your Tennessee Learner Permit. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded Tennessee road test! If you pass, then take a deep breath: you’ve just earned your Tennessee Intermediate License!
Tennessee Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You’ve come a long way, but you still have a few months of good behavior to go before you’ve earned your full license. There are a few restrictions concerning your Tennessee Intermediate License:
- No using a cell phone (or hand-held device) while driving
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- No more than 1 passenger (unless a licensed driver 21 or older is with you)
- No driving between 11PM and 6AM unless you’re going to/from your job, a school sanctioned activity (which require written permission), or hunting/fishing 4AM-6AM (requires license)
After you turn 17 and have had your Tennessee Intermediate Restricted License for 1 year, you graduate to a Tennessee Intermediate Unrestricted License, provided you have no more than 6 points on your Tennessee driving record (or less than 2 safety belt violations) and have not been involved in an at-fault traffic accident.
You’re almost at the finish line. Once you turn 18, you may finally apply for your Tennessee Regular Driver License. Freedom!
Tennessee Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
We know you’re eager to get on the road, but here is where you learn about the full responsibilities of possessing a Tennessee drivers license. First of all, any vehicle registered in Tennessee must be covered by by liability insurance. In fact, if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Tennessee mandatory liability insurance, your Tennessee license could be suspended.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
Tennessee Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Tennessee teen driver, it’s also important that you learn the Tennessee drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most states, Tennessee has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Tennessee DUI or Tennessee DWI, you face penalties in addition to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Tennessee DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .08, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Tennessee License Suspension 1 year
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device installation
- Possible Alcohol Safety DUI program
- Possible Community Service
- Jail 48 hours to 11 months
- Fine of $350 to $1,500
And of course, further Tennessee DWI and DUI convictions will result in stiffer penalties including jail time, community service, fines, and Tennessee license suspension or even Tennessee license revocation.
Currently, Tennessee teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, even with hands-free devices. The fine is $100, as well as possible delay in the Tennessee graduated license process. And all Tennessee drivers are prohibited from text messaging while driving. The fine is $50 in addition to court costs.
Seriously, we strongly suggest you keep cell phone use to a minimum. Studies repeatedly show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver!
Tennessee Online Driver Education
Tennessee teen drivers can find more information about approved Tennessee online driver education on the “Tennessee Teen Driver Safety website()”:http://www.state.tn.us/safety/pubsafety/teendriversafety.html.
- What methods of payment do you offer for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee internet driver ed course?
You can make payment by credit card, check, online check, and money order. Any of these methods of payment are acceptable for completing the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course.
- Can I select the shipping method that I need when I register for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course, or do I need to wait until I complete the Tennessee internet drivers education course?
At registration, you can select your shipping method! TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Tennessee certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Tennessee traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Tennessee traffic school course on a Friday, we also offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- I want to take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee internet drivers ed course, but I am concerned about giving out my personal information over the internet. Is the website secure for credit card payments?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several other payment methods for our Tennessee internet driver education course, including check and online check.
- Can you tell me the exact cost of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course for new drivers?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- How old do I have to be to start my Tennessee driver education?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with the Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Tennessee Department of Education, or Tennessee Department of Driver License Services to make sure that you are old enough to take Tennessee driver education.
- I want to take a Tennessee internet drivers ed course, but if I do not pass the Tennessee final exam, can I take it again?
Yes! Once you finish the Tennessee drivers ed internet course, you must take a Tennessee final exam. If you don’t pass the Tennessee test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
- Can I qualify for any Tennessee insurance discount after I pass the Tennessee internet drivers education course?
It depends. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to families with teens who take a Tennessee online drivers ed course. If you are not sure if your Tennessee insurance provider offers discounts for Tennessee teen drivers, then your parents should ask before you enroll in this Tennessee online drivers ed course.
- Can I access the Tennessee online driver education course from a different computer than the one I registered on?
Yes, you can do that. You’re free to access the Tennessee online drivers ed course from any computer(s) with internet access, with no limit to the number of computers that you can use. For example, you can take part of the Tennessee online learners permit course at work and another part of the Tennessee online drivers ed course from home. Whatever works for you!
- Am I allowed some breaks while taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee internet drivers ed course?
Yes. TeenDrivingCourse.com is designed to work around your schedule, and you may take as many breaks as needed during the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course.
- After I finish the Tennessee internet drivers ed course, when can I get my Tennessee certificate of completion?
It depends on the shipping method that you select at registration. Since we offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express, you can receive your Tennessee certificate in as little as 24 hours.
- Will the Tennessee online drivers education course take very much time to finish?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Tennessee online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV/DVS office.
- Will TeenDrivingCourse.com allow me to ask for my money back if I can’t finish the Tennessee online drivers ed course?
Yes! If circumstances make you unable to complete the Tennessee online driver education course, you are always free to request a refund as long as it’s before your Tennessee certificate of completion has been shipped. This is a more generous policy than offered by our competitors, who do not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Tennessee internet drivers ed course.
- What if I have trouble reading large amounts of text? Does the Tennessee driver education course on TeenDrivingCourse.com have any options that will help me?
Yes. Once you begin the Tennessee driver education online course, we will give you the option of ordering our “Read Along” feature which reads the material aloud as you follow along with the Tennessee online drivers ed class text.
- How can I find out if the Tennessee online drivers ed course meets all Tennessee DMV/DVS approved class requirements?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed courses are approved in several states. In those states where the online drivers education course is not approved, it is designed to supplement a state approved course. Please check with the Tennessee Department of Driver License Services, Tennessee Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or the Tennessee Department of Education if you are concerned whether TeenDrivingCourse.com is an approved program in your state.
- What documents should I take with me to my Tennessee learners permit test?
Generally, states require you to provide at least a certificate of completion showing that you’ve passed a state-approved driver education online or classroom course. However, Tennessee may require you to provide additional paperwork such as a birth certificate, social security number, proof of residency, parental consent forms, etc.. Therefore, we recommend that you contact the Tennessee DMV (or visit its website) to learn exactly what documents you are required to have prior to heading down to your local driver’s license office to take your Tennessee learner’s permit test.
- Will I be able to review each section of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee internet drivers ed course while I am taking the Tennessee online drivers ed course quiz?
You will not have access to any of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Tennessee online drivers ed course materials during each Tennessee online drivers ed course quiz, but if you fail the Tennessee online drivers ed course quiz you will be allowed to go back and review the previous Tennessee online drivers ed course chapter.
- My older sister took her Tennessee driver education course in a classroom setting. Will taking driver education over the internet give me advantages that she didn’t have?
Yes it will! With Tennessee online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, there is no need to listen to dull lectures for hours at a time. Our Tennessee online courses allow students the freedom to learn how they want, where they want and when they want! If your state does not approve online driver education, then you may be required to attend a Tennessee driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Tennessee driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com still makes an excellent learning tool by enhancing the things you learn in the classroom.
- Does TeenDrivingCourse.com require any identification to take its online drivers ed course?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do. If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.