Warning: Illegal string offset 'value' in /var/www/teendrivingcourse_com/wp-content/plugins/tdc_landing_pages/frontend/functions/states-functions.php on line 498
- 100% Online Driver’s Ed from GetDefensive.com!
- Satisfies 32 Hour classroom requirements
- Complete by itself or with driving lessons
- Get your permit & license!
Texas Online Driver Education and Texas Licensing Procedures
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Texas Learner’s Permit or first Texas driver’s license. Texas has a Graduated Driver License Program for Texas teen drivers like yourself.
The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges.
We want to help you get the most out of this process, and to help make sure that applying for your first Texas driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So let’s get started.
The Texas Instruction Permit or Texas Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for a Texas Instruction Permit, otherwise known as a Texas Learner’s Permit. This permit is valid until your next birthday plus 1 year. It allows you to practice driving with your parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21 with 1 year of driving experience. In order to apply, you’ll need:
- Completed Texas approved driver safety course (more on this later)
- Proof of current enrollment and high school attendance
- Valid identification
- Proof of Social Security number
Once you’re ready, head on down to the local Texas Driver License Office with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations. You’ve just earned your Texas Instruction Permit! Remember: all passengers must wear seatbelts, and be sure to carry your Texas Instruction Permit with you at all times.
You’ll be ready to apply for the Texas Provisional License once you’ve held your Texas Instruction Permit without incident for 6 months have met a few more requirements,
The Texas Provisional License or Texas Intermediate License
You can apply for your Texas Provisional License once you’ve held your Texas Instruction Permit for 180 days. However, you’ll need to make sure you meet these requirements:
- You’ve held your Texas Instruction Permit for 6 months
- You’ve completed a Texas approved driving training course (both classroom and on-the-road driving training)
Make an appointment and head on down to your local Texas Driver License Office. Be sure to bring your identification documents, including your Texas Instruction Permit. Then your only remaining hurdle is the dreaded Texas road test! If you pass, then congratulate yourself once again: you’ve just earned your Texas Provisional License!
Texas Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
The aim of the Graduated License Program is to give newer drivers the opportunity to safely hone their driving skills before graduating to full driving privileges. Until you have earned your Texas full license, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Texas learner’s license or Texas driver’s license.
For the first 6 months:
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- No driving between midnight and 5AM unless you’re going to/from your job, a school sanctioned activity, or for a medical emergency
- No using a cell phone while driving
- No more than 1 passenger under 21 (unless they’re family!)
After 6 months have passed, the above restrictions will no longer apply.
Once you turn 18, your Texas Provisional license will expire and you then qualify for your regular Texas driver license. From this point on: freedom!
Texas Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Unfortunately, traffic accidents can happen to even the most experienced driver. Despite your confidence in your driving skills, your vehicle must still be covered by Texas liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
In fact, if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Texas mandatory liability insurance, your Texas Learner Permit or Texas Provisional license may be suspended.
Texas Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Texas teen driver, it’s important for you to learn the Texas drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Drunk Driving. Texas takes drunk driving very seriously. Like most states, Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Texas DWI, your Texas Learner Permit or Texas Provisional License will be suspended for 30 days for your first offense, 60 days for a second offense, and 180 days for a third offense.
In general, upon your first conviction of a Texas DWI, you’ll also face the following penalties:
- Jail 72 hours to 180 days
- Fine of up to $2,000
- Fine of up to $10,000 (if a child under 15 is in your vehicle)
- Jail 180 days to 2 years (if a child under 15 is in your vehicle)
- Texas License Suspension 90 days to 365 days
- DWI Surcharge $1,000 per year for 3 years
- DWI Surcharge $2,000 per year for 3 years (if your BAC is .16 or above)
And of course, further Texas DWI and DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Texas license suspension or even Texas license revocation.
Currently, Texas teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving.
That doesn’t mean, however, that constant cell phone use while behind the wheel is a good idea for adults either! Don’t allow anything to distract you from your driving.
Texas Online Driver Education
Texas teen drivers can find more information about approved Texas online driver education on the Texas Department of Public Safety website.
- Does it matter what type of credit card I use to pay for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers education program?
No, you can use any major credit card for payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers ed course.
- How can I be sure that the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers ed certificate of completion arrives on time?
You can choose you preferred method of shipping at registration! TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Texas certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Texas traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or f you complete your online Texas traffic school course on a Friday, we offer Saturday Federal Express (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- Is my personal information secure if I want to pay for the Texas online drivers ed course by credit card?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several other payment methods for our Texas internet driver education course, including check and online check.
- Do you offer any type of discount if I take the Texas internet drivers ed course?
Yes, we do. The standard price for taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers education course or new drivers course is $97.00, however a discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
- Is it possible for me to take the Texas TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers ed course if I am 16 years old?
It is possible. In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. We recommend that you check with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), Texas Department of Education, or Texas Department of Driver License Services to be sure that you are eligible to take Texas driver education.
- If I sign up for the Texas TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers ed course, do I have to start the Texas internet drivers ed course right away and continue it until I complete it?
No. Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Texas learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Texas drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule.
- If I enroll in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Texas online drivers education course for new drivers, will I be rewarded with a discount on my Texas auto insurance policy?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Texas drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Texas to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Texas online drivers education course.
- If I want to take the Texas online driver education course from multiple computers, is that possible?
Yes. Multiple computers can be used to take the Texas online drivers ed course. If necessary, you can take part of the Texas online drivers ed course at school and part of the Texas learners permit course from home. It’s totally up to you!
- Are there any limitations on whether I can start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas internet drivers ed course?
There are no limitations on how often you can start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas internet drivers ed course.
- Can you ship my Texas certificate within 24 hours after completing your Texas internet drivers ed course?
Yes, it is possible. At registration, you can select your preferred method of shipping. We do offer expedited shipping through Federal Express, and you can have your Texas certificate in as little as 24 hours.
How much time can I expect to spend on the Texas online drivers education course?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Texas online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
If I haven’t yet completed the Texas online drivers’ ed course can I ask for a refund?
Yes! If for whatever reason you find that you are unable to complete the Texas online learners permit course, you are always free to request a refund as long as it’s before your Texas certificate of completion has been shipped. This is a more forgiving policy than offered by our competitors, who do not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Texas internet driver education course.
- Reading large amounts of online text has always been a problem for me. Does your Texas online drivers ed course have any options that will assist me?
Yes. All of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers ed courses fully comply with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). The “Read Along” option is available in all of our Texas online driver education courses to ease the burden on those who have difficulty reading large amounts of printed text. It works by reading the Texas online learners permit course material aloud as you follow along with the online text.
How can I find out with absolute certainty if the Texas TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course for new drivers is approved by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles?
The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. We recommend that you contact them directly.
- I have my Texas driver education certificate of completion. What else do I need in order to take the Texas learners permit test?
It depends on the specific rules of Texas. We recommend that you call a Texas DMV office near you to inquire exactly what paperwork you will be required to show when you go to apply for your Texas learner’s permit.
- Do I need to be concerned if I do not answer all the questions correctly on the quizzes in the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online drivers ed course?
No, you do not need to be concerned. If you do not pass a certain Texas online drivers ed course quiz, you will be allowed to go back and review so that you will be better prepared for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Texas online driver education course final exam.
- My older sibling took the Texas driver education in a classroom. What’s the difference between Texas classroom driver education and Texas online driver education?
The difference is simple: with Texas online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you don’t have to sit in a classroom for hours at a time listening to a teacher. TeenDrivingCourse.com allows students the freedom to learn how they want, where they want and when they want! If your state does not approve online driver education, then you may be required to attend a Texas driver ed class. If that’s the case, the Texas driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com makes an excellent supplementary learning tool that will further enhance the things you learn in the classroom.
- What information will be requested for ID verification while I am taking the Texas online drivers ed course?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do. If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.