Maine Licensing Procedures and Maine Online Driver Education
The process of applying for your Maine learner’s permit or first Maine driver’s license can be daunting, but it doesn’t need to be if you have the right information. This short guide will give you all the necessary facts to ensure that you don’t hit any snags while applying for your first Maine driver’s license.
The first thing you need to know is that Maine has a “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://gdl.kytc.ky.gov/ that is specially geared toward younger drivers like yourself. The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges. So let’s get started.
Maine Instructional Permit and Maine Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15, you can apply for a Maine Instruction Permit, provided you’ve completed a Maine-approved driver education course (more on this later). This license allows you to practice driving with another licensed driver who is at least 20 and has held a license for at least 2 years. You should begin by making an appointment at your local Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) and bring the following:
- The completed “application()”:http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/forms/noncomcapp.pdf
- Two forms of identification
- Your $10 fee, payable to the Secretary of State
- Your birth certificate (notarized copies are not acceptable)
- The driver education completion certificate
With these materials in hand, go to your local Maine BMV. You’ll then have to pass a Maine written exam as well as a vision screening. If you survived, a round of applause: you just earned your Maine instruction permit! Your Maine instruction permit is valid for 18 months. After you’ve had your Maine instruction permit for 6 months, you’ll have earned the right to “graduate” to the next step in program.
The Maine Intermediate Driver’s License
Before heading down to your local Maine BMV in order to apply for your Maine intermediate driver’s license, you’ll need to make sure you’ve obeyed a few Maine State requirements.
- Log at least 35 hours of driving
- 5 practice hours must be done at night
- Hold your Maine learner’s permit for at least 6 months in good standing
If you’ve completed the following requirements, head on down to your local Maine BMV where you’ll have to take the dreaded road exam. If you pass, then another round of applause: you’ve just earned your Maine intermediate driver license!
Restrictions and Penalties for Maine Teen Drivers
Although you’ve proven yourself a capable enough driver by this point, you’ll still have to live with a few restrictions until you’ve held your Maine intermediate driver’s license for 180 days in good standing.
- Remember that with your Maine learner’s permit, you can only practice driving with another licensed driver who is at least 20 and has held a license for at least 2 years.
- If you’re a Maine intermediate license holder, you can’t carry passengers who aren’t family members unless one of them is a licensed driver who is at least 20 and has held a driver license in good standing for 2 years
- No driving from 12AM to 5AM
- It’s prohibited to use your cell phone while driving
If you’re able to drive without incident for 180 days, then congratulations! You can now be issued a full Indiana full license, free of the above restrictions.
Maine Auto Insurance And Financial Responsibility Laws
Just getting a Maine full driver’s license is only the first step toward being a responsible driver. You still need to get Maine “liability insurance()”:http://maine.gov/pfr/insurance/consumer/auto.htm. The minimum coverage is:
$50,000 per person for bodily injury
$25,000 for property damage
$2,000 for mandatory coverage of medical payments
$100,000 per accident for bodily injury
This is no joke: your Maine learner’s permit or Maine intermediate driver license could be suspended and you could be fined if you are ever found to be driving without Maine mandatory liability insurance.
Maine Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Maine driver, it’s important for you to learn the Maine drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. After all, your safety and the safety of others is our top priority.
DUI Laws. First of all, Maine has a zero tolerance law, so if you’re under 21 and caught with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02, you’ll face stiff fines and Maine driver’s license suspension, just like any adult with a Blood Alcohol Content of .08. You don’t receive a pass just because you’re a “little tipsy”!
Upon your first conviction of a Maine DUI (0.08), you’ll face the following penalties:
- license suspension of 90 days
- Jail sentence of up to 30 days
And of course, further Maine DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Maine license suspension or even Maine license revocation.The bottom line: don’t get behind the wheel drunk, period.
Cell Phone Use. Currently, Maine prohibits teen drivers who hold a Maine instruction license or intermediate license from using cell phones while driving. Even after you gain a full license, however, we strongly suggest that you keep cell phone use while driving to an absolute minimum!
Maine Online Driver Education
As we said above, you’ll need a certificate of completion from a Maine-approved driver education course in order to apply for your Maine instruction license. For information about approved Maine online driver education courses, go “here()”:http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/dred.html.
- I am interested in signing up for a Maine online teen driver education course. What payment methods do you accept for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine internet drivers ed course?
You may make payment for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine online drivers education course with credit card, check, online check, and money order. Or, you can select the “pay later” option, but payment must be received prior to taking the final examination.
IMPORTANT: Please be aware that TeenDrivingCourse.com may not completely fulfill all of your state’s driver education requirements. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or whichever state agency is responsible for overseeing the licensing of Maine’s drivers.
- How long do I need to wait before receiving the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine internet drivers ed certificate of completion?
It depends on your selected method of shipping at registration. You can choose TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Maine certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Maine traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight delivery (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight delivery (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day delivery (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express delivery (by or before 5PM on the third business day), or if you complete your online Maine traffic school course on a Friday, we offer Saturday Federal Express delivery (by or before 12PM on Saturday).
- How does TeenDrivingCourse.com protect my payment information over the website?
TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several other payment methods for our Maine internet driver education course, including check and online check.
- How much do I need to pay for the Maine internet drivers ed course?
The TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine online drivers ed course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
What is the minimum age I need to be in order to take a Maine internet drivers ed course?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. You should check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency handles the issuance of drivers licenses in Maine), Maine Department of Education, or Maine Department of Driver License Services to make sure that you are eligible to take Maine driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Maine Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- If I take the Maine TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course, what happens if I don’t pass the Maine final exam on the first try?
You can take the exam again! Once you finish the Maine drivers ed internet course, you must take a Maine final exam. If you don’t pass the Maine test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
I plan to take a Maine driver education course soon. I’d like to know if I’d get any discount by taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Maine online teen driver education course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Maine drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Maine to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Maine online drivers education course.
- If I want to take the Maine online driver education course from multiple computers, is that possible?
Yes. Multiple computers can be used to take the Maine online drivers ed course. If necessary, you can take part of the Maine online drivers ed course at school and part of the Maine learners permit course from home. It’s totally up to you!
- If I need to stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine internet drivers education course, can I log back online exactly where I left off?
Definitely. If you stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine online drivers ed course, you can then pick up your Maine online drivers education course exactly where you left off.
- When I finish the Maine internet drivers education course, how can I be sure that receive my Maine certificate within 7 days of completion?
How quickly you get your Maine online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express. Depending upon how quickly you need your Maine certificate, you receive it in as little as 24 hours.
How many hours will I spend completing the Maine online drivers ed course?
The Maine online driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com is about 30 hours long. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
- If I do not complete my Maine online drivers ed course, can I get a refund?
Yes you can! Unlike our competitors, who will not allow you to request a refund after a certain point in the Maine driver ed course, TeenDrivingCourse.com allows you to request a refund for the Maine online driver education course at any point during the course, as long as your Maine certificate of completion has not been shipped. Once your certificate of completion has been shipped, you may not request a refund.
- I worry that my poor eyesight will make it hard for me to handle the large amounts of text contained in the Maine online driver education course. Are there options available that will make this less of a problem?
If you have trouble reading large amounts of text, we strongly encourage you to take advantage of the “Read Along” feature that we offer specifically for people in your situation. “Read Along” reads the material aloud while you follow along with the online class text. You can order this feature when you register for the Maine online drivers ed class.
- I need to take a Maine drivers education course. How can I be sure that the TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Maine internet drivers ed course or new drivers course is approved by my state’s Department of Education and/or Department of Motor Vehicles?
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Maine State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) or Maine State Department of Education.
- I plan to take the Maine learners permit test. What Maine driver education paperwork will I need in order to do that?
Typically, before you can begin learning to drive, you need to provide a certificate of completion for a state-approved driver education course. However, this is a general rule and the specific laws in Maine may be different from other states. Please contact your local Maine DMV office to find out exactly what paperwork is required in order for you to be issued a Maine learner’s permit and begin learning how to drive a car in Maine.
- Do the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine online drivers ed course quizzes count toward a percentage of my overall score for the course?
No, the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine internet drivers ed course quizzes do not count toward the final exam grade. However, they are meant to prepare you for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Maine online drivers ed course. You will be able to go back and review the previous Maine internet drivers ed course chapter if you feel that you need to do so.
- What makes the Maine online driver education course so different from the classroom Maine driver education course?
What makes TeenDrivingCourse.com unique is that our Maine online driver education course gives you the freedom to start and stop as often as you need to while taking the course! If you value that kind of flexibility, then the TeenDrivingCourse.com online Maine learners permit course is the best option for you. Even in states that do not permit online driver education, the Maine driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a useful tool that will reinforce the things you learn in the classroom.
- Does TeenDrivingCourse.com require any identification to take its online drivers ed course?
Although many states do not require us to verify the identity of our students, some states do. If your state has this requirement (we’ll let you know if it does), it will likely take the form of us asking you personal questions at various times during the course.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.