THE #1 CHOICE OF PARENTS,
TEACHERS AND TEENS IN Michigan!
- Online Driver Ed approved by MI DMV
- Qualify for your Michigan Instructional Permit
- Guaranteed to Pass!
Your Guide to Michigan Driver’s Licensing Procedures
On behalf of the State of Michigan, we’re delighted that you have chosen to start the process of applying for your Michigan Learner’s Permit or first Michigan driver’s license. There are a few things you need to know about Michigan’s “Graduated Driver License Program()”:http://www.michigan.gov/documents/gdl_parent_16316_7.pdf for Michigan teen drivers, to make sure that your experience getting your Michigan driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. So, what are we waiting for?
Michigan Instructional Permit or Michigan Learner’s Permit
The first stage is getting your Michigan Learner’s Permit. With this license, you can practice driving provided there is another licensed driver in the car with you who is 21. The minimum age to apply for a Michigan Learner’s Permit is 14 years and 9 months. However, before you head down to the local Michigan Secretary of State branch office to apply, you’ll need to complete the following:
Pass a vision and health screening
24 hours of classroom instruction (including 6 hours behind the wheel instruction and 4 hours of observation time)
Pass a Michigan approved written test
Once you receive your Michigan driver education Segment 1 Certificate of Completion, head on down to your local Michigan Secretary of State branch office and present them with:
your driver education certificate
your parent, guardian, or designated licensed adult (who must have a letter of authorization from your parent or guardian).
the required personal information documents
After all this, you’ll receive your Michigan level one Learner’s License. Congratulations! After you’ve had your Michigan Learner’s Permit for 6 months, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Michigan Graduated License Program.
Your Michigan Intermediate License
In order to apply for your Michigan intermediate driver’s license, there are a few more requirements you’ll have to obey before heading down to your local Michigan Secretary of State Branch office:
Present a Level 1 Learner’s License and “proof of U.S. citizenship or legal presence()”:http://www.michigan.gov/documents/sos/Applying_for_lic_or_ID_SOS_428_222146_7.pdf.
Be at least 16 years old
Pass a vision test
Have possessed a Level 1 Learner’s License for at least 6 months
Must have successfully completed Segment 2 of an approved driver education program and present a Segment 2 Certificate of Completion
50 total hours of logged supervised driving
Learn good driving habits. If you have any traffic violations, you’ll have to wait 90 additional days before applying!
When you’ve completed these Michigan teen driver requirements, you’ll receive a certificate, which you’ll take to your local Michigan Secretary of State Branch office. Your parent or guardian must sign your Level 2 Intermediate License application to certify that you’ve completed the 50 required hours. Then, it’s finally time to take the dreaded road exam. If you pass, then congratulations! You’ve just earned your Michigan Intermediate driver’s license!
Michigan Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
We realize you’ve come a long way since you started the process, and you’re no doubt anxious for full driving freedom. However, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your Michigan intermediate driver’s license:
No driving between 12AM and 5AM unless accompanied by a parent or guardian
This exception doesn’t apply if you’re driving to/from your job
Once you’ve held your Michigan Level 2 Intermediate Driver’s License in good standing for 12 months, you can apply for your Michigan Level 3 Driver’s License, which is unrestricted.
Michigan Auto Insurance Michigan Financial Responsibility Laws
Think you’re ready to drive now? Hold on: any vehicle registered in Michigan must be covered by “liability insurance()”:http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/08_auto_buyer_guide_ENTIRETY_243180_7.pdf. If you are found to be driving without Michigan mandatory liability insurance, your Michigan Learner’s Permit or Michigan intermediate driver’s license could be suspended and you could be fined.
The minimum coverage is:
$20,000 per person for bodily injury
$40,000 per accident for bodily injury
$10,000 for property damage
Michigan Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a newer Michigan driver, your safety and well-being is our top priority. it’s important for you to learn the Michigan drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Your first conviction of a Michigan DUI (0.08) carries the following penalties:
Jail sentence up to 93 days
$1,000 Driver Responsibility Fee for 2 years
License suspension up to 6 months
6 points on your license
You also face possible community service up to 360 hours, Ignition Interlock, and Vehicle Immobilization
And of course, further Michigan DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Michigan license suspension or even Michigan license revocation.
Because a distracted driver is a dangerous driver, you should always keep cell phone use to a minimum. As of right now, there is no state law prohibiting Michigan teen drivers from using cell phones while driving. However, if you are a Michigan teen driver living in Detroit, you may only use a hands-free device if on a cell phone while driving. The fine for violation of this law is $100.
Michigan Online Driver Education
You will need to enroll in a driver education program. You can find a comprehensive list of Michigan approved driver education courses on the “Michigan Department of State website()”:http://www.michigan.gov/sos/0,1607,7-127-1627_40645_48630—-,00.html.
Michigan Frequently Asked Questions
Do you accept all types of credit cards for payment of the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers ed course?
Yes, any major credit card is accepted for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers education course.
When can I expect to receive the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan internet drivers education certificate of completion?
It depends on the method of shipping that you select at registration. TeenDrivingCourse.com offers several convenient options for shipping your Michigan certificate of completion, including regular US Mail and Federal Express. If you select regular US Mail, your online Michigan traffic school certificate will be delivered in 7-10 business days. If you select Federal Express, you have the option of selecting Priority Overnight (by or before 10:30AM the next business morning), Standard Overnight (by or before 5PM the next business day), Second Day (by or before 5PM on the second business day), Express (by or before 5PM on the third business day), and we also offer Saturday Federal Express (by or before 12PM on Saturday), if you complete your online Michigan traffic school course on a Friday.
If I take the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers ed course, can you assure me that my personal and payment information is secure on the website?
Yes! TeenDrivingCourse.com uses the very latest in SSL data encryption technology to make sure that your personal and payment information is 100% secure. We also offer several payment methods for our Michigan internet driver education course, including credit card, check and online check.
How much do I need to pay if I decide to take TeenDrivingCourse.com’s online Michigan drivers education or new drivers’ course?
The standard price for taking the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers education course or new drivers course is $24.99. Discounts may be available if you have a “refer a friend” discount code.
How old do I have to be to take my required Michigan driver education?
In most states, you must be at least 15 1/2 to take drivers ed for your learners permit. We recommend that you check with your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) (or whichever state agency oversees the issuing of drivers’ licenses in Michigan) to make sure that you are old enough to take Michigan driver education.
Please be aware that although TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling driver education requirements in some states, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is only offered as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, we recommend that you check with the Michigan DMV/DVS.
Will I be able to set my own schedule if I take the Michigan internet drivers ed course?
Yes! It’s simple. Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Michigan learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Michigan drivers ed course as often as you like — at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule! Once you finish the Michigan drivers ed internet course, you must take a Michigan final exam. If you don’t pass the Michigan test on your first try, you can retake it as many times as you need until you pass!
Do you know if my Michigan insurance provider offers an insurance discount if I pass the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers education course?
It depends on which state you live in and which company you are insured with. In some states, insurance carriers do offer insurance discounts to teen-aged drivers who successfully complete an online Michigan drivers education course. We recommend that you contact your insurance agent in Michigan to see what, if any, discount you may qualify for by enrolling in TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Michigan online drivers education course.
If I want to take the Michigan online driver education course from multiple computers, is that possible?
Yes. Multiple computers can be used to take the Michigan online drivers ed course. If necessary, you can take part of the Michigan online drivers ed course at school and part of the Michigan learners permit course from home. It’s totally up to you!
Is it necessary for me to complete the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan internet drivers ed course all in one sitting?
No. The TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan internet drivers education course is designed to fit anyone’s schedule. You can start and stop the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers ed course as often as needed.
How many days do I need to wait for my Michigan online drivers education certificate of completion?
How quickly you get your Michigan online drivers ed certificate of completion depends upon the shipping method you select at registration. We offer regular US mail shipping and expedited shipping through Federal Express. Depending upon how quickly you need your Michigan certificate, you receive it in as little as 24 hours.
What is the total amount of time it will take me to finish the Michigan online drivers education course?
You can expect to spend 30 hours taking TeenDrivingCourse.com’s Michigan online course for new drivers. However, in some states where timers are not required you may not have to spend an entire 30 hours taking the course.
Please be aware that while in some states TeenDrivingCourse.com is sufficient for fulfilling your state’s driver education requirements, in other states TeenDrivingCourse.com is offered only as a supplement to the actual driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school. To find out if TeenDrivingCourse.com will meet your state’s minimum driver education requirements, please contact your local DMV office.
I won’t be able to complete the Michigan online drivers’ ed course. Am I allowed to ask for a refund?
Yes, you’re allowed to ask for a refund at any point during the Michigan online learners permit course as long as your Michigan certificate of completion has not yet been shipped. This is a more generous policy than offered by our competitors, who do not allow refund requests after a certain point in the Michigan internet driver education course.
I often have trouble reading large amounts of printed text. What can I do while taking the Michigan online driver education course to make the Michigan online driver education course easier on my eyes?
Since TeenDrivingCourse.com cares about the needs of all students, our Michigan online learners permit courses take into account the needs of those who have difficulty reading large amounts of text. The “Read Along” option reads the material aloud while you follow along with the online text. Simply order the feature when you register for the Michigan online drivers ed class.
How can I find out whether the Michigan TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed course is approved by the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles?
We recommend that you contact the Michigan Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). They will be able to tell you whether TeenDrivingCourse.com will fulfill your state’s driver education requirements or whether TeenDrivingCourse.com may be taken as a supplement to the driver education and/or training you will receive at a state-approved driving school.
What Michigan driver education paperwork will I be asked for when I take my learners permit test?
Each state sets its own rules as what paperwork is required, but you will probably need to have a certificate of completion proving that you have passed an approved Michigan online driver education program before taking your Michigan learner’s permit test. Nevertheless, we strongly recommend that you either contact the Michigan DMV or visit their website to see exactly what documents are required before they’ll let you take the Michigan learner’s permit test.
What is the best way to prepare for the TeenDrivingCourse.com Michigan online drivers ed course quizzes?
It would be best to closely review the Michigan internet drivers ed course material, so that you can be prepared for a Michigan online drivers ed course quiz at the end of each Michigan online drivers ed course chapter.
Is there any real difference between taking the Michigan driver education course online instead of in a classroom setting?
The main difference is the flexibility that we offer. With Michigan online drivers ed at TeenDrivingCourse.com, you have the freedom to learn at your own pace, without sitting in a classroom for hours listening to lectures. Even if you live in a state where online driver education is not allowed, the Michigan driver ed course offered by TeenDrivingCourse.com can still be a valuable resource that will enhance the things you learn in the classroom.
Will you have to verify my identity at any point while I’m taking the Michigan online driver education course?
Many states will not require ID verification when taking an online driver education course, although this can vary from state to state. A few states may require us to verify your identity by, for example, asking you personal questios throughout the course. The purpose of this is simply to verify that you are who you say you are.
GOT A TICKET? VISIT OUR ONLINE TRAFFIC SCHOOL. OUR DRIVER ED COURSES ARE THE MOST CONVENIENT AND LEAST EXPENSIVE COURSES ON THE MARKET.