South Bend Indiana Licensing Procedures and South Bend Indiana Online Driver Education
On behalf of the State of South Bend Indiana, we welcome you to the world of driving! The process of applying for your South Bend Indiana learner's permit or first South Bend Indiana driver license can be as confusing as it is exciting, and so we have put together this informative guide to help you through the process.
South Bend Indiana has a three-stage Graduated Driver License Program for South Bend Indiana that is especially designed for newer driver, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that you run into as few problems as possible. So let's get started.
South Bend Indiana Instructional Permit or South Bend Indiana Learner Permit
When you're 15 years and 180 days old, you can apply for an South Bend Indiana learner's permit, as long as you are enrolled in an South Bend Indiana approved driver education program. In order to apply for your South Bend Indiana learner's permit, you'll need to make an appointment at your local South Bend Indiana BMV and then bring the following:
- Social Security number
- valid South Bend Indiana identification documents
- South Bend Indiana residency documents
- Proof of lawful status
- certificate of enrollment for your driver education program (if you're under 16)
Along with presenting all of these application materials, you must also take a written examination and a vision screening test.
Congratulations for making it this far! You just earned your South Bend Indiana learners license, which is valid for 2 years. If you are enrolled in an approved South Bend Indiana driver education program, you may practice with a certified driving instructor, as well as members of your family over 21. However, if you are not enrolled in an approved South Bend Indiana online driver education program, you may only drive with a member of your family. After you've had your South Bend Indiana learner's permit for 1 year, you'll be ready to apply for your South Bend Indiana intermediate license.
Your First South Bend Indiana Driver's License
In order to apply for your first South Bend Indiana driver's license, you'll need to make sure you follow a few State of South Bend Indiana requirements:
- you must be 16 years and 180 days old
- keep your South Bend Indiana learner's permit for at least 180 days in good standing
- complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice
- at least 10 hours must be at night
At the South Bend Indiana BMV, you'll present:
Then you'll take the following South Bend Indiana driver's license tests:
You must provide your own vehicle for the South Bend Indiana road test. Remember, the vehicle must be properly insured, and car registration must be presented. If you survive, then congratulations--you've just earned your first true South Bend Indiana driver license! However, until you're 18, there are still a few restrictions you'll have to accept.
South Bend Indiana Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Until you turn 18, there are several restrictions you need to keep in mind regarding your South Bend Indiana driver's license.If you can handle restricted driving for just a little bit longer, you will graduate to full driving privileges!
- For the first 180 days, you may not drive between 10PM and 5AM
- After 180 days, you may not drive during the following hours: Saturday and Sunday between 1AM and 5AM; Sunday through Thursday after 11PM; and Monday through Friday, before 5AM
Of course, there are exceptions--if you're driving to or from a school, civil, or religious activity. When you turn 18, all of these restrictions are removed, and you will receive your Class C South Bend Indiana driver's license, provided you haven't had any major traffic violations in the last year. Congratulations!
South Bend Indiana Auto Insurance South Bend Indiana Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you receive your South Bend Indiana drivers license, you're ready to drive, right? Wrong. You also need to make sure to get your vehicle insured. In South Bend Indiana, any registered vehicle must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is:
- $25,000/50,00 for bodily injury
- $10,000 for property damage
- $50,000 for under insured motorists.
If you are found to be driving without South Bend Indiana mandatory liability insurance, your South Bend Indiana provisional license could be suspended, and if you're caught driving with a suspended license, you could be fined $150 to $300. Accidents are an unhappy fact of life, and can happen to even the most seasoned drivers. Therefore, do NOT get on South Bend Indiana roads in an uninsured vehicle!
South Bend Indiana Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new South Bend Indiana driver, we value your safety above all else, so we consider it vital that you learn the South Bend Indiana drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Upon your first conviction of a South Bend Indiana DUI (0.08), you will face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence from 30 days to 60 days
- South Bend Indiana license suspension up to 2 years
- Court fees of at least $300
- Up to $500 fine
- Probation up to 2 years
And of course, further South Bend Indiana DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and South Bend Indiana license suspension or even South Bend Indiana license revocation.
If you are an South Bend Indiana teen driver under 18 years old, you are prohibited from using an electronic device while driving, which of course includes texting while driving!
South Bend Indiana Online Driver Education
For more information about approved South Bend Indiana driver education courses, head over the South Bend Indiana BMV website