Easton Maryland Licensing Procedures and Easton Maryland Online Driver Education
Congratulations on starting the process of applying for your Easton Maryland learner's permit or first Easton Maryland driver's license. The process of applying for your Easton Maryland learner's permit or first Easton Maryland driver's license can be daunting, but it doesn't need to be if you have the right information. This short guide will give you all the necessary facts to ensure that your experience applying for your first Easton Maryland driver's license is as smooth as can be.
The first thing you need to know is that Easton Maryland has a Graduated Driver License Program that is specially geared toward younger drivers like yourself. The program will allow you to safely gain driving experience in stages, before being granted full driving privileges. So let's get started.
Easton Maryland Instructional Permit and Easton Maryland Learner's Permit
As soon as you're 15 years and 9 months of age you can apply for a Easton Maryland learner's permit. With this permit, you can practice driving with another licensed driver who has held a valid license for at least 3 years, and the permit is valid for 2 years.
You should make an appointment at your local Easton Maryland Vehicle Administration (MVA) and take the following with you:
At your local Easton Maryland MVA, you manage to pass the required tests, then congratulations! You just earned your Easton Maryland learner's permit. Although we know it's tempting, don't forget that when driving with your Easton Maryland learner's permit, you are prohibited from using a cell phone, and violations of this law will result in Easton Maryland teen license suspension.
After you've had your Easton Maryland learner's permit in good standing for 9 months, you'll be ready for the next phase in the Easton Maryland Graduated License Program.
Your Easton Maryland Provisional Driver's License
In order to apply for your Easton Maryland provisional driver's license, a few Easton Maryland State requirements will have to be followed before heading down to your local Easton Maryland MVA.
- Complete a Easton Maryland-approved driver training course
- Be at least 16 years and 180 days old
- Have a parent or guardian fill out a Practice Skills Log
- Have your Easton Maryland learner's permit for at least 9 months in good standing
- Be sure to have practiced at least 60 hours of driving while supervised (10 of these practice hours must be at night)
If you've completed the following requirements, the only obstacle that remains is the dreaded road exam. If you pass, then congratulations! You've just earned your Easton Maryland provisional driver license!
Easton Maryland Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You've come a long way since you began this process, and we're sure you're eager to get on the road. However, you'll still have to live with a few restrictions until you've held your Easton Maryland provisional driver's license for 18 months in good standing. But don't worry: once you turn 18, you'll finally be eligible for your Easton Maryland unrestricted driver's license.
- No passengers under 18 for the first 5 months (unless they're family members), unless you're driving with proper supervision
- No driving from 12AM to 5AM unless going to or from your job, a school sanctioned activity, a volunteer program, or an athletic event you're participating in.
If you can manage all of this for 180 days, then congratulations, you can now be issued a full Indiana full license!
Easton Maryland Auto Insurance Easton Maryland Financial Responsibility Laws
You may think you're ready to drive once you have your license, but getting your Easton Maryland full driver's license is only the beginning. Any vehicle registered in Easton Maryland must be covered by liability insurance. If you are found to be driving without Easton Maryland mandatory liability insurance, your Easton Maryland learner's permit or Easton Maryland intermediate driver license could be suspended and you could face a stiff fine. Needless to say, do not get on Easton Maryland roads in an uninsured vehicle!
The minimum coverage is:
- $20,000 per person for bodily injury
- $40,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
Easton Maryland Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Easton Maryland driver, keeping yourself and others safe should be your top priority. We consider it vitally important that you learn the Easton Maryland drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Drunk Driving. First of all, Easton Maryland has a zero tolerance law, which means that if you're under 21, with a Blood Alcohol Content of .02 you'll face fines and Easton Maryland driver's license suspension just like an adult with a BAC of .08 would.
Upon your first conviction of a Easton Maryland DUI (0.08), you'll face the following penalties:
- Jail sentence up to 2 years (if transporting a minor)
- $1,000 fine
- Jail sentence up to 1 year
- license suspension of 6 months minimum
Naturally, additional Easton Maryland DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, fines, community service, and Easton Maryland license suspension or even Easton Maryland license revocation.
Cell Phone Use. Currently, Easton Maryland prohibits teen drivers who hold a Easton Maryland instruction license, Easton Maryland learner's license, or Easton Maryland provisional license from using cell phones while driving. Even if you have a full license, however, we strongly discourage frequent cell phone use while driving.
Easton Maryland Online Driver Education
You'll need to complete a Easton Maryland-approved driver training course as part of your application for a Easton Maryland learner's permit. You can find all the information you need about approved Easton Maryland online driver education courses,on the Easton Maryland Vehicle Association website.