Bowling Green Ohio Online Driver Education and Bowling Green Ohio Licensing Procedures
We're very happy that you're starting the process of applying for your Bowling Green Ohio learner's permit or first Bowling Green Ohio driver license! Bowling Green Ohio has a graduated driver license program for Bowling Green Ohio drivers ages 15-18, and there are a few things we would like you to know to make sure that applying for your Bowling Green Ohio driving license is as trouble-free an experience as possible. So let's jump right in.
Bowling Green Ohio Learner's Permit
When you turn 15 and a half, you can apply for an Bowling Green Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit, otherwise known as an Bowling Green Ohio Learner’s Permit. With this license, the following restrictions apply:
- For the first 6 months you must practice driving with your parent, guardian, or driving instructor
- After 6 months, you can also practice with a licensed driver who is at least 21
- All passengers must wear seatbelts
- Be sure to carry your Bowling Green Ohio Temporary Permit with you at all times!
When you're ready to apply, you’ll need to bring proof of age and identity; your social security number; and a parent/guardian to sign the permit application.
If you’ve got all of the necessary materials, head on down to your local Bowling Green Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a knowledge test. (Relax, you can practice with a sample Bowling Green Ohio knowledge test.) If you pass, then congratulations--you’ve just earned your Bowling Green Ohio Temporary Permit!
Once you’ve held your Bowling Green Ohio Temporary Permit for 6 months and have met a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Bowling Green Ohio Graduated License Program, the Bowling Green Ohio Driver License.
The Bowling Green Ohio Provisional Driver License or Bowling Green Ohio Full Driver License
You can apply for your Bowling Green Ohio Probationary Driver License once you’ve held your Bowling Green Ohio Temporary Instruction Permit for 6 months and have met the following requirements:
- Complete 8 hours of driving instruction
- Complete 24 hours of class instruction in an approved Bowling Green Ohio driver education course
- Practice driving for 50 hours total - 10 of these hours must be at night
- Your parent/guardian will have to certify your documented practice hours
As soon as you satisfy these requirements, head on down to your local Bowling Green Ohio BMV. You’ll have to overcome one final obstacle: the dreaded Bowling Green Ohio road skills test! If you pass, then reward yourself for making it to this point. You’ve just earned your Bowling Green Ohio Probationary Driver License!
Bowling Green Ohio Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You still have just a little father to go to earn your full Bowling Green Ohio driver's license. Until then, there are a few restrictions for your Bowling Green Ohio Probationary Driver License, depending on your age:
- Bowling Green Ohio teen drivers under 17 can’t carry more than 1 passenger that is not family (unless accompanied by a parent/guardian of course)
- All passengers between the ages of 4 and 15 must be properly restrained
- If you’re 16, you may not drive between the hours of 12AM and 6AM
- If you’re 17, you may not drive between the hours of 1AM and 5AM
- The exception for the driving curfew is in case of: (1) an emergency, (2) driving to/from a school sanctioned activity, and (3) driving to/from your place of employment (must have written documentation from your employer)
On the bright side, once you turn 18, these restrictions are removed. Freedom!
Bowling Green Ohio Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As an Bowling Green Ohio teen driver, there's no bigger threat you'll face than drunk drivers. It’s important for you to learn the Bowling Green Ohio drunk driving laws (and obey them religiously). Like most states, Bowling Green Ohio has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of an Bowling Green Ohio DUI or Bowling Green Ohio DWI, you face additional penalties to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of an Bowling Green Ohio DUI, you’ll face the following penalties:
- License suspension from 6 months to 3 years
- Or Driver Intervention Program (3 days)
- Bowling Green Ohio License reinstatement fee $450
- Jail 3 days to 6 months
- Fine from $250 to $1,000
And of course, further Bowling Green Ohio DWI and DUI convictions will result in more severe penalties, up and including jail time, Bowling Green Ohio license suspension or even Bowling Green Ohio license revocation. As you can see, it's something we take very seriously - don't do it!
Bowling Green Ohio Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
Once you finally get your coveted Bowling Green Ohio Learner’s Permit or Bowling Green Ohio Provisional driver’s license, you’re ready to drive--or so you may think. Because accidents happen to even experienced drivers, Bowling Green Ohio drivers are required by law to be covered by liability insurance. The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $12,500 bodily injury for one person
- $7,500 for property damage per accident
- $25,000 bodily injury two or more people
It's no joke. If you are in an accident and found to be driving without Bowling Green Ohio mandatory liability insurance, your Bowling Green Ohio license could be suspended for 90 days to 2 years, and you may face Bowling Green Ohio license plate reinstatement fees, as well as other penalties.
Bowling Green Ohio Cell Phone Laws
We acknowledge how important it is for young people to stay in touch with friends, but studies show that cell phone use, especially text messaging, contributes to accidents. Currently, it is illegal for Bowling Green Ohio teen drivers to use cell phones while driving only in Brooklyn, North Olmstead, and Walton Hills. But that doesn't mean you shouldn't be careful elsewhere as well!
Bowling Green Ohio Online Driver Education
Bowling Green Ohio teen drivers are required to take an Bowling Green Ohio approved driver education course. You can find more information on approved Bowling Green Ohio online driver education courses at the Bowling Green Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles search page.