Information on Marianna Arkansas Licensing Procedures
We understand that learning to drive can be both exhilirating and daunting, so we've provided this information sheet containing a few things you need to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your Marianna Arkansas driving license is as problem-free as possible. The first thing you should know is that Marianna Arkansas has a three level graduated driver license program for Marianna Arkansas drivers ages 14-18. The three levels are: learner's license, intermediate license, and regular license. Let's delve more deeply into each of these.
Marianna Arkansas Learner's Permit
The Marianna Arkansas learner's permit will allow you to practice driving as long as you have someone 21 years or older in the seat next to you as you learn. Although you won't be able to apply for your first Marianna Arkansas driver license until you're 16, you can get a learner's license once you turn 14. So if you're 14 or older, take the required identification documents to your local revenue office.
You'll receive your Marianna Arkansas learners driver license once you pass the written exam, vision test, and dreaded road test. However, your Alaska learner's permit, or Alaska graduated drivers license, will expire on your 16th birthday.
Marianna Arkansas Teen Driver's License: Intermediate and Regular Licenses
If you manage to avoid accidents or serious traffic convictions while driving with your Marianna Arkansas learners permit, you're ready to move to level two, the Marianna Arkansas intermediate license! This Marianna Arkansas license will expire when you turn 18. Keep in mind that all passengers must wear seatbelts while an Marianna Arkansas intermediate license holder is driving. Also, although we know it's tempting, NO cell phones or other interactive wireless devices are allowed.
When you reach 18, your Marianna Arkansas intermediate license will expire and you'll apply for your Marianna Arkansas regular license. However, if you've had a major driving conviction, you'll have to wait exactly one year before you can apply for the Marianna Arkansas regular license. With an Marianna Arkansas regular driver license, you may use a hands-free wireless telephone while driving, but ONLY a hands-free device.
Marianna Arkansas Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
Driving at any age is a privilege, not a right. Several rules apply regarding your Marianna Arkansas learner's license, Marianna Arkansas intermediate license, or Marianna Arkansas regular drivers license.
Marianna Arkansas learner's permit restrictions:
- ALL passengers must wear seat belts at all times (not just those in front)
- No cell phones while driving (except for emergencies)
- You must be accompanied by a licensed driver 21 years or older
Marianna Arkansas intermediate license restrictions:
The Marianna Arkansas intermediate driver license (for drivers between the ages of 16 and 18), comes with a few rules of its own. Mainly, an Marianna Arkansas intermediate license holder cannot drive a vehicle between 11:00PM and 4AM unless:
- you have a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver 21 or older with you
- you are going to or from your workplace, a school sponsored or religious event
- you are driving for reasons of a family emergency
Also, you cannot drive with more than one "unrelated minor passenger" unless accompanied by a licensed driver 21 or older.
Marianna Arkansas Auto Insurance Marianna Arkansas Financial Responsibility Laws
A big part of being a responsible driver is being able to prove financial responsibility for your vehicle. Any vehicle registered in Marianna Arkansas must be covered by liability insurance. The minimum coverage is $25,000 for personal injury and $50,000 for two or more people, and $25,000 for property damage. Information on fines and insurance restrictions can be found on the Marianna Arkansas insurance department website. Basically, you do not want to drive the streets of Marianna Arkansas in an uninsured vehicle!
Marianna Arkansas Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a new Marianna Arkansas driver, it's important that you learn and take seriously the Marianna Arkansas drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws.
Marianna Arkansas drunk driving laws:
Upon your first conviction of an Marianna Arkansas DUI, you face:
- imprisonment of 24 hours to 10 days
- public service
- a fine of $150-$1000
- Your license will also be suspended a minimum of 6 months
- The court could also install an ignition interlock device on your car at your expense
- and you may have to take an Alcohol education or treatment program ($125)
Further Marianna Arkansas DUI convictions will result in increased jail time, community service, fines, and Marianna Arkansas license suspension or even Marianna Arkansas license revocation.
Cell phone and text messaging laws:
Drivers who are distracted by cell phone calls and text messaging are a proven safety hazard. Thus, as of July 2009 there are several laws in the Marianna Arkansas legislature aimed at banning or restricting the use of text messaging and cell phones while driving. These include:
- You may not use a cell phone or interactive wireless device while driving if you have an Marianna Arkansas learner's license or Marianna Arkansas intermediate license (until you obtain a regular driver's license, this applies to you)
- ALL Marianna Arkansas license holders are prohibited from using a cell phone (or hands-free device) while transporting children or in school zones
- There is also a ban on text messaging for ALL Marianna Arkansas drivers, regardless of age or license class.
Marianna Arkansas Online Driver Education
The Marianna Arkansas Department of Workforce Education oversees driver education. Their website contains a list of approved Marianna Arkansas online driver education course. You can also check with the Department of Education to find approved driver education classes.