Your Guide to Clinton Tennessee Online Driver Education and Licensing Procedures
The process of applying for your Clinton Tennessee learner's permit or first Clinton Tennessee driver's license can be nerve-racking, but it doesn't have to be if you have the right information. The first thing you need to know is that Clinton Tennessee has a Graduated Driver License Program
for Clinton Tennessee teen drivers, and there are a few things to keep in mind to make sure that applying for your first Clinton Tennessee driver’s license goes as smoothly as possible. Our goal is to help you get the most out of this process as possible, so let's get started!
The Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit or Clinton Tennessee Learner’s Permit
When you turn 15, you can finally apply for a Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit, otherwise known as a Clinton Tennessee Instruction Permit. In order to apply, you need:
Once you’re ready, head on down to your local Clinton Tennessee Driver Services Center with your parent or guardian and submit your application. Then, you’ll have to take a vision test, as well as a written exam. If you survive, then congratulations: you’ve just earned your Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit! The permit is valid for 1 year.
Clinton Tennessee Instruction Permit Restrictions
Here's a list of what you can and can't do with your learner's permit:
- You can only practice driving with a parent, guardian, driving instructor, or licensed driver who is at least 21.
- You may not drive between the hours of 10PM and 6AM.
- You must carry your Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit with you at all times.
If you can manage this for 180 days and meet a few more requirements, you’ll be ready for the next step in the Clinton Tennessee Graduated License Program, the Clinton Tennessee Intermediate License.
The Clinton Tennessee Provisional License or Clinton Tennessee Intermediate License
You can apply for your Clinton Tennessee Restricted Intermediate License once you’ve held your Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit for 180 days. You’ll need to make sure you follow these requirements:
- Be at least 16
- Complete 50 hours of supervised driving practice - at least 10 hours must be at night
- Hold a Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit for 180 days without incident
- No Clinton Tennessee traffic violations that add up to more than 6 points on your Clinton Tennessee driving record
- Your parents/guardian, or driving instructor must sign a verification form
Then, make an appointment and head on down to your local Clinton Tennessee Driver Services Center. Be sure to bring your identification documents, including your Clinton Tennessee Learner Permit. Then you’ll have to take the dreaded Clinton Tennessee road test! If you pass, then take a deep breath: you’ve just earned your Clinton Tennessee Intermediate License!
Clinton Tennessee Teen Driver License Restrictions and Penalties
You've come a long way, but you still have a few months of good behavior to go before you've earned your full license. There are a few restrictions concerning your Clinton Tennessee Intermediate License:
- No using a cell phone (or hand-held device) while driving
- All passengers and the driver must wear seat belts
- No more than 1 passenger (unless a licensed driver 21 or older is with you)
- No driving between 11PM and 6AM unless you’re going to/from your job, a school sanctioned activity (which require written permission), or hunting/fishing 4AM-6AM (requires license)
After you turn 17 and have had your Clinton Tennessee Intermediate Restricted License for 1 year, you graduate to a Clinton Tennessee Intermediate Unrestricted License, provided you have no more than 6 points on your Clinton Tennessee driving record (or less than 2 safety belt violations) and have not been involved in an at-fault traffic accident.
You're almost at the finish line. Once you turn 18, you may finally apply for your Clinton Tennessee Regular Driver License. Freedom!
Clinton Tennessee Auto Insurance Financial Responsibility Laws
We know you're eager to get on the road, but here is where you learn about the full responsibilities of possessing a Clinton Tennessee drivers license. First of all, any vehicle registered in Clinton Tennessee must be covered by by liability insurance. In fact, if you are in an accident and found to be driving without Clinton Tennessee mandatory liability insurance, your Clinton Tennessee license could be suspended.
The minimum liability insurance coverage is:
- $25,000 bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 bodily injury two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
Clinton Tennessee Drunk Driving, Cell Phone, and Text Messaging Laws
As a Clinton Tennessee teen driver, it’s also important that you learn the Clinton Tennessee drunk driving, cell phone, and text messaging laws. Like most states, Clinton Tennessee has a Zero Tolerance Law for underage drinking, and if you are convicted of a Clinton Tennessee DUI or Clinton Tennessee DWI, you face penalties in addition to those listed below.
Upon your first conviction of a Clinton Tennessee DUI with a blood alcohol concentration of .08, you’ll face the following penalties:
- Clinton Tennessee License Suspension 1 year
- Possible Ignition Interlock Device installation
- Possible Alcohol Safety DUI program
- Possible Community Service
- Jail 48 hours to 11 months
- Fine of $350 to $1,500
And of course, further Clinton Tennessee DWI and DUI convictions will result in stiffer penalties including jail time, community service, fines, and Clinton Tennessee license suspension or even Clinton Tennessee license revocation.
Currently, Clinton Tennessee teen drivers are prohibited from using cell phones while driving, even with hands-free devices. The fine is $100, as well as possible delay in the Clinton Tennessee graduated license process. And all Clinton Tennessee drivers are prohibited from text messaging while driving. The fine is $50 in addition to court costs.
Seriously, we strongly suggest you keep cell phone use to a minimum. Studies repeatedly show that a distracted driver is a dangerous driver!
Clinton Tennessee Online Driver Education
Clinton Tennessee teen drivers can find more information about approved Clinton Tennessee online driver education on the Clinton Tennessee Teen Driver Safety website.