Hawaii Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be before Hawaii will let me take my written driving test to get my instruction permit?
You have to be at least 15 1/2 years old to obtain a Hawaii driving instruction permit. 
Who can take the drivers education class which Teen Driving Course offers on the internet in Hawaii?
The Teen Driving Course Hawaii online drivers education class is mainly to help you drive better (i.e.--it is a supplement to your overall driver education).  If you want to know if our online drivers education class can meet Hawaii Department of Transportation ("DOT") drivers ed requirements, you will need to call and ask the Hawaii DOT.
What paperwork do I need to give before I can learn to drive a car?
The Hawaii DOT will need your birth certificate, your social security card and signed parental approval when you apply for your driving instruction permit. 
What if I don't pass my Hawaii instruction permit test? Can I retake it?
The Hawaii DOT will let you retake the instruction permit test until you pass, but you will have to wait at least one (1) day to retake it if you fail. 

Teen Driving Course's Hawaii online drivers education class is designed to help make sure you ace the instruction permit test the first time.  So hang loose, you're going to be fine!
How many questions are on the final exam at the end of the Teen Driving Course Hawaii online drivers education class?
The Hawaii Teen Driving Course online drivers education class' final exam has a total of 35 questions.  You need to get at least 28 correct (80%) to pass.
Does your course meet all Hawaii DOT requirements?
The Teen Driving Course Hawaii online driver education class is mainly a supplement to your overall drivers education.  However, if you're interested in knowing if taking Teen Driving Course will satisfy the State of Hawaii's prescribed drivers education requirements , you will need to contact your local Hawaii D.O.T. office.
How long until I receive my Hawaii online driver ed certificate of completion from Teen Driving Course?
Teen Driving Course will send your certificate of completion via regular mail (USPS) at no extra charge to you.  Regular mail usually takes about 3 to 5 days.  

However, if you'd like to receive it even faster, we can ship your certificate via FedEx for an additional fee.  FedEx offers 3rd Day, 2nd Day, and Overnight Delivery.  The choice is yours.

I have my Hawaii instruction permit. Can I start driving now?
You can begin driving as soon as you’ve received your Hawaii learners permit, but remember--a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old must be sitting in the front passenger seat at all times when you drive.  Please remember to drive safely---ALWAYS.
in Hawaii, how long do I need to have my instruction permit before I can get my official or regular or real drivers license?
You must have had your instruction permit for at least 90 days before you can get your Hawaii driver's license.  Use those three (3) months to work on the safe driving skills you learn through Teen Driving Course, and you can expect to pass your driving tests with flying colors! 
Does the Hawaii DOT require behind-the-wheel training of any kind?
The Hawaii DOT requires you to have hands-on, behind-the-wheel training before qualifying for a Hawaii drivers license.  You will need to complete a drivers education course that includes some form of behind-the-wheel training with a professional instructor.  Your options include either completing six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel training through a Hawaii-approved driving school, or you can attend a drivers education class that includes at least two hours of on-the-road driving.  To find out if a certain class is state-approved, please contact the Hawaii DOT.
Do I need to perform any supervised driving beyond a Hawaii driving school?
Yes.  The Hawaii DOT asks that you receive a total of 50 hours of supervised driving practice (including at least 10 at night), in the presence of a licensed Hawaii driver 21 years or older, prior to applying for your Hawaii drivers license.  10 of those 50 hours must be at night, and all of these hours must be signed off on by your parent or a legal guardian and submitted to the Hawaii DOT.
Can my friends ride with me once I get my Hawaii instruction permit?
With a Hawaii instruction permit, you are allowed to drive with friends in the car however, a 21-year-old Hawaii licensed driver must be seated in the front passenger seat.  If you are driving with friends, please focus on your driving and not on some conversation!  Being distracted by friends is one of the chief causes of car wrecks.
Can my friends ride with me now that I have my Hawaii drivers license?
It depends on how old you are when you get your drivers license.  Per Hawaii law, If you're under 18, there is a limit--you can have only one (1) passenger who is under the age of 18 in the car while you're driving, unless you are accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
Can I drive alone with my Hawaii instruction permit?
NO WAY.  If you hold an instruction permit, the law in Hawaii says you must be accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed Hawaii driver whenever you drive.  Driving alone with only an instruction permit may result in your driving privileges being revoked.
How much do I have to pay to take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class?
Teen Driving Course tries to keep its prices as competitive as possible.  To do so, our prices occasionally change.  Please see our "Course Options" page for more details and current prices.
Does Teen Driving Course give refunds for its Hawaii drivers ed courses?
Absolutely!  Teen Driving Course provides a 100% money-back guarantee.  If you decide you're not satisfied with our online drivers education class, just let us know before we send out your certificate of completion and we'll refund your money.  It's that easy.
In Hawaii, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for TeenDrivingCourseonline driver education class?

You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Hawaii online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!