Iowa Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be to take the driving learners permit test in Iowa?
To take your learners permit test in Iowa, the state requires that you must be at least 14 years of age.  Taking an online driver education course like Driver Ed To Go is an excellent way to prepare for your learners permit test and begin learning how to drive as soon as possible.
In Iowa, who is allowed to take drivers education courses over the internet?
Anyone can take Teen Driving Course's Iowa online driver education classes.  These classes will greatly help you prepare for your learners permit test quickly as well as help you to become a safe driver when you get on the road.

If you want to find out if Teen Driving Course's online class would satisfy Iowa ODS' drivers education requirements, please contact your local ODS.
What documentation does the Iowa ODS before I can learn to drive a car?
You will need to bring a few documents with you to the Iowa Office of Driver Services (ODS) before they'll let you take your driving test:
  • Proof of your birth (a birth certificate is fine)
  • Proof of your Iowa residency (you can bring some mail that is addressed to you or proof of your enrollment at a local public school).
  • Proof of your Social Security Number (your S.S. Card)
  • Parental Consent in Writing .  Form #430018 needs to be filled out and signed by your parents.  You can obtain this form from any Iowa ODS office or the Iowa ODS website.  (If your parents accompany you to the ODS drivers license office, there's no need to fill out this form).

Please be aware that Iowa ODS offices currently do not accept debit or credit cards as forms of payment for drivers licenses or instruction permits.

In Iowa, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for TeenDrivingCourseonline driver education class?

You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Iowa online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!

How many questions are on the final exam at the end of the Teen Driving Course Iowa online driver ed course?
Teen Driving Course offers a comprehensive, 35-question final exam to our Iowa online drivers education course.  You will need to answer 28 correctly to pass the course (if you don't pass, you can take it over as many times as you need to until you have passed it, and there's no extra cost for doing so).  

Teen Driving Course's final exam is designed to test what you will need to know on your learners permit and drivers license exams, and is an excellent supplement to other Iowa drivers education requirements you will need to fulfill.
Does your course meet all Iowa DMV requirements?
Teen Driving Course's online drivers ed class is mainly offered to help prepare you for your Iowa drivers instruction (learners) permit test and drivers license test, and also to help make you a smart, safe driver.

However, if you contact the Iowa DMV, they may give you the opportunity to take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class in place of a standard, state-approved drivers education classroom course. 
When am I going to get my Teen Driving Course certificate of completion?
When you register with Teen Driving Course, you can choose how quickly you want to receive your certificate.  You choose regular mail (for free), which usually takes 3-5 business days.  Or, you can pay extra to have FedEx deliver it via their 3rd day, 2nd Day, or Overnight Delivery Service.   The choice is up to you when you take the Teen Driving Course Iowa drivers education class!
Now that I have my Iowa instruction permit, can I start driving?
If you have instruction permit with the Iowa ODS, you are allowed to practice driving with your parent or guardian, a family member over 21, a certified professional driver education course instructor.  You may also have a licensed driver who's at least 25 years old, so long as you have written permission from your parent or guardian.
How long do I need to have my instruction permit before I can get my Iowa drivers license?
You are required to hold your Iowa instruction permit (or learner's permit) for at least 60 days before trying to upgrade to an intermediate driver's license.
Do I have to do behind-the-wheel training in Iowa?
When you receive your Iowa instruction permit, you will at that time be required to enroll in a school-sponsored Iowa drivers education course. As part of this course, you will be required to spend at least three (3) hours behind the wheel under the supervision of an Iowa licensed professional driving instructor.
How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my Iowa drivers license?
When you receive your Iowa instruction permit, you will need to fulfill 20 hours of practice driving, 2 of which must be at night. The Iowa ODS requires these driving sessions be supervised by a parent, legal guardian, a licensed family member over 21, or it can be a licensed Iowa driver 25 years or older with your parents' permission.  This will allow you to receive your IIowa provisional drivers license

To receive your graduated license when you turn 17, you must complete 10 additional hours of supervised driving, 2 of which must be at night, and this also must be signed off on by your parents. Even though you can drive unsupervised with your provisional Iowa drivers license, the Iowa DMV recommends that these hours are supervised to assure your progress in developing safe driving habits.
Can my friends ride with me after I get my Iowa instruction permit?
Yes, but ONLY with additional supervision.  Iowa state law requires that instruction permit drivers be accompanied at all times by a parent or guardian, a family member over 21, a driver education course teacher, or a driver over 25 if you have the written permission of your parent or guardian.  Also, there must be enough seat belts in the vehicle available for each passenger to use.
Can my friends ride with me after I get my Iowa drivers license?
Yes, if you have an Iowa intermediate drivers license, your friends can drive with you if there are enough seatbelts for everyone in the vehicle.  Between 12:30am and 5am, though, you must be accompanied by a parent or guardian who's a licensed driver, or someone in your family at least 21 years old who's a licensed driver, or a non-relative who is at least 25 years old and is a licensed driver.
Is Teen Driving Course expensive? How much does online driver education cost?
At Teen Driving Course, we are proud to offer the highest quality driver education at the lowest prices.  To keep our prices as competitive as possible, Iowa online driver education course costs are seasonally subject to change.  For an updated price listing, see our "Course Options" page.
If online driver education is not for me, can I get a refund?
You bet!  Teen Driving Course stands behind its products and our Iowa online driver education classes come with 100% money-back guarantee.  If you are not satisfied for any reason, simply ask for a refund before we ship your completion certificate.  It's that easy.
  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube