Maryland Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be in Maryland to get a learners permit to drive?
You need to be 15 years and 9 months old to get a learners permit to drive in Maryland.
Who is allowed to take online drivers education in Maryland?
Everyone is allowed to take Teen Driving Course online driver education classes to get ready for your driving test and also to help become a safe driver.  However you will need to verify with the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration ("MVA") whether or not they allow online drivers education to actually satisfy the state's prescribed drivers education requirements.
What paperwork does the Maryland MVA need before I can learn to drive a car?
When you apply for your Maryland learners permit, you will need to provide the Maryland MVA with two (2) primary forms of identification (i.e.-- a birth certificate, passport, or social security card), and two (2) documents that prove your Maryland residency, and proof of your age.
In Maryland, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for TeenDrivingCourseonline driver education class?

You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Maryland online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!

How many questions are on the final test I have to take at the end of the Teen Driving Course Maryland online drivers ed class?
There is a 35-question final exam at the end of Teen Driving Course's Maryland online drivers education class.  It's designed to make certain you have learned everything you will need to know to pass your Maryland driver tests.  You will need an 80% to pass (28/35), but you can retake the exam as many times as you need to until you pass it, at no extra cost to you.
Does your course meet MVA driver ed requirements?
The Teen Driving Course Maryland online drivers education class is intended to be used as a supplementary educational tool to ensure that you will pass your drivers test the first time and help make you a safer and smarter driver.  If you would like to take Teen Driving Course to meet Maryland MVA driver education requirements, you should call the MVA to see if that's okay.
How long will it take to get my certificate of completion in the mail?
As soon as you pass your online driver ed final exam, Teen Driving Course will either send you your certificate of completion via regular mail (USPS), which takes about 3 -5 business days.  Or, if you're in a hurry to get it, you can have FedEx send it using 3rd Day, 2nd Day, or Overnight Delivery at an additional cost.
Can I start driving once I have my Maryland learner permit?
Yes, after you receive your Maryland learners permit, you can begin driving.  However you must have a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age who has been licensed for at least 3 years in Maryland in your passenger seat.  Failure to adhere to this is a violation of state law and may result in the loss of your driving privileges.
How long do I need to have my learner permit before I can get my Maryland drivers license?
To graduate from a learner permit to a provisional Maryland driver license, you must complete a qualified Maryland drivers education course, practice driving for a certain number of hours set by the state, and hold your permit for at least nine (9) months.
Do I have to get behind-the-wheel training in Maryland?
If this is your first drivers license, yes, you will need to complete a Maryland MVA-approved driver education course.  Courses consist of 30 hours of classroom work and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with a licensed Maryland professional driving instructor.
How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my driver’s license?
You will need to accumulate 60 hours of supervised practice driving (10 of which must be at night--meaning 30 minutes before sunset and 30 minutes after sunrise) Please know this is outside of your Maryland drivers education class.
Can my friends ride with me after I get my Maryland learner permit?
Yes, but only if a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age who has been licensed for at least 3 years in Maryland is seated next to you in the front passenger seat.
Can my friends ride with me once I have my Maryland drivers license?
If you are under the age of 18, you will be driving on a provisional Maryland drivers license. 

For the first 151 days after receiving your license, you may NOT carry passengers (except family members) with you when you drive, unless a 21-year-old licensed driver who has been licensed for at least 3 years in Maryland, is sitting next to you in the front passenger seat.
How much does Teen Driving Course cost?
Prices for Teen Driving Course Maryland online driver education classes vary from season to season.  For a list of up-to-date prices, please see "course options".
Can I get a refund if I don't like your course?
Yes!  If you are not fully satisfied with your Maryland online drivers education course, Teen Driving Course will offer you a full refund at any time prior to sending out your completion certificate.  It's our 100% money-back guarantee.