South Dakota Frequently Asked Questions
How old to I have to be before I can get a learners permit to drive in South Dakota?
You need to have reached your 14th birthday before you can get a learners permit in South Dakota.


Can anybody take drivers education online in South Dakota?
Anybody can take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class to help prepare for their upcoming drivers test and become a safer and smarter driver.

However, if you're wondering if Teen Driving Course would satisfy South Dakota's specific drivers education requirements, you will need to contact your local DPS office.


What do I need to bring with me to the drivers license office in South Dakota?
When you go to take your drivers test in South Dakota, you need to bring the following documents with you to the test site:

  • A certified birth certificate or passport
  • A 2nd form of identification
  • A signed parental approval form (a blank form can be obtained from the South Dakota DPS)
What happens if I don't pass my learners permit test? Will South Dakota let me take it again?
Yes, South Dakota will allow you to retake your learners permit test as many times as you need to in order to pass, although you may only be allowed to take it once per day.

The good news is that if you sign up with Teen Driving Course, chances are you will blow your drivers test away on your first try.  But don't take our word for it--see the testimonials page and see what other new drivers just like yourself who took Teen Driving Course have said about their experience!


How many questions are on the Teen Driving Course online class' final exam?
There are 35 questions on Teen Driving Course's final exam and you will need to get at least 28 of them right (80%) in order to pass.  If you do not pass the first time, don't freak out!  You can take the test as many times as you need to in order to pass it, and there's no extra charge for doing so.

Does your course meet South Dakota DPS requirements?
Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class is mainly designed to help you prepare for your drivers test and help you become a safe and smart driver.  However, if you want to know if Teen Driving Course meets the specific drivers education requirements prescribed by the State of South Dakota, you will need to contact the South Dakota DPS to find out.


How long does it take for me to receive my Teen Driving Course completion certificate after I finish your online class?
Teen Driving Course completion certificates are sent by regular mail and usually arrive about 3-5 business days after you pass the online class' final exam.  However, for an additional fee, you can choose to have it sent by FedEx which offers 3rd Day, 2nd Day, or Overnight Delivery service.  The choice is up to you.


How soon can I start driving after I receive my South Dakota learners permit?
You can begin driving as soon as you receive your South Dakota learners permit.  However, the law requires you to have an 18-year-old licensed driver with at least one (1) year of driving experience, seated in the front passenger seat whenever you drive.


In South Dakota, how long do I need to have my learners permit before I can apply for a real drivers license?
After you receive your learners permit, South Dakota law requires that you wait at least six (6) months before you get your drivers license. 

If you are still under the age of 16 after the six (6) months have passed, you may apply for a restricted minors permit.  A restricted minors permit will allow you to drive by yourself between the hours of 6am and 10pm.  However, you must still have a supervising driver in the front passenger seat if you carry passengers or if you drive between 10pm and 6am.


Do I have to do behind-the-wheel training to get my drivers license in South Dakota?
If you want to upgrade from a South Dakota learners permit to a drivers license as soon as possible, you will need to take a state-approved drivers education class which includes behind-the-wheel training with a licensed South Dakota professional driving instructor.  If you do, you can get your license in three (3) months.   If you do not take a state-approved drivers education class which includes behind-the-wheel training, you will have to wait at least six (6) months before applying for your drivers license.


How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my South Dakota drivers license?
South Dakota does not require you to log any hours of supervised driving practice you do outside of your drivers education class.  Contact the DMV if you have any questions about your driving practice.

Can my friends ride with me after I get my South Dakota learners permit?
There are no restrictions on driving with passengers if you hold only an instruction permit (aka a learners permit).  However, whenever you drive, there must be a licensed driver who's at least 18 years old sitting next to you in the front passengers seat.  Also, if you drive between the hours of 10pm and 6am, the licensed supervising driver must be your parent or guardian.

All passengers between the ages of 5 and 18 must wear a seat belt.


Can my friends ride with me after I get my South Dakota drivers license?
Yes, but if you hold a South Dakota restricted minor's permit, you must have your parent or guardian sitting next to you in the front passenger seat if you drive between the hours of 10pm and 6am.

All passengers between the ages of 5 and 18 must wear a seat belt.
Can I drive alone with my South Dakota learners permit?

Absolutely, 100%, NO! You may never, ever drive along with only an instruction/learners permit in South Dakota.  You must have a licensed driver who's at least 18 and has at least one (1) year of driving experience sitting next to you in the front passenger seat whenever you drive between the hours of 6am and 10pm.  If you drive after these hours, the supervising, licensed, adult driver must be your parent or guardian).

How much does it cost to take your online driving class in South Dakota?
Teen Driving Course offers the lowest rates of any online drivers education class you will find!  Our prices do vary with each season however, so you will need to click on the "Course Options" tab to see a listing of our current prices.

Does Teen Driving Course give refunds?
Definitely!  Teen Driving Course stands behind its products 100%.  If you decide that Teen Driving Course is not for you, simply let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll refund your money with no questions asked.

In South Dakota, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's South Dakota online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!
Can I drive alone with a restricted minor's permit?
After you receive your restricted minor's permit, you may drive alone only between 6am and 10pm.  After those hours, your parent/guardian who has a driver's license must be in the vehicle seated in the front passengers seat.