Tennessee Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be in Tennessee to get a learners permit?
Tennessee law requires that you be at least 15 years old before getting a learners permit to drive.
What paperwork or documentation do I need to take with me when I go to take my learners permit test?
The Tennessee DMV will need the following items when you go to take your learners permit test:

  • Proof of Identity
  • Social Security Number
  • Proof of Age
  • Proof of Tennessee Residence
  • Proof of your parents' or legal guardians' approval

What if I don't pass the Tennessee learners permit test? Can I take it again?
Yes, you can take the test again, although you may have to wait until the next business day to try again.

However, if you sign up with Teen Driving Course, it's unlikely that you'll even have to deal with this problem.  Our Tennessee online drivers education class prepares you so well for your learners permit test, chances are you'll pass it with flying colors on your first try!

Can anybody take online drivers education in Tennessee? Does it satisfy the state's driving requirements?
Anybody can take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class to prepare for their drivers test and become a safe and smart driver.

However, you will need to check with the Tennessee Department of Safety to see if Teen Driving Course meets the specific drivers education requirements set forth the state.

Is there a final exam at the end of Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class?
Yes, there's a 35-question final exam at the end of Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class, and you need to score at least an 80% on it to pass the class.  If you don't pass it the first time, don't freak out!  You can take it as many times as you need to in order to pass at no extra cost to you.


How long does it take to get my completion certificate after I finish Teen Driving Course's online class?
Your completion certificate is mailed to you right after you pass the final exam.  Delivery time typically takes about 3 to 5 business days.

If you're in a hurry to get your certificate, you can opt to have it delivered by FedEx for an additional fee.  Fed Ex offers 3rd Day, 2nd Day, and Overnight Delivery service.  The choie is yours. 
After I get my Tennessee learners permit, when can I start driving?
Once you have your learners permit in Tennessee, you can start driving right away, but under the following condition:  you must be accompanies by a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old whenever you drive.  Please remember the safe driving skills you learned in Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class.

Now that I have my learners permit, how long until I can get a full-fledged Tennessee drivers license?
If you are less than 18 years old, you must have held a valid Tennessee learner's permit, called a Class PD for at least 180 days and abide by all the requirements of the Graduated Driver License law, specifically avoiding traffic accidents.  Also, remember you must have adult supervision at all times while driving.
Do I have to get behind-the-wheel training in Tennessee?
Tennessee law does not require you to attend a drivers education class to get your drivers license.  However, you do need to complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 of which must be at night) with a parent, legal guardian or parent/guardian-approved driver over 21 years of age.  You will need to keep a log of your driving practice and have it signed by your parent or legal guardian.



Do I need to record my supervised driving on my learners permit?
To ensure that you have sufficient driving experience before you move up to a provisionally-licensed driver, Tennessee law requires that you complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 of which must be at night) with a parent, legal guardian or parent/guardian-approved driver over 21 years of age.  You will need to keep a log of your driving practice and have it signed by your parent or legal guardian. 




Can my friends ride with me when I get my learners permit in Tennesee?
Only if you have a licensed, 21-year-old driver sitting in the front passenger seat, and there must be enough seat belts for everybody in the vehicle.  \

Also, you cannot drive at all between the hours of 10pm and 6am.


Can passengers ride with me after I have my Tennessee intermediate restricted drivers license?
Intermediate restricted license holders may only carry one (1) passenger.  If carrying two (2) or more passengers, an unrestricted licensed driver who's at least 21 years old must be seated in the front passenger seat.  The only exception is if you have written permission from your parents or guardians to drive household members to/from school (be sure to have your parents' note with you).


 


How much does Teen Driving Course cost in Tennesee?
Teen Driving Course is the least expensive and most convenient way to learn about Tennesee traffic laws and become a safe and smart driver.

For a complete listing of up-to-date prices, please see our "Course Options" page.
What if I want a refund? Can I get my money back?
You sure can!  Teen Driving Course stands behind its products 100%, so if you decide at any time that our online drivers education class isn't for you, simply let us know any time before we send out your completion certificate, and we'll give you a full refund with no questions asked.


In Tennessee, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Tennessee online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!
Can I drive alone after I receive my intermediate restricted license?

Intermediate restricted license holders may not drive unsupervised between the hours of 11pm and 6am.  Exceptions include driving to/from a school-sponsored event or place of employment (you must have a parent's note).  Also, driving unsupervised to/from a hunting or fishing activity between 4am and 6am is permitted if you have a valid hunting/fishing license.  Additional supervising requirements will apply if carrying passengers at any time during the day or night.

  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube