Vermont Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I need to be in Vermont to get a learners permit to drive?
You need to be at least 15 years old to get a learners permit in Vermont.
Can anybody take drivers ed online in Vermont?
Anybody in Vermont can take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class to help get ready for their drivers test as well as to help become a safe and smart driver.

However, if you're interested in knowing whether Teen Driving Course meets the specific requirements for drivers education set forth by the State of Vermont, you will need to contact the Vermont DMV, to find out.


What paperwork or documents do I need to have when I go to take my drivers test?
When you take your drivers test, you will need to bring the following documents to the Vermont drivers license office:

  • 2 forms of ID (original or certified copies)
  • A signed parental (or guardian) approval form



What happens if I fail the Vermont learners permit test? Will they let me retake it?
If you don't pass your learners permit test the first time you take it, don't worry.  They'll allow you to take it over, although you may not be able to do so the same day.

The good news is that if you sign up with Teen Driving Course, it's unlikely that you'll even have to deal with this problem. Our Vermont online drivers education class prepares you so well for your learners permit test, chances are you'll crush the test on your first try!
Does your course meet Vermont's DMV requirements?
Anybody can take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class to prepare for their drivers test and become a safe and smart driver.

However, you will need to check with the Vermont DMV to see if Teen Driving Course meets the specific drivers education requirements set forth the state.

.
How many questions are on the Teen Driving Course final exam?
There are 35 questions on the Teen Driving Course online drivers education class' final exam.  You will need to score at least an 80% (that's 28 correct out of 35) to receive your completion certificate from Teen Driving Course.  If you don't pass the final exam the first time, don't freak out--you can retake it as many times as you need to (at no additional cost!) until you do pass it.

How long does it take to receive my completion certificate from Teen Driving Course?
Your completion certificate will be mailed to you right after you pass the final exam.  Delivery time typically takes about 3 to 5 business days.

If you're in a hurry to get your certificate, you can opt to have it delivered by FedEx for an additional fee.  Fed Ex offers 3rd Day, 2nd Day, and Overnight Delivery service.  The choie is yours.
Can I start driving right away once I receive my Vermont learners permit?
Yes, but Vermont law requires that you must be accompanied by a licensed driver who's at least 25 years old who's sitting in the front passenger seat whenever you drive with a learners permit.
How long do I have to have had my learners permit before I can move up to getting a drivers license?
Vermont law requires that you wait at least twelve (12) months after receiving your learners permit before applying for a junior operator's license.  You must also maintain a clean driving record for the six (6) months prior to when you apply for a junior operator license.
Do I have to go to driving school?
Yes, if you are under 18, you do need to attend a state-approved drivers education class which includes 30 classroom hours, six (6) hours of driving with a licensed Vermont professional driving instructor and six (6) more hours with another teen driver.

Do I need to record any supervised driving outside of my drivers education class?
Yes, Vermont law requires that you complete at least 40 hours of driving practice (10 of which must be at night) during the time you have your learners permit.  These hours must be supervised by a parent (or a licensed 25-year-old Vermont driver whom your parents approve of) and your parent (or parent-approved supervising driver) must be with you when you drive.  Remember to keep a log of your driving practice hours to give to the DMV.


Can I drive alone with just a learners permit?
Absolutely NOT. Vermont state law prohibits anyone with a learners permit from driving at any time with the direct supervision of a 25-year old licensed Vermont driver.
Is it okay to have passengers or friends in the car with me if I only have a Vermont leaners permit?
Yes, but you still must be accompanied by a licensed Vermont driver who's at least 25 years old sitting in the front side passengers seat.

When I get my Vermont drivers license, are all the restrictions on carrying passengers or friends lifted?

Not quite yet.  The State of Vermont would like for you to gain some experience driving independently before you begin carrying passengers.  Therefore, junior operator license holders may not carry any passengers during the first three (3) months of being licensed unless an adult who's at least 25 years old and who has a valid driver's license is in the vehicle.  During the second three (3) months, you may begin to transport only family members without supervision.  After the first six (6) months, these restrictions are lifted.  However, the number of passengers you carry may never exceed the number of available seat belts in the vehicle.




What does it cost to take Teen Driving Course's online drivers ed class in Vermont?
Teen Driving Course offers top quality drivers education online classes at the lowest prices!  Prices do vary from season to season, so please click on "Course Options" to see a complete listing of all our current prices.

Does Teen Driving Course give refunds?
We sure do!  Teen Driving Course stands 100% behind its products.  If you decide for whatever reason that our online drivers education class isn't for you, simply let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll give you a full refund, with no questions asked.
In Vermont, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Vermont online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!