Virginia Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be in Virginia to get a learners permit?
You need to be at least 15 ½ years old to get a learners permit to drive in Virginia.
How old do I have to be in Virginia to get my drivers license?
You must be at least 16 years and 3 months old to get a Virginia drivers license.
What paperwork or other documents do I need to take with me when I go to get my learners permit or drivers license?
You will need to take the following to the drivers license office with you when you got to take your test.

  • 2 forms of ID
  • 1 proof of residence
  • A Social Security Card

What if I don’t pass the test? How many times can I take the test?
If you don't pass your drivers test, the Virginia DMV will allow you to retake it as many times as necessary until you do pass it.  However, you will only be permitted to take the test once per day.
How many questions are on the Teen Driving Course final exam?
There are 35 questions on Teen Driving Course's final exam, and they're split into two (2) parts:  10 questions pertain to traffic sign identification, and you will need to answer all of these questions correctly.  The other 25 questions pertain to traffic laws and safe driving, and you need to get at least 20 of these questions right (80%) to pass.

If you do not pass the first time, don't freak out--you can retake the test as many times as you need to, at no extra cost, until you do pass.  When you have passed Teen Driving Course's final exam, you feel confident that you will be ready to take your Virginia drivers test.
Does your course meet all Virginia DMV requirements?
Teen Driving Course is mainly designed to help you prepare for your drivers test and to help you become a safer and smarter driver.

If you're wondering if Teen Driving Course satisfies Virginia's specific drivers education requirements, you will need to check with the Virginia DMV.



How long does it take for Teen Driving Course to get my completion certificate sent to me?
Teen Driving Course will mail your completion certificate to you right after you pass your final exam. Delivery time is normally about 3-5 business days. However, you may opt to have your certificate delivered by FedEx for an additional fee. FedEx offers 3rd Day, 2nd Day, and Overnight Delivery service. The choice is yours.
When exactly can I start driving?
You can begin driving after you receive your Virginia learners permit, but remember, you must have a licensed, 21-year-old Virginia driver seated next to you in the front passenger seat whenever you drive--no exceptions!


You can begin driving once you’ve received your Virginia learners permit, so long as you are accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years of age in your passenger seat at all times.
How soon after I get my Virginia learners permit can I apply to get my real drivers license?
You must hold your learner's permit for at least 9 months before applying for a driver's license.


 

Am I required to do behind-the-wheel training in Virginia?
If you're under 18, yes, you will need to complete a state-approved drivers education program.  Such a program will most likely include behind-the-wheel driving instruction and supervision of a licensed professional driving instructor.

If you are under age 18, you must complete a Virginia DMV-approved driver education program, which will likely include behind-the-wheel training and observation with a licensed Virginia driving instructor.
How many hours of supervised driving do I have to have before I can get my Virginia drivers license?
In addition to any driving practice you may do in your state-approved drivers education class, you need to complete at least 45 hours of supervised driving (15 of which must be at night).  You must be accompanied by a 21-year-old licensed Virginia driver at all times you practice driving and your parent/guardian needs to sign off on your driving practice log.  (If the supervising driver is your sibling, he/she only needs to be 18 years old).

Can I have passengers or friends in the car when I drive with my Virginia learners permit?
If you have a Virginia learner's permit, you may not carry more than one (1)passenger under age 18, with the exception of family members.  Remember, you must have a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old sitting in the front passenger seat.
Can I have passengers or friends in the car with me after I get my Virginia drivers license?
If you are under 18, you can drive with only one (1) passenger in the car who's under 18 years of age (family members are okay).  After you have had your Virginia drivers license for one (1) year, you can carry up to three (3) non-family passengers who are under 18.  When you reach your 18th birthday, these restrictions will be lifted.


Can I drive alone with my Virginia learners permit?
Although most states strictly forbid it, Virginia has a graduated system in place that helps you learn to drive independently with your learners permit.

The first nine (9) months after you get your learners permit, you must have a licensed driver who's at least 21 years old (or 18 if he/she is a family member)sitting next to you in the front passenger seat.

If, after having had your learners permit for nine (9) months, you are between the ages of 16 years, 3 months and 18 years, you may begin driving alone with your learners permit between the hours of 4am and 12 midnight. 

If you have a Virginia provisional drivers license and are under the age of 18, you only need to be accompanied by a 21-year-old supervising driver when driving between the hours of 12 midnight and 4am.  Exceptions include traveling for work, to-and-from school, or if you're a volunteer firefighter serving in your official capacity.


How much do I need to pay for take Teen Driving Course's online drivers education class?
Teen Driving Course offers top-quality online Virginia drivers education classes at the lowest prices.  As our prices vary on a seasonal basis, please click on "Course Options" to see a complete list of our current prices.
Can I get my money back if I'm not satisfied with Teen Driving Course?
Absolutely!  Teen Driving Course stands 100% behind its products. If you decide for whatever reason that our online drivers education class isn't for you, simply let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll give you a full refund, with no questions asked.
In Virginia, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen Driving Course online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's Virginia online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!
  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube