North Dakota Frequently Asked Questions
How old do I have to be to get a learners permit in North Dakota?
You need to be at least 14 years old to apply for a North Dakota learners permit.
Can I take online drivers education courses to fulfill North Dakota DMV requirements?
Anyone can take online drivers ed, like Teen Driving Course's North Dakota online driver ed class, for educational purposes.  If you'd like to take Teen Driving Course to fulfill the specific drivers education requirements the North Dakota Department of Transportation ("DOT") prescribes, please check with the DOT.
Do I need to bring anything with me to take my learners permit exam?
When you take your learners permit written test in North Dakota, be sure to bring a parent or legal guardian with you, or have them sign the learners permit application prior to your arrival.  Also, please remember to bring your birth certificate, or some other official proof of identity, and your social security number to the test site.
What if I don't pass my North Dakota learners permit exam?
If you don't get 20 or more questions correct out of 25 on your written exam, you can retake the exam the next business day.  The North Dakota DOT allows you to repeat the exam until you pass. 

However, by enrolling in Teen Drivers Course, you most likely will not have to worry about failing your learners permit and other North Dakota drivers tests.  Our online course will more than prepare you for your drivers test and chances are that you'll ace it the first time.  Teen Drivers Course is here to make your learning experience easier, faster, and a lot more fun!
What score do I need to get to pass my Teen Drivers Course final exam?
80%.  Teen Driving Course's online drivers education final exam consists of 35 questions, so you'll need to answer at least 28 to pass.  You can take the final exam over and over until you pass, free of charge.  This exam is designed to test you on everything you will be expected to know when you take your learners permit and drivers license exams through the North Dakota DOT, all but ensuring you will ace them the first time you taken them.
I got my learners permit! Can I start driving now?
Yes, but there are some restrictions if you have only a learners permit.  Whenever you drive, you will need to be supervised by a North Dakota licensed driver who is at least 18 years of age and has three (3) or more years of driving experience.
When will I get my certificate of completion?
Teen Driver Course will mail your certificate of completion right after you pass your final exam.  Normally this takes 3 to 5 days to arrive, but for an additional fee we can FedEx your certificate with 3rd Day, 2nd Day, or even Overnight Delivery if you prefer.
I have my learners permit. When can I upgrade to my drivers license?
North Dakota learners permits are provided to drivers at a relatively young age.  Because of this, North Dakota law requires that you wait at least  (6) months to practice your driving skills, and to complete your driver education program, before applying for your drivers license.  If you are under 16 when you seek to upgrade from your learners permit, you will only be eligible for a restricted drivers license, which means you can only drive your parent's or legal guardian's car during certain times of the day until you reach the age of 16.
Do I need behind-the-wheel training to get my North Dakota drivers license?
Yes, you will need to take and pass a state-approved drivers education class in order to get your drivers license.  During this course, six (6) hours will be devoted to behind-the-wheel driving practice, supervised by a licensed North Dakota professional driving instructor.
In North Dakota, do I need supervised driving practice outside of my state-approved drivers education class?
North Dakota does not require that you keep a record of your driving practice hours outside of your state-approved drivers education class.  However, it is strongly recommended that you get as much driving practice as possible with your learners permit so you will be more experienced when you do get your drivers license.
Can my friends ride with me on my North Dakota learners permit? Can I drive alone?
You may drive with your friends, but you must be supervised by an 18-year old licensed North Dakota driver who's seated in the front passenger seat next to you.

You may NEVER drive alone with a North Dakota learner's permit.
Can I have passengers in my car when I drive after I get my North Dakota drivers license?
When you get your North Dakota drivers license, you may have passengers ride with you so long as they are all wearing seat belts.
How much is the North Dakota Teen Driving Course online class?
Teen Driving Course prices vary each season in order to keep our prices as competitively low as possible.  Please see see our current price listings under "course options."  
What is Teen Driving Course's refund policy?
At Teen Drivers Course, we stand behind our product 100%, and if you decide our online driving education class isn't up to your standards, just let us know before we send out your completion certificate and we'll refund every penny of your money.

In North Dakota, how many opportunities will I have to take the final exam for Teen DrivingCourse online driver education class?
You have UNLIMITED opportunities to pass Teen Driving Course's North Dakota online drivers education class final exam at no additional cost!
  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube