Online Drivers Ed Texas

TEA License #C2126

All Online Texas Driver’s Ed

Licensed by TEA to satisfy classroom requirement

Complete alone or with in-car lessons

Earn your learner permit & driver license

Approved by the Texas TEA! single-star

Parent Taught Driver’s Ed

DPS School #111

Instructor is student’s parent or legal guardian

Covers classroom and in-car training

Licensed by DPS for permit and driver license

Approved by the Texas TEA! single-star

TEXAS DRIVER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AT-A-GLANCE:
Texas Driver Education Requirement Texas law requires any person under 18 to successfully complete a state-approved driver education course to be eligible for a driver’s license. This requirement may be satisfied by completing a licensed driver education school course, a public school driver education course or a parent-taught driver education course.
Learner Permit Holding Period You must be 15 to apply for a learner permit, you must have held your learner (instruction) permit for at least six (6) months in good standing before you can apply for a provisional driver's license.
Minimum amount of supervised driving In-car training consists of 7 hours of behind-the-wheel driving, 7 hours of in-car observation, and an additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving – of which 10 hours must be done at night. The additional 30 hours of behind-the-wheel driving will be monitored by the parent or guardian and are not required to be provided by a licensed driver education school. However, the hours must be completed in the presence of an adult who holds a valid license, is 21 or older, has at least one year of driving experience, and occupies the seat next to the driver.
Minimum Age for Driver License 16 years old; additionally, you must also have held your instruction permit for at least 6 months before you may apply for a license.
Road Test Yes. Starting on September 1, 2009 any student submitting an application to DPS for a permit or a driver’s license must take a road test.
Unsupervised driving rules Licensed minor may not drive from midnight to 5 a.m. unless necessary to participate to a school or work activity, or because of a medical emergency, for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
Passenger rules Licensed minor may not carry more than one (1) non-relative under 21 for the first twelve (12) months of being licensed
HOW TO GET YOUR TEXAS DRIVER LICENSE STEP-BY-STEP:
1

Complete chapter 1 of the online course. We will send you form DE964, which you must bring to the Department of Public Safety (DPS).

2

Pass the written test at the DPS and obtain your instruction permit.

3

Once you have obtained your permit, you may start chapter 2 of the online course and begin your in-car training.

4

After you have completed both the online course and your in-car training, and have held your permit for at least 6 months and are at least 16 years of age, you may apply for a provisional license at the DPS.

5

After you pass your driving skills test at the DPS, you will get your provisional license!


REGISTER NOW

  • Connect With Us

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Google plus
    • Youtube